We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real NH original!”

Polly's Pancake Parlor
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Sugar Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
White Mountains NH
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A real NH original!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

OK, I'm a local, so I look at more touristy places around these parts with a bit of a critical eye. I've been to Polly's about 4-5 times now, and I have never been disappointed. It's located on a scenic back road in Sugar Hill which is a town rich in history and scenic beauty. This place has been around since the late 30's if I remember correctly, so they do know their craft. The pancakes are all made from scratch and you can choose from flavors such as oatmeal, whole wheat, gingerbread, buckwheat, blueberry and plain. The servers actually make the pancakes themselves which is very unique. They also do waffles and other breakfast dishes, but the pancakes are what they're famous for. The wait on weekends is long, but they do encourage people to call ahead (as much as an hour) to avoid waiting. It is not uncommon for small parties to be seated at a table with other diners. This has never been a problem for me and in fact it can even enhance your experience there. Polly's is a real NH original that should not be missed if you're in the area and are in the mood for a hearty breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    131
    56
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just as good as when I was a kid”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

You know when you have a memory of a place and you wonder if you have rosy-colored glasses on for that memory? Well, not the case here. I had the pancake variety platter..coconut, buttermilk blueberry, etc., with all the famous house-made maple spreads. It tasted just as delicious as when I was a kid. And, no sugar crash. I attribute that to the freshest ingredients. Plus a beautiful view of the Sugar Hill region to boot. Yes, Gatsby, you can re-create the past!

Helpful?
Thank Trvlbug49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast!!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

On the recommendation of a person in the know we arrived a little before 8 a.m. The restaurant was not crowded, mostly locals that early, and we were seated and waited on immediately. Our eggs and bacon arrived hot and perfectly cooked. Our pancakes were to say the least incredibly wonderful. You can order from 5 different types of batter and a variety of add-ins (blueberries, chocolate chips, nuts etc). We kept it simple - plain and blueberry with regular batter. We ended up ordering more they were so good!!! They provide you with maple cream (maple butter where I come from), maple syrup, and maple sugar for your coffee or tea. The business is family owned (four generations currently working there) and they really care about the product they serve. Our waitress was delightful and made sure that we never lacked for anything. I have eaten at many places all over this country and others and can honestly say that this was one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. I can't wait to return to have more of their wonderful food!!! BTW, the views of the White Mountains from the dining room are fantastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSWEVHSSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Disappointing”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our breakfast/brunch meals at Polly's were a mix of good and bad. First the good - real New Hampshire style, nice view out the windows and a sense of history and tradition. Some of the food was good, while some was, at best, fair. First the good . . the two omelettes ordered were tasty and winners. And, the chicken/cranberry wrap was excellent. Now the not so good . . the pancakes were just awful - flat, dry and tasteless. They did not look at all like those presented on the website. The side of sausage was thin, overcooked, dry and also tasteless. Given that this is a pancake house, one would expect GREAT pancakes and GOOD sausage? Finally, the regular coffee was good, but the decaf was poor. In this day and age, there's no excuse for anything less than very good coffee. I will go back, but I'll be more careful about what I order.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I have eaten here twice. Both times were fantastic. The service is super. I love the fact you have a choice for pancake batter and the add ins make it even better. Make sure you visit the bakery before you leave. We took home Maple Bacon Biscuits both times!! YUUUUUMMMMMYY!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CampinNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polly's Pancake Parlor also viewed

Sugar Hill, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 
Franconia, White Mountains
Littleton, White Mountains
 

Been to Polly's Pancake Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing