We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect vacation”
Review of Hilltop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugar Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilltop Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Sugar Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Our vacation in the White Mountains was the best ever and a huge part of that was due to Mike and Meri and their wonderful home. Our room was huge which is always a bonus when you are spending the entire week there. It was very quiet and private. Mike and Meri are the perfect hosts. They manage to make you feel as comfortable as if you are at home but still pampered like VIP's. Breakfast was great and it was awesome to be able to come home each night after hiking and relax with a glass of wine or a soda. The location is absolutely perfect if you do want to do some serious hiking or just easy jaunts. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. I can honestly say that our vacation at Hilltop Inn was the most relaxing week I've ever had.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the king suite at the end of the hall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freefallnpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2011

We'd never stayed in a B&B in the US before, but when we arrived at Mike and Meri's we immediately felt at home. Everything about it is relaxed, friendly and comfortable. Our room was well set up for two adults and two young children and there was free wi-fi for Dad to keep up with his e-mail or look something up online. Downstairs there was a sitting room with a television when the kids needed it, and also a large dining room. Here there was free coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cold drinks at any time of day... cookies too... and you can buy a beer if you want one! We often sat here and chatted, but more importantly for our children, there was lego... which they played with every day, there are books and games too. There was also an outdoor area where you could sit and watch the birds and squirrels at the feeders, another hit! The two dogs were lovely, but nervous of people, so stayed away unless you enticed them with food.

Breakfasts were tasty and varied and Meri did really well to get our fussy kids something they liked. There's a huge folder of restaurant menus and recommendations with directions and distances so you know what's where for dinner and we had no trouble finding good food.

We didn't find time to explore all the trails they have... we started one evening, but saw a bear footprint and turned back... discretion being the better part of valour and all that.

Overall the whole family had a great stay and will book in again for sure if we find ourselves back in the area.

Thank you Mike and Meri!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank NorwichClarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I give this a five star rating because it was a perfect fit for us and is the type of B&B we hope to get when we travel. The main reason is GREAT hospitality.

In some B&B's, you feel a bit like an interloper when you're not in your own room. Not at the Hilltop Inn. Mike and Meri have coffee, cookies and soft drinks available throughout the day. Although you can be waited on, you are also welcome to get what you need from the kitchen when you want. They make you feel very much at home.

The breakfast is a full breakfast and Meri's breakfasts are quite good. The rooms are clean and the bed, although a bit on the firm side for our liking, are good. Your room and bathroom are well-stocked with what you need.

Keep in mind that this is a VERY dog friendly atmosphere. The owners have two dogs and visitors are welcome to bring theirs, so there might be more. The dogs were very well behaved and are easily let outside if needed. For any dog haters reading this, I stress the fact that the dogs were a pleasure to have around and caused no disturbance, so I still think you would enjoy yourself.

If you like B&B's I believe you will love the Hilltop Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nv040212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Mike and Meri made us feel the most welcome and comfortable we have ever felt in many years of traveling, with and without our dogs. The Inn is beautiful and well-kept; the setting is picturesque; the people are warm and kind and relaxed, and it was a truly memorable stay. There are very few places that strike a balance between first-class comfort and service plus dog-friendly accommodations. This is one of those very rare pearls. Thank you. We will be back, as often as we can.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulabanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

A great location to ski and explore the White Mountains and if you're traveling with a dog there is no better spot. Had a great trip.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank weberle6280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We are from the UK and were touring New England as part of a wider trip to the north-east of the USA. We selected The Hilltop Inn, after much research (including Tripadvisor), as our base to explore the White Mountain region. It proved to be the perfect location for our stay in the area. Meri and Mike were the perfect hosts, with Meri even acting as taxi driver one evening to transport us to/from a local restaurant. The house and facilities were first rate, and the breakfasts were superb. Thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukwanderer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Host was very friendly and welcoming. Excellent recommendations for restaurants and hiking trails. They were well prepared for any one's interest from local fare to high quality establishments. The Inn very welcoming and warm for their people guests as well as their guests pets.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelop782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugar Hill
0.5 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Sugar Hill
389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,747 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 9 Norton Ln, Sugar Hill, NH 03586-4256
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Sugar Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sugar Hill
Price Range: £68 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop is a lovely very welcoming B&B that has been owned and operated for 28 years by Meri and Mike Hern.We welcome you to share our magical home with us when you are in the Franconia Notch area.Our 6 guest rooms are all unique.They feature full private baths; antiques; lots of fluffy towels and crisp comfortable linens on our newly upgraded beds. This spring we have added new hotel mattress toppers which make every bed incredibly comfortable.Sleep well and awake to a large country breakfast and the many wonderful nearby adventures.We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing