We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More fun than staying in some anonymous hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More fun than staying in some anonymous hotel”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had 3 nights staying with Mary Ann .Our room was spacious,comfortable and quiet.Breakfast was quite different every morning and had we been fussy eaters that would not have been a problem.MaryAnn was a warm and friendly host and made our stay very enjoyable.There was a comfy lounge for guest use and ample provision of information and books.We had excellent meals out at the places Mary Ann recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    20
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This B&B was booked weeks in advance, we even had the chance of liking on Facebook and following the daily events at the B&B. Our stay was 2 nights and was very nice. The home is a little older and could use some minor cosmetic and possible deeper work, although this is critical from a guy's viewpoint. Mary Ann was a wonderful, very attentive innkeeper. Our room named the Goldfinch was nice, very clean, and pleasant. I must say breakfast were scrumptious, pear compote in the morning as a starter was great. The best part is I don't like pears and with Mary Ann's compote I have been converted. Watching the humming birds flitting around the feeders was a nice treat. Being a dog person it was so much fun to meet Daisy, the dog/puppy, I had a blast with all her enthusiasm and playfulness. This place comes highly recommended by both my wife and I. Oh, and the suggestions Mary Ann made for places to eat were top notch!! I had the best pizza I have had in years in the town of Gorham!!!

Room Tip: Because I am partially handicapped we choose the Goldfinch room, only had a few steps to enter the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markminnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loomis, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Last spring we were traveling around New England and stayed at several B & B's. We only had a short time to experience the Mt. Washington area. Mary Ann was very pleasant and helped us make the most of our time. She gave us advice on a fun waterfall tour. We took the Cog Train to the top of the mountain and visited an old friend's ancestral home.
The Inn is an old boarding house along the highway. Very historic. The rooms were large and comfortable and the aging of the years made the facility unique and memorable. Mary Ann is a wonderful cook and our breakfasts were delicious. She also gave us advice for restaurants in the area for dinners. Visiting with her dad and talking baseball was fun along with petting her new puppy.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs all the way at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent two nights here while exploring the area. The B & B is an old, circa 1800s building and is full of charm and details of that era. We were welcomed warmly by Mary Ann and made to feel at home right away. Our room (Goldfinch) was large, inviting, clean, quiet, and very comfortable (one of the best beds we slept in during the whole vacation!). Breakfasts were amazing and Mary Ann is an excellent cook and can also cater to special needs (such as low-fat turkey bacon).

We enjoyed watching the birds, sitting on the porch and viewing the surrounding mountains, and meeting Daisy. Mary Ann also provided excellent suggestions on things to see and places to eat. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: Goldfinch room good for a limited-mobility access person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Though our time there was short, I very much enjoyed our stay. We hope to revisit your inn in oct. we felt very comfortable and the room felt like home. The food was great and the service too. I hope to get up for foliage the year

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This lovely B & B was a perfect stop during our short vacation to the White mts.
A real feel at home exerience makes it a plafce we would return to an recommend to all our friends when travelling.
Kudos to MaryAnn and her staff for making the stay so enjoyable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank manonthemove1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, CA
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I stayed with MaryAnn the night before the Newtons Revenge Bicycle Race (up the Mount Washington Auto Road). Everything from my interactions with her via email and on the phone before our trip through saying goodbye to her when we left was absolutely perfect.

She was even rather forgiving and patient when my credit card didn't go through afterward (the card expiration had changed, and then we lost a credit card in Bar Harbor the next day, so had to cancel).

The best part was that she let us come back after the race (well past check out time) to take showers before we headed off into Maine. MaryAnn is a wonderful person, and was completely welcoming and friendly to us.

If you need things to be completely perfect in your room; if you loathe creaky floorboards, and hate traditional bed and breakfasts, then look elsewhere. But if you want to experience the real New Hampshire, I think this is an excellent choice!

Room Tip: If you're coming in the summer, try to get the A/C unit for your room, it makes it much nicer! U...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
3.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
465 reviews
1.9 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
17.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
804 reviews
18.3 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mt. Washington Bed and Breakfast
Address: 421 State Route 2, Shelburne, NH 03581-3006
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come be pampered at this small family owned and operated Bed & Breakfast in the White Mountains. Our Bed & Breakfast is a Federal style farmhouse built in 1853. The B & B sits on 5.5 Acres at the entrance to the Mt. Washington Valley and has views of Mts. Washington, Madison, & Adams. The 7 guest rooms all have private baths, 2 have whirlpool tubs! Rates include a full breakfast and afternoon baked goodies! Come to play, come to stay - hike, bike, fish, snowshoe, ski, shop, or just relax with a book and read. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing