We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Escape!”
Review of Dexter's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dexter's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunapee B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My husband and I took our two grown sons and their wives for a pre-Christmas getaway! Since one of the couples had recently adopted a puppy, we were thrilled to learn that there was a dog-friendly apartment. The four "children" and the puppy stayed in the apartment while my husband and I stayed in the main inn.

Our room was very comfortable and the common areas in the inn were well-decorated and inviting.

John was a friendly, gracious host. We also loved the delicious breakfasts served by Rolf, their charming chef. The rustic game room provided several hours of fun competition.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEAuLATER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Dexter Inn supplies the amenities to have fun--solar heated outdoor pool, shuffle board, croquet, tennis courts, outdoor space galore---you have access to a fridge, bring your own snacks and drinks for the day, go out to dinner and then relax in a beautiful, comfortable room. We had the front corner room of the main house. Absolutely wonderful. King sized bed, window seat overlooking the grounds, nicely appointed private bathroom. The overall atmosphere gave us time with each other without the world vying for our attention.
The breakfast was delicious. The folks running this Inn are true hosts--seem to know when to offer assistance or conversation and when to let folks just enjoy their space.
We stayed Sunday to Monday--perfect time for privacy.
A marvelous get away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

What a great place, it made for an an unforgettable wedding weekend, the grounds,the mountains, the rooms, the Game room in the barn ,pool,tennis ,service,cleanliness,food..... I could go on forever.. a wonderful get away and memory my son and his wife will enjoy for ever.... guest are still talking about how perfect everything was !!!
Thank-you John,Rolfe and staff !!!! We will continue to recommend Dexter s Inn to all here on the Seacoast !!!!!!

Room Tip: Although no "fitness room" there is PLENTY of things to do for exercise.. from run...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank massachusettsBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I can't say enough about how great Dexter's Inn was for our daughter's wedding. Our families took over the whole inn for the weekend and enjoyed every minute of it. John, the inn keeper, was so helpful and accommodating. The ceremony site is beautiful and the grounds have a pool, tennis court, and lots of other outdoor activities that our guests took full advantage of. The reception area has a tent plenty big enough for our 130+ guests and a catering separate from the dining area. We had fireworks on the ceremony site at dark which was a perfect place for it. The atmosphere was very nice but not too nice so that we were not comfortable. If you are planning a wedding or just a family reunion, it is the perfect place for it.

Room Tip: If you have a large family or group, the cottage is large and accommodates 8+ people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jebrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Dexter's Inn is quintessential for a wedding (or whatever)...Excellent staff, from John, the Innkeeper, all the way down the line. Gorgeous backdrops, grounds, endless activities, breathtaking views, and the cutest rooms around. Oh, cant forget the Party Barn! All around a 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: They all have they're own little nuances...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wonderful place to have a family reunion. Beautiful grounds, plenty of space for folks, lots of outdoor activities for folks, including tennis, shuffleboard, swimming pool, game room, and playroom for children. The house is a big old house with nicely appointed rooms. Staying here was like being at home with enough rooms and space for the relatives. The innkeeper and staff were attentive to our needs. The chef was extremely accommodating, allowing us to add/remove people from list, checking in to ask when to serve meals, saving food for late arrivals, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms are different sizes in order to accommodate different groups. All rooms individually decorated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here mid-week on our way north to the White Mountains. We booked a regular room and got a very big corner room with a beautiful view. The staff was attentive and very helpful but unobtrusive. Breakfast was wonderful. The location was very nice, the only problem being we were on motorcycles and at the end of the day you don't want to get back on and go anyplace and there's no place to eat that's walking distance. We solved the problem by bringing wine, cheese, bread and snacks with us. They have a microwave, refrigerator and plates and utensils available so it was OK. I'd stay here again on our way north. WiFi was a little elusive in our room.

Room Tip: The front of the Inn has big rooms with a view. The rooms in other parts of this rambling old farm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancym712712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dexter's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dexter's Inn

Address: 258 Stagecoach Rd, PO Box 703, Sunapee, NH 03782-2321
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Sunapee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunapee
Price Range: £72 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dexter's Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dexter's Inn is an affordable family-friendly country resort-inn with an award-winning location near Lake Sunapee and Mount Sunapee that combines the charm and hospitality of a bed & breakfast with the services and on-site activities of a small resort. Restaurant, weddings, reunions, meetings, retreats, vacation getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dexter's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexter`s Hotel Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing