We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog-friendly and extremely hospitable”
Review of Hilltop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugar Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilltop Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Sugar Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at the Hilltop this past Saturday night with my girlfriend and our yellow lab after a day of hiking in Franconia Notch. Meri and Mike were incredible hosts. They are among the most welcoming, hospitable, and friendly folks I've ever met. The Inn is quintessential New England. There was a warm woodstove in the living room, beautiful wood floors, charming antiques throughout, and the room we stayed in was cozy and very comfortable. Our dog had a fantastic time. Meri and Mike spoiled her with treats and toys during our entire trip. Breakfast on Sunday was delicious--farm fresh eggs, toast, scones, fresh fruit, and delectable corn fritters. I would highly recommend the Hilltop Inn if you're in the area. If you are traveling with a four-legged companion, the Hilltop is a no-brainer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Wanted to plan a long weekend getaway as a birthday treat, so we took a trip to the mountains and stayed at the Hilltop Inn. We were not disappointed and had a great time! Mike and Meri are fabulous hosts who know the area inside and out. We hiked one day and then relaxed at the inn that evening. The next day we shopped Littleton and had a blast. Meri was very accommodating to our niece who has a gluten intolerance -- it took a lot of worry out of our weekend. The best part is being able to travel with our dog who was treated like royalty at the inn. No, the BEST part was waking up to a freshly prepared and beautifully presented breakfast. No, wait, the best part is watching all the amazing birds at the feeders as I had my morning coffee. Our stay was perfect - cozy, fun, and hassle-free!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassachusettsRipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

From the dogs to the fire to the wine, and not to mention the hosts, this is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Meri and Mike will make you feel like family, and you'll leave being an honorary member and wanting to book your return. The area is beautiful, relaxing and charming. Perfect if you want to hit the slopes, or just vege out. Tons to do and see - a must go! (and you may want to bring home the bed with you)

Room Tip: Room 6 is our go to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenbork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I had never stayed at a B&B so we didn't know what to expect. We were extremely happy we chose to stay at the Hill Top Inn. Mike and Merinot only made us feel welcomed but also made us feel like family. We plan on returning in June for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you are looking for a personalized, friendly and welcoming experience this is the place to be. From the moment you arrive to the time you, it truly feels like home. Mari and Mike have so much to share and they make you feel like relatives. We spent our babymoon there when, i was 7 months pregnant. Unforgettable holy week and Easter Sunday 2011.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luschy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Hilltop Inn for a family reunion over Thanksgiving. The inn is very welcoming and cozy and the Innkeepers super nice and friendly! The rooms are clean, the sheets warm and the beds are great. If you like bed and breakfasts, then you will love the Hilltop Inn!

Room Tip: Room 4 is a cozy, warm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

If I could give it more stars I would! From the moment we arrived, I knew we had found just the right place to spend our Anniversary and Thanksgiving. This Inn is one of those rare places that feel like home and Meri and Mike like family. We chose The Hilltop Inn in part because we could bring our dog, Mr Posey there as well as the proximity to the trails we wanted to hike. The Inn is cozy and charming. Everywhere you glance are things that make you smile. We stayed in room 6 which is spacious and quaint. The bed was very comfortable and the hand embroidered pillowcases a sweet touch. Meri is a great cook and made the most delicious breakfast every morning for us. I was very happy when she offered for us to have Thanksgiving with her and Mike and their friends. This was the highlight of our trip! Sugar Hill is one of the most beautiful places I have ever traveled to. The sunset on Sunset Hill Road is not to be missed, it is a breathtaking view looking towards the The White Mountains. There is nothing like it. If you are traveling with a beloved dog, look no further.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugar Hill
0.5 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Sugar Hill
389 reviews
17.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Adair Country Inn & Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilltop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilltop Inn

Address: 9 Norton Ln, Sugar Hill, NH 03586-4256
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Sugar Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sugar Hill
Price Range: £68 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilltop is a lovely very welcoming B&B that has been owned and operated for 28 years by Meri and Mike Hern.We welcome you to share our magical home with us when you are in the Franconia Notch area.Our 6 guest rooms are all unique.They feature full private baths; antiques; lots of fluffy towels and crisp comfortable linens on our newly upgraded beds. This spring we have added new hotel mattress toppers which make every bed incredibly comfortable.Sleep well and awake to a large country breakfast and the many wonderful nearby adventures.We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing