We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful”
Review of Philbrook Farm Inn

Philbrook Farm Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Philbrook Farm Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Shelburne B&B and Inns
montreat
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Restful”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our stay at the Philbrook Farm Inn was most enjoyable. The inn built in around 1835 was a great mid point in out two week vacation to just sit and enjoy the view and to get away from people.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    5
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We spent one night at the Philbrook Farm Inn and while we found the Inn had old time New England charm, the overall interior was on the worn out side. This place could be wonderful, but it appears to need much TLC to return it to restored beauty of days gone by.

Ann, the Inn Keeper was pleasant and helpful and provided anything asked for. The meals were delicious and well prepared. We could have done without the smell of cigarettes from Larry, one of the co-owners, as he smoked in a room right off of the main sitting area.

I would recommend the Inn for the location, but if you are looking for something historical and elegant, this is not the place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dperry3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The Philbrook Farm Inn is such a rare find - each room is filled with authentic treasures gathered by the Philbrook family, and the living room is packed with the coolest and kookiest things - xmas cards from 1895, old fashioned jigsaw puzzles and books from the 18th century. The inn has apparently been in the same family fro 8 generations - making it a one-of-a-kind in the USA.
We called on a whim in August, expecting to find they had no vacancy but to our surprise they had a great room available for two nights - Gramp's Room. The price included dinner, the room and breakfast and was amazing value for a clean, spacious and absolutely beautiful room.
The inn keepers - Ann and Larry - are both very interesting to talk to. We were there at a very quiet time and so we almost had the inn to ourselves. The peace and quiet is unbelievable as is the view. The proximity to the awesome hiking at the White Mountains is unbeatable. You are in Pinkham Notch in ten minutes and there are even some trails leading off the Philbrook property.
The only slight downside was the breakfast - we had eaten at the inn before and were sorry to see that the quality of the cooking had diminished a little over the years. Then again, if heavy cream, eggs and bacon are your thing, you'll probably love the food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenPark2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2008

A pure pleasure, low key, with North Country theme and history exuding from every quality of this place. Relaxed, not stuffily proper, but very real with truly wonderful, responsive hosts. This is a family business and one feels very much a part.

An excellent place from which to canoe the Androscoggin, hike tributaries to the White Mountains, the Appalachian Trail, and quick access to Mt. Washington, Gorham, Bethen, Maine.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank athodyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2007

I stayed at the Inn back in October to do some hiking in Franconia Notch and cannot say enough good things about it. The meals were not only delicious, but fun in that you sit and dine w/ the other guests. You truly get to know everyone staying on the property, plus the friendly, but unobtrusive staff. The property is enormous and each time I set off for a hike, the innkeeper's dog was immediately by my side, happy to go along with me. There are countless games and puzzles, plus hundreds of well-worn books in the library. While at the inn, I met several people who had been visiting for decades. I hope to follow in their footsteps.

  • Liked — The chance to interact w/ other guests
  • Disliked — The rooms were fine, but not fancy
  • Stayed July 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2004

The Philbrook Farm Inn. This is an Inn more then a farm. It was a farm about a hundred years ago. It has been owned by the same family since the 1850's.
The rate is from $99 to $150 . We paid $148 for a twin room and the bathroom is down the hall. But that included tax, tip (15 % which is mandatory ) dinner and breakfast.
This is one of the hotels you will remember. The main people who stay here are return guest and people like us who just fine them along the road.
This is a big old Inn. Nothing fancy, but clean. Has a number of big porches with rocking chairs overlooking a huge piece of land down to the river. It is about a mile and a half off the main freeway on an old country road.
The rooms are nice and clean but again nothing fancy. Forget a phone or TV's in the room. A t.v. is down in the lounge are for guest. You might even think this place might be haunted by the looks of it but that I think is it's charm.
B.Y.O.B . It is great to bring a bottle of wine and sit on the porch at night and watch the fireflies. Very quiet. The closest town is about 12 minutes away. The breakfast and dinner is fine but changes everyday. There is not much to do here just read a good book, take a long walk, swim at their pool, or spend time with a friend. I think this is a real find for someone who likes unusual hotels like I do. I like the place however the person I went felt funny being there. I would have stayed for a couple more days but we moved on the next day.

Helpful?
7 Thank khneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
5.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
6.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
19.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
679 reviews
6.5 mi away
Northern Peak Motor Inn
7.1 mi away
Moose Brook Motel
Moose Brook Motel
#6 of 7 in Gorham
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philbrook Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philbrook Farm Inn

Property: Philbrook Farm Inn
Address: 881 North Rd, Shelburne, NH 03581-3212
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Shelburne
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing