We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harman's Cheese & Country Store

Harman's Cheese & Country Store
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for Harman's Really-Aged Cheddar, aged at least 2 years. Free samples out for tasting. Other unique and delicious food products including Maple Syrup, Items made with Maple Syrup, Flavored & Smoked Cheddars, Condiments, Mustard, Locally made Pickles and Relishes, Jams, Savory & Sweet Jellies, Marmalades, NH-Made products. Gifts and limited Souvenirs with an excellent selection of local postcards.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A tourist trap that sells the same things you can buy throughout NH. They don't make cheese but bring it in from local places and mark-up the price. Small store, and within 10-15 minutes you're done looking around.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crank-Pot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    11
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were told about this country store and drove to check it out. And we return when we are in the area.Step back in time to a quaint shop. It was a post office many years ago. It is about a mile past Polly's Pancake.
They have pure maple syrup, jellies, jams, pickles, peanut butter, and smoked venison sausages. Best of all is their cheeses. Several kinds. They also have typical tourist gift items.
It was a fun shop to poke around. Enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingteacher51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“-- Love the 2 Year Old Aged Cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Love the 2 Year Old Aged Cheese -
Jams Jellys To Purchase

Unique Items to purchase with this historical store -
Old time music playing in the store

Friendly staff

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stopped in on a Sunday morning and were met by a very helpful young lady. We sampled the difference cheeses, made our choices with the clerk's help and were on our way quickly.
Our 3-year-old cheddar was delicious on crackers when we got home from a great trip to the White Mountains.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AprilinParis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Hill, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you are looking for something to taste and take home, drop in...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

A quite small store, once a rural post office for Sugar Hill,NH, it now offers, calendars, photos, very fine aged cheddar cheese, relishes(with a chance to taste before you buy)this store has been run by the Aldrich family for near three generations now after they bought it from the aging Harmons. Souvenirs, t-shirts, many edibles and friendly company is what you find here and you can even ship cheddar cheese or whatever you wish, right from the store as it is a busy UPS service stop. If Maxine is not on duty then one of her daughters or friends will take your orders and answer questions. During the summer, the Sugar Hill Museum is open, just across the small street, where I used to attend grammar school.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bradwhipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harman's Cheese & Country Store also viewed

Sugar Hill, White Mountains
Sugar Hill, White Mountains
 

Been to Harman's Cheese & Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing