We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dry chicken”
Review of Happy City Buffet - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Happy City Buffet
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dry chicken”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Every chicken dish we have ordered here is completely dry. The beef was nice and tender. The hot and sour soup was inedible - and that is saying a lot because I love hot and sour soup. The next time we ordered won ton soup. I couldn't eat that either. They do have the best crab Rangoon around.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoriHKilleen_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“simply the best”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

this place is in the middle of a renovation, the owners consistently improve up on this place. they are a very nice young family with excellent customer service. they staff is always friendly, the food is the best Chinese food in the area, extremely good. they can get busy and this is because they become more and more known. the food is that good. sometimes there may be a longer wait it is well worth the wait. most times I can get my food on take out in 20 minutes 25 minutes. lunch is much less busy and somethings are better priced, oh yes the prices are extremely fair. i sit in once in a while and i take out a lot. I've been here with friends, family, solo and on a date. perfect for all occasions. i eat at dinner time the most. i have seen some review about a nail in the food, i find that hard to believe, not everyone can have a good experience and it sounds like someone as sour and exaggerated a little. i have never seen a hair or anything since these people owned it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bikeman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dis is good chit”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This place gets a bad wrap just because it is in a bad part of town but hands down it has the best Chinese in Somersworth they also deliver and have a full bar and they are currently expanding

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jcmn81980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NOT A BUFFET; Totally Surprised by the delicious, fresh dishes”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This restaurant is fantastic. We heard it was good and being in a small strip mall, we hoped for the best. It is the BEST. Better than most Chinese restaurants we have eaten in in Boston, Washington DC, San Francisco, etc. All the food is prepared for you, as you order. They will also make special meals, with a notice in advance. The prices are ridiculously inexpensive. What a find. We eat out often and love great Chinese but we couldn't find a great restaurant that is reasonably priced. THIS IS IT.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Really... it was excellent!”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

In all seriousness, this is quite the Chinese takeout restaurant. Can't say I'd eat in... but we tried it for the 1st time... ( was going to drive 20 mins to the next town for Thai or Chinese or Indian) but decided to try Happy City Buffet after reading the 3 reviews . I have traveled all over this world and eaten Chinese in many places including China... and truly.. this place was very very good. Certainly not the Chinese American stuff that we are fed at so many Chinese restaurants.. My wife who dreads most Chinese takeout, said and I quote " this is a very good thing for Somersworth", I had the pork Low Mein and my wife the Veggie Low Mein , with pork fried rice with 2 spring rolls. All with the exception of the spring rolls was very good. Spring rolls were good, but lacked sufficient filling ( pretty sparse). All in all we feel we have found a favorite take out restaurant in our town .. cool not to have to drive 20 mins for good food!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artificious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy City Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing