We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find!”
Review of Dexter's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dexter's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sunapee B&B and Inns
Brockton, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Find!”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

"John,
A quick note to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at the Dexter Inn on the weekend of October 22nd,and 23rd.
The two bedroom suite was ideal for our situation and most importantly your willingness to accomodate the "canine" member of the family. "Cuma" especially enjoyed her stay with us, enjoying the clean mountain air and romp in the woods.
We enjoyed the morning breakfasts and have told many friends about our wonderful stay at the Dexter Inn in New Hampshire.
Wishing you all a wonderful winter season."
This Bed and Breakfast is ideally located near Mt. Sunapee in New Hampshire and provided magnificent views. Clean rooms and accomodations for larger family groups. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with our adult children and even the canine member of the family. Many walking trails right out the front and back door.
Morning breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    18
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
17
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We loved this cozy inn with great food last weekend. We attended a function, stayed over, and dined there and were treated wonderfully. Clean rooms, good service, and cozy areas to read, watch tv, and sit by the fire. The grounds were very well cared for as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvashaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

First off I would like to mention one thing if you are visiting Sunapee, NH. Please bring bug spray.
Dexter's Inn is from 1804 and you can definitely tell. It is a great place to stay if you need a weekend get-away in the summer or even in the winter.
During my stay my friend and I wondered the grounds and they are BEAUTIFUL. There is a pool, tennis courts, basketball courts, and you are not that far from Sunapee Lake and the ski mountain. Also they have a great game room that used to be an old barn. It has darts, ping pong, fooseball, air hoocket, pool and a poker table.
The room I was in had two twin beds which were fine. Our bathroom had a lot of room. If I had to say one bad thing about this place would be trying to open the room doors. They were kind of difficult but not that big of a deal. Also if alot of people are staying there you can hear every noise if you are sleeping, but it did not bother me too much.
Dexter's Inn was a cute place to stay and I would go back again. This is also a great place for a reunion, business gathering, or even a wedding. The landscaping is so nice. I would like to check it out in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashybabe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2010

stayed here only night... loved the accessibility to the vast network of trails for cross country and snow shoe. Delicious hot breakfast.. friendly helpful staff... simple but clean rooms, no frills, but you don't need them.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracieAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed on night and had a great, warm room and access to a three sitting areas with fireplaces. We did XCountry and snowshoeing right on the grounds with great equipment and cheap rentals. The breakfast was hearty, hot and delicious. This inn had great service and was an awesome value for peak ski season.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pathnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

I recently stayed at Dexter's Inn to attend an intimate wedding, where I also acted as wedding coordinator as I had helped the bride and groom with the planning throughout their engagement. When I first arrived, I was overwhelmed with the beautiful property, grounds and scenic views surrounding the Inn which in itself was charming and quaint. The staff was extremely welcoming, helping to bring my luggage in and even placing it in my room while I attended to rehearsal duties. My room, as well as the bride and groom's room (and the lovely cottage which the mother-of-the-groom rented) were very comfortable with a true New England flair -- and they held all of the necessary amenities. They even had trash pails set aside for recyclables - a refreshing touch. Throughout the weekend, the staff was ever so helpful, both with the wedding details and with making certain guests were well taken care of in general. Overall, a very pleasurable experience. Many thanks to the Innkeeper and to his staff, and to the bride and groom for their excellent choice of venue!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChartHouseInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
343 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

where to begin? the heat only worked intermittently, on three days with temps in the low 40s, when it works the rooms boil but windows cannot be opened since they are either painted or nailed shut; plumbing in two rooms was essentially non-functional: sinks did not drain, tubs did not drain, and toilets were leaking throughout the night regardless of jiggling.

breakfast poor, no choices, very basic, and prepared without any care or pride; in fact, on two occasions, we felt being pushed out by staff who urgently, it seemed, needed to clear the food away.

overall, not the experience one expects from a rural inn charging $150.00 per night in the middle of nowhere in off-season.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunapee
2.3 mi away
Sunapee Lake Lodge
Sunapee Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mount Sunapee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lake Inn at Mt. Sunapee
2.4 mi away
Mountain Edge Resort & Spa at Sunapee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Follansbee Inn
Follansbee Inn
#1 of 3 in Sutton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
18.5 mi away
Colby Hill Inn
Colby Hill Inn
#1 of 2 in Henniker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
7.8 mi away
Inn at Pleasant Lake
Inn at Pleasant Lake
#1 of 6 in New London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dexter's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dexter's Inn

Property: Dexter's Inn
Address: 258 Stagecoach Road, PO Box 703, Sunapee, NH 03782-2321
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Sunapee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sunapee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dexter's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dexter's Inn is an affordable family-friendly country resort-inn with an award-winning location near Lake Sunapee and Mount Sunapee that combines the charm and hospitality of a bed & breakfast with the services and on-site activities of a small resort. Restaurant, weddings, reunions, meetings, retreats, vacation getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dexter's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexter`s Hotel Sunapee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing