We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair New Hampshire B&B located near Vermont Border” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House
Ranked #2 of 2 Swanzey B&B and Inns
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Fair New Hampshire B&B located near Vermont Border”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at this B&B in New Hampshire located near Southwestern Vermont this past weekend when showing my Step Mother Vermont. Overall, while it wasn't the absolute best B&B I've stayed in, it was pretty good and I'd recommend it to those traveling to this part of the US. Some things I'd want to point out about this B&B for prospective travelers-

*The overall atmosphere was very good and inviting, it was in a small New Hampshire town next to main street and a covered wooden bridge.
*The interior of the place maintained an old charm to it, it had about 3-4 guest rooms upstairs and the downstairs seemed reminiscent of a Revolutionary War Style New England Estate. The rooms were separated from the bathrooms also in the hall.
*The Breakfast served was very good, it included pancakes, canadian bacon, potatoes, fruit, and an egg quiche.
*On a very positive note, the staff and other visitors were extremely amiable.
*On a somewhat negative note, my stepmother complained about her bed being too stiff with it's frame also being too noisy, in my bed, I'd also concur that it was a little small and hard.
*Overall the cost after taxes was $120, a fair price we thought

Overall, it is worth a stay, one will have a good experience when traveling here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, Owner at Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Conrad. Your narrative was more positive than your numerical ratings. We are glad you found the "overall atmosphere was very good and inviting" and that you liked the breakfast, staff, the old charm of the inn, as well as the nearby covered bridge.
We are sorry that the twin beds weren't as comfortable as you would have liked. We haven't had complaints about them before but we'll check them out; we sometimes sleep in the guest rooms to see what guests experience and will sleep in the twin beds soon.
"The rooms were separated from the bathrooms also in the hall" is only true of the room with the twin beds. All rooms except the twin room have in-room "en suite" bathrooms. As our website states, the bathroom for the twin bedroom is across the hallway, but only that room has a detached private bathroom.
We very much enjoyed chatting with you and your stepmother.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
348 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I made a reservation to stay at this wonderful Inn, on Halloween. It was a typical rainy Halloween night. Our room was nice and warm and cozy. There are many nice restaurants nearby. Breakfast in the morning was simply great. We were fortunate to meet several new people and had some great conversations with them. If you are ever in or near Swanzy, this is the place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LordThomMohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Our daughter and son-in-law gave us a gift card to Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House Bed and Breakfast. We took advantage of this gift two weekends ago. It was fabulous. The ride was only about 2 hours from Danvers, MA. The B & B is lovely. It is a very old house w/incredible touches on the inside. The owner, Susan, could not have been nicer. She is so warm and friendly you just feel right at home. Every room is different, and all are lovely. My husband and I relaxed the entire first day by the very warm and inviting wood burning stove in one of the common rooms. The next day we had a fantastic home made breakfast w/everything very fresh and very delicious. We then checked out and went to the next town which was Keene, and snow showed on a beautiful trail. We both highly recommend this quaint and lovely B & B.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I hadn't been to New England when snow was on the ground in quite a few years, so we thoroughly enjoyed
our recent weekend stay at the Bridges Inn. Although much of the country (including NH) was in the grips of the "polar vortex", we were totally comfy and cozy at the Inn. We stayed in the Coombs Bridge Room, an elegantly appointed corner room with great views of the snow-covered yard and the trees surrounding the house. Breakfasts were a delight -- who nowadays has the time to prepare yummy home-baked muffins and other culinary surprises?! (Thank you, David.) Of course, what really sets this inn apart is the warmth and hospitality of its hosts. We'll be back!

P.S. One other tip - we had dinner at Piedra Fina, a brand new restaurant in nearby Marlborough, with a menu that featured dishes from Cuba and Venezuela. The dishes were unusual and tasty. Definitely worth a visit, if you like Latin American cuisine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
309 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I always come to New Hampshire in Autumn but this would also make a delightful winter stay as well. Cozy rooms including a sitting room with big windows and very delightful dining room.
David makes top-notch homemade breakfasts and it;s so much fun to taste all the jams, jellies and preserves. Everything is served on beautiful china- fresh juice-hot entrees like scrambles- and of course plenty of hot coffee and tea!

There are a variety of rooms in case you are traveling with family or friends.
Plenty of covered bridges in the area to explore and more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BackRoadsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roslyn Heights, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bridges Inn midweek for 3 nights this November and had a wonderful time. David is a wonderful host and made our stay both very comfortable and memorable. We stayed in the Coombs Bridge Room. The bed is very comfortable and I felt at home in it right away. The bathroom is private inside the room and has a nice shower. A space heater was provided so the temperature was adjustable to our comfort. The highlight of each morning was the wonderful breakfast prepared by David. Each morning we started with coffee, juice and fresh fruit. Then we were served hot breakfast. My favorite were the pancakes and broccoli quiche.

Swanzey is a nice quiet town. We spent most of our time in Keene, with a visit to Walpole and Peterborough. Keene has several great places to eat and shop.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Plan your New England travels around Bridges Inn--the epitome of bed and breakfast stays. Located just down the road from a picturesque covered bridge, Bridges Inn is a large, lovely home run by the best innkeeper ever, Susan. The rooms are lovingly decorated, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts are delicious and individually made. I would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanzey
10.1 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.9 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House

Property: Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House
Address: 27 Main St, Swanzey, NH 03446-3014
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Swanzey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swanzey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential bed & breakfast is lovely with distinctively decorated rooms, tin ceiling, and many antiques. Five guest rooms each with modern, private bathroom and air conditioning; free wireless Internet; and cable TV. Scrumptious, multi-course breakfasts. This historic 1792 building combines the splendor of yesteryear with the amenities of today. We're a stone's throw from Thompson Covered Bridge and near other covered bridges of the Monadnock region, for which the inn is named. Five miles south of Keene, open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing