We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of mtns, gourmet dining, hated to leave!”
Review of Sugar Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sugar Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Sugar Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The gracious hosts, Karen and Steve, have thought of every small touch to make one's stay an exceptional experience. This is no ordinary B & B. It is of a select registry level with fine linens, perfect new towels - beautifully furnished and decorated and immaculate. The restaurant is incredible- even after reading reviews about the chef we were amazed at how beautiful and innovative the gourmet dining was. And the restaurant is intimate, beautiful, and quiet enough to hear conversation. I miss the served breakfast with homemade scones or muffins, fresh fruit, and a choice of specialty items. Loved the tea service available to guests, with homemade cookies or scones in the afternoon in the cozy bar room, and fine coffee was available before dining hours in the am. Our room was beautiful and the designer fabrics and wall papers in the entire inn were in the best of taste. Visual feast for those who appreciate the fine details of classic and simple design. I look forward to returning-

Room Tip: We were in the main building-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChipTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

My friend and I booked a long weekend at the Sugar Hill Inn for the Lupin Festival that is held in the area every year for the first two weeks in June. We both highly recommend a stay at this Inn. First, it is right at the center of the most concentrated area of Lupin fields, and is an easy and spectacular drive up route 117 to Sunset Hill Road, where both the lupins and the view of Franconia Notch and the Presidential Range is breathtaking! Second, we stayed in the Perennial Garden room, where the beds can be set up separately for two people, which isn't always easy to find in the B&B/Inn world. The Inn is spotless, charming and comfortable. We spent several refreshing hours on hot afternoons by the pool. and enjoyed time spent with the Inn's mascot, Katie. She is the most welcoming pup, and loves a belly rub! The food was superb. Breakfast was scrumptious and our server, Tammy, was friendly, efficient and helpful with local sightseeing tips. Dinner was divine! Every morsel was a taste sensation, and Dan, our waiter, took exceptional care of us. We would both stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a romantic getaway, choose the Dream Cottage. My friend and I were able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelovetogoLakeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had the privilege, and I do mean privilege, of a recent two night stay at the Sugar Hill Inn. What a wonderful experience made so by the congeniality of the hosts, Steve and Karen, along with the friendliness of Deb and the waitstaff. We did not want for a thing. We stayed in the Moses Aldrich room and appreciated its decor and its sparkling clean spaciousness. The bed was so comfortable and being able to have an espresso in our room before bed was an extra welcome surprise. Dinner was something you would expect to find in the best of Boston's restaurants and was worthy of the leisurely time taken to savor every morsel. Kudos to Chef Val and to Dan who so expertly provided top notch dining room service.
There are so many reasons to return to this lovely Inn, not the least of which is sweet canine Katie, professional greeter extraordinaire.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-AND-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful time on our recent trip to Sugar Hill, NH. The Sugar Hill Inn was a picture of charm at every turn. The owner and staff were exceptionally accommodating and went out of their way to ensure that we did not want for anything.

The meals we had at the inn were fantastic as well. As a breakfast lover myself, a highlight for me were the warm strawberry muffins prepared by the owner (and chef) himself.

We would recommend this inn to anyone wholeheartedly and eagerly anticipate our next opportunity to visit.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and splurge for the Dream Cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This is a very sweet inn in a beautiful location. Our suite was lovely and the premises are immaculate. The innkeepers were terrific - gracious and very helpful.

Breakfast was wonderful in the dining room, though only a one-hour window from 8-9 to partake.

We chose to not eat at the restaurant as the menu is a bit limited (for one vegetarian and one non-meat eater), and it is prix-fix menu that was just a bit too much food for us. There are many other places to choose from that are a short drive, and the innkeepers were very helpful in assisting us to choose an alternative.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharmaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We have visited Sugar Hill Inn three times..most recently in April of this year. Each visit surpasses the last in terms of perfection. We have stayed in the Betty Davis room each time, our personal favorite. However, we have toured the Dream Cottage (aptly named), which would be ideal for a special occasion or just for a retreat and relaxation.
Steve and Karen are welcoming hosts, as is Katie, the canine.
The inn has been updated and every detail has been meticulously crafted.
Don't miss a dinner in the intimate dining room with a gourmet meal by Val Fortin, the inn's talented chef.
We look forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hgould815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Tucked away in the mountains, the Sugar Hill Inn has been beautifully restored and furnished in an elegant New England cottage style. Our room had a huge Jacuzzi, and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! (I was threatening to take it home on the plane). The owners and staff are very friendly, and saw to our every need. Make sure you try the restaurant while you are there!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonyfreshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugar Hill
4.6 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
175 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
229 reviews
16.1 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hill Inn

Address: 116 Route 117, Sugar Hill, NH 03586-4506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Sugar Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sugar Hill
Price Range: £138 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in New Hampshire’s White Mountains, Sugar Hill Inn is a romantic getaway known for culinary adventure and warm, inviting guest rooms and cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sugar Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hill Hotel Sugar Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing