We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed at the Mt Washington B&B in Sept because the reviews we read on Trip Advisoer were favorable. What a disappointment! The inn itself is cluttered and dreary, our room was dark, our bathroom appeared dirty, and had a burned out light bulb! It was simply depressing.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katesterx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is a great place to stay for many reasons. The B&B is situated in the White Mountains with a beautiful view and is convenient to -- but not a part of -- the nearby commercial centers. The building is a charming old inn, and our bedroom (Chickadee) was extremely spacious, with several windows and a very large bathroom. Lovely quilts are used to decorate throughout. Breakfast included multiple courses (the poached pear with maple syrup and granola is to die for) and was cooked to order. The common areas are comfortable and include books about the area, including hiking trails. The only drawback was the very limited dinner options on a Monday night in the nearby town of Gorham, but there were many better choices for later in the week.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We visited the Mt. Washington region with family and friends for the first time and were very pleased to have stayed in this quite and cozy inn. Mary Ann the innkeeper was very pleasant and made sure our stay was a memorable one. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the smell of fresh brewed coffee in the morning with her superb breakfast made a great start to our day. The Inn is well situated in this beautiful region a few miles from Mt Washington. We will definetly be returning on our next visit of the region.

Carmine Venditti
Montreal, Quebec

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmvenditti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Our family stayed at this B&B for two nights. It was wonderful. The rooms were clean and roomy, farm house-style. Our teens had a great time too. Every morning a homemade breakfast compliments of our gracious host, Mary Ann. We had comfortable beds, optional A/C and personal baths. Really personal touch. Will return.
Short hike down behind the property to Androscoggin River area. So pretty!
Bonus: no cable TV to interfere with good family time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamFromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Mt. Washington B & B for two nights in mid-May. We stayed in the Chickadee room, which was very clean, beautifully decorated, and comfortably appointed. We had the inn to ourselves and therefore had a quiet, relaxing stay.

Mary Ann was a very gracious host during our stay. She greeted us warmly when we arrived and returned to the inn after a day of hiking. She offered excellent suggestions for local restaurants where we had completely delicious meals. Breakfast at the Mt. Washington B & B was really fantastic, served in perfect quantity and accompanied by excellent coffee. (As a side note: my husband and I are quite particular about both food and coffee, and we were very happy with the quality of both during our stay!)

In some respects, I'd have prefer to be pampered a bit more: the towels weren't as plush as I would have liked, and the window coverings were thin, which put a damper on afternoon naps or sleeping past sunrise. However, these are small concerns when weighed against the overall quality of our stay. We would happily return to the Mt. Washington B & B on our next visit to the area!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kari1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This b and b was a pleasure. Great location, a warm hostess, great breakfasts and treats, and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkerwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

It was such a friendly place and the breakfast was soo tasty! thanks so much mary ann!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelgrl1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
2.8 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
543 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
3.3 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
699 reviews
18.3 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast

Address: 421 State Route 2, Shelburne, NH 03581-3006
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range: £64 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come be pampered at this small family owned and operated Bed & Breakfast in the White Mountains. Our Bed & Breakfast is a Federal style farmhouse built in 1853. The B & B sits on 5.5 Acres at the entrance to the Mt. Washington Valley and has views of Mts. Washington, Madison, & Adams. The 7 guest rooms all have private baths, 2 have whirlpool tubs! Rates include a full breakfast and afternoon baked goodies! Come to play, come to stay - hike, bike, fish, snowshoe, ski, shop, or just relax with a book and read. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing