We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up for location, bedroom, and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
708 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up for location, bedroom, and breakfast”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is a great place to stay for many reasons. The B&B is situated in the White Mountains with a beautiful view and is convenient to -- but not a part of -- the nearby commercial centers. The building is a charming old inn, and our bedroom (Chickadee) was extremely spacious, with several windows and a very large bathroom. Lovely quilts are used to decorate throughout. Breakfast included multiple courses (the poached pear with maple syrup and granola is to die for) and was cooked to order. The common areas are comfortable and include books about the area, including hiking trails. The only drawback was the very limited dinner options on a Monday night in the nearby town of Gorham, but there were many better choices for later in the week.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
77
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We visited the Mt. Washington region with family and friends for the first time and were very pleased to have stayed in this quite and cozy inn. Mary Ann the innkeeper was very pleasant and made sure our stay was a memorable one. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the smell of fresh brewed coffee in the morning with her superb breakfast made a great start to our day. The Inn is well situated in this beautiful region a few miles from Mt Washington. We will definetly be returning on our next visit of the region.

Carmine Venditti
Montreal, Quebec

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmvenditti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Our family stayed at this B&B for two nights. It was wonderful. The rooms were clean and roomy, farm house-style. Our teens had a great time too. Every morning a homemade breakfast compliments of our gracious host, Mary Ann. We had comfortable beds, optional A/C and personal baths. Really personal touch. Will return.
Short hike down behind the property to Androscoggin River area. So pretty!
Bonus: no cable TV to interfere with good family time!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Mt. Washington B & B for two nights in mid-May. We stayed in the Chickadee room, which was very clean, beautifully decorated, and comfortably appointed. We had the inn to ourselves and therefore had a quiet, relaxing stay.

Mary Ann was a very gracious host during our stay. She greeted us warmly when we arrived and returned to the inn after a day of hiking. She offered excellent suggestions for local restaurants where we had completely delicious meals. Breakfast at the Mt. Washington B & B was really fantastic, served in perfect quantity and accompanied by excellent coffee. (As a side note: my husband and I are quite particular about both food and coffee, and we were very happy with the quality of both during our stay!)

In some respects, I'd have prefer to be pampered a bit more: the towels weren't as plush as I would have liked, and the window coverings were thin, which put a damper on afternoon naps or sleeping past sunrise. However, these are small concerns when weighed against the overall quality of our stay. We would happily return to the Mt. Washington B & B on our next visit to the area!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This b and b was a pleasure. Great location, a warm hostess, great breakfasts and treats, and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2011

It was such a friendly place and the breakfast was soo tasty! thanks so much mary ann!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelgrl1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

My husband and I just stayed at this bed and breakfast and were very glad with our decision. The rooms are all well-appointed, and the suites have a sitting area with a TV/DVD player. The inn keeper, Mary Ann, was very kind and went out of her way to accommodate our exotic dietary restrictions for breakfast. Every afternoon there were also fresh-baked treats in the dining room for the taking, and the inn keeper also helped us with information and discount coupons for winter activities. We definitely recommend the Mt. Washington bed and breakfast to winter sports enthusiasts. The location and value cannot be beat.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennypick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
2.8 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.9 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
3.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
18.3 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast
Address: 421 State Route 2, Shelburne, NH 03581-3006
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come be pampered at this small family owned and operated Bed & Breakfast in the White Mountains. Our Bed & Breakfast is a Federal style farmhouse built in 1853. The B & B sits on 5.5 Acres at the entrance to the Mt. Washington Valley and has views of Mts. Washington, Madison, & Adams. The 7 guest rooms all have private baths, 2 have whirlpool tubs! Rates include a full breakfast and afternoon baked goodies! Come to play, come to stay - hike, bike, fish, snowshoe, ski, shop, or just relax with a book and read. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing