We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snowville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brookhirst Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Snowville B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than expected”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

There are many great things to say about our stay at the farmhouse, but the best should be saved for Victoria and George themselves. To our surprise, the mountains took second stage to their warmth and hospitality. Their living room view is impressive but it's the leisurely morning conversation over coffee and pancakes that really stay with you. The house and their lives are full of stories that will definitely bring us back one day. We came with high hopes and left with much more than we expected. Can't recommend visiting them enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The biggest regret during our June 2012 New England fly/drive holiday from the UK was that we only spent one night at Brookhirst Farm. Not only would it make an excellent holiday base for an extended stay but it provides a great opportunity for relaxation. The house dates from the 1800s with room décor to match, such as that in the large lounge and small study. If we had stayed longer we would have enjoyed a barbeque on the terrace but as it was we had to content ourselves with probably the best breakfast we had during our three week holiday.

Why did we find it so special? For a start, Victoria and George are interesting, friendly hosts who made us feel so welcome. We arrived covered in bites from swarms of flies that just seemed to be waiting for us on Wildcat Mountain and Victoria immediately gave us some Witch Hazel to ease our discomfort. The location is fantastic with great views of the Presidential Mountain Range and 50 acres of woodland and field with an easy walk to a trout pond. There is a private entrance for guests into the accommodation which has 3 bedrooms. As a suite it sleeps 6, but if you stay as a couple you have the place to yourselves without extra charge and can choose which bedroom to sleep in on arrival. We slept in the Captain’s Quarter but only took essentials up the steep, narrow, steps which some might have difficulty with. We thought it was worth it to sleep in a huge, comfortable, bed in such a spacious room with another magnificent view of the mountains.

We made our booking by chance when looking for accommodation in the Conway area and browsing the TA map south of Conway so we could avoid the traffic when heading south the next morning. We found it easier to make contact by email than by phone as their dial-up connection takes up the phone line at times. Compared with some of the accommodation in Conway the cost was very reasonable and super value for money. We would love to return if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: No need to chooose a room in advance as all are available for guests to choose from on arrival. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank weluv2travel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Brookhirst Farm deserves many more than the five stars I can give. Stayed for five nights at this great hidden treasure in NH. Everything at Brookhirst, such as the views, the rooms, and the breakfasts were all simply amazing. Service was superb, and almost anything you needed could be found in the room. While the farm is not right in Conway, it is very much worth the short drive. I *highly* recommend seeing for yourself just how great a place this is to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, RI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This bed and breakfast is an incredible value, the best we found after coming to this area for decades.

Brookhirst rents their guest area (three bedrooms available - your choice upon arrival) to only one group at a time -- you only share that portion of the house with who you bring.

George and Victoria Murphy own Brookhirst, and are there when you need them, but they do not crowd you at all. George cooks a full Farm breakfast - very filling, and delicious!

The view of the Presidential range is stunning - it sweeps across their entire back yard -- a 30 acre field with 1 acre spring-fed pond stocked with fish.

The house is from the early 1800s, with room decor to match - gorgeous, romantic, and comfortable!!

Room Tip: Room One (Captain's Room) - upstairs King Bed with huge bay window looking out over back field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snowville
7.2 mi away
Scenic Inn of Conway
Scenic Inn of Conway
#22 of 30 in Conway
79 reviews
7.7 mi away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Snowvillage Inn
Snowvillage Inn
#1 of 3 in Eaton
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Purity Spring Resort
Purity Spring Resort
#1 of 1 in Madison
189 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Brookhirst Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookhirst Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brookhirst Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Snowville/Eaton Center, Snowville, NH 03832
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Snowville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Snowville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Mountains are in full view at Brookhirst Farm B&B. An enchanting 200 year old restored farmhouse with an incredible view of the entire Presidential Mountain Range, Mt Washington as its center piece.~The secluded property and house are surrounded by 50 acres of woods, waterfalls, and a huge field including a large trout pond.~Come visit us and see why more and more people are coming to Brookhirst Farm for a good night's sleep to the sounds of a waterfall, the warmth of a sensational sauna, and full taste of a hearty breakfast to start your day! No need to choose a room in advance as all are available for guests to choose from on arrival. Two full bathrooms, one with sauna and small fridge.....beer wine, snacks size. ~Room One "The Captain's Quarter's" (see photo) - the biggest, the brightest and the room with a view, upstairs King Bed with huge window looking out over back field & breath-taking mountain views. ~~ Room Two "The Brook Room" (see photo)- Canopy bed, Queen-size and very comfortable. It's downstairs with private bath. Cozy, old furniture and decor. Running Brook outside side window provides relaxing vibe. Right by Guest entrance. ~~~ Room Three "Napping Room" - Small bedroom, upstairs, can hear brook outside window, very peaceful & cozy. Shares bathroom with Captain's Room.” ~Books are everywhere, great books, old books, new books....WIFI, Direct TV. ~Tax free factory outlets just 8-10 miles away, its all here, you just can't see it!~The love of the land is what brought us together and keeps us here. Philadelphia and Boston born, we, George and Victoria, are farmers at heart! When our 2 boys graduated from college the empty nest was filled with B&B guests. We invite you to sample our quiet hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing