We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“October weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanzey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere
Ranked #1 of 2 Swanzey B&B and Inns
Rhinebeck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“October weekend”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I am not a B &B person, but was really pleasantly surprised by The Tartan Fox. Really lovely inn, coz and, comfortable. Our room was perfect, had a great night's sleep. The innkeepers were delightful, delicious breakfast! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The manor room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife & I had the good fortuine to stay here one night. The room was very nice and the breakfast was outstanding!
The best was the Inn Keeper. He is the nicest we experienced in 8 years!
If you are going to Keene, NH then you have to stay here!

Room Tip: they are all nice as we saw them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHURCHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Inn for one night visiting a friend in Keene - very cute, only 4 miles from town. Sweet owners, beautiful grounds & the house was charming. We stayed on the first floor - lovely room, beautiful terrace overlooking the garden, and the bathroom was nice. Room was clean & we were so busy in town I wish we could have actually spent more time there than sleeping! I thought breakfast was a bit early 8-9 only - and I wanted to sleep in so I missed it. My only advice would be if you want to sleep in, request a room upstairs because you can hear the guests in the breakfast area as the first floor room is right there next to living room & dining room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper524, Owner at The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We have opened up our breakfast hours to accommodate our guests who wish to sleep in on the weekends, and will work with our guests so all who wish to enjoy our gourmet breakfasts can do so. We are under new management as of the end of Aug 2013, and look forward to your return visit so you can sleep in AND have breakfast! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On the road
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We tried to get a room in a Keene hotel for our one-night stay in the area, but every hotel was booked. We found this inn while looking for a place to stay on AirBnb (www.airbnb.com) and chose it because it was the available space which promised air conditioning.

The house is huge. There's a garden in the front yard which could use a little work. (I'm a gardener, so I feel comfortable saying this.) We entered through the indicated door. The entryway reminded me of my grandfather's garage. There were stacks of chairs and old tables, lots of other items. From there we entered a small dining area. We knocked on the swinging door to the kitchen to let the innkeeper know we'd arrived.

The ceilings of the downstairs rooms are low. The dining room felt a bit cluttered with its antique furniture. Just beyond the dining room was a small room that seemed to serve as a gift shop-cum-chair caning center. There was a nice collection of jams and jellies, which appeared homemade, plus a collection of spices.

The first impression of the downstairs: between the low ceilings, so typical of an historic home, the gleaming wood floors, the collection of antique furniture, and the old paintings that lined the walls, the first floor seemed dim. There was a strong musty smell. It's only fair to say that the weather had been extremely humid and rainy prior to our arrival; we can't say whether the smell would be present at other times.

Our room was quite pleasant. It had a queen bed, a twin bed, a wood-backed love seat, a padded settee, an antique dresser, a cable TV, and a window air conditioning unit. Wireless access was readily given, but was spotty at best. The bathroom was large. As a massive heat wave was coming to an end at the time of our visit, we loved that there were so many windows and that all of them were open. What a delightful sleeping environment. The down side was the proximity to the road; we heard cars passing all night.

Despite the presence of about a dozen chickens in the backyard, we did not have the kinds of breakfast described in other reviews here. We were served a small & tasty Irish soda bread to share among the two of us and one other inn guest, juice, coffee, sliced fruit, and a slice of French Toast thick with a streusel topping, with real maple syrup if desired.

The Inn of the Tartan Fox is fine for an overnight stay. We would stay again if the need arose, but we would not make it a first-choice destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klbzklbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper524, Owner at The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Although we are under new management as of the end of August, the previous owner writes: We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Rain this year has made gardening very challenging. With only 2 tables in the dining room, we hoped it was not too unpleasant. During the hot summer months most guests appreciate the lower lighting. We try to vary the breakfast entrees alternating savory egg dishes with a sweet dish, but the French Toast was made with the fresh eggs from our chickens. We're so sorry about the internet, we have not had any complaints from other guests and nearly everyone uses it. We hope you had a safe drive home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have stayed at several B & B's, and the Tartan Fox is an exceptional standout. The rooms are large, the Inn is warm and welcoming, and the breakfasts are absolutely scrumptious! It was by far the best breakfast we've ever had at an Inn, and we travel extensively. Only fresh ingredients and everything was made from scratch, with offerings that were original. It's NOT your typical breakfast! The large bathroom with plenty of counter space and heated marble floor was wonderful. We enjoyed chatting with the Innkeepers, who were great hosts. Be sure to ask how the Inn got it's name-it's a great story!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I went back to my hometown of Swanzey for the first time in over 30 years for my high school reunion. As I explored options of places to stay, I really did not want to stay at a big hotel in Keene. We decided upon the Tartan Fox as it would be convenient for my reunion. When we drove in, we were overwhelmed by how beautiful this old house is. despite a previous reviewer complaining about proximity to the airport, this airport is a noncommercial airport and I think I saw one small private plane land. There was absolutely no noise from the airport, and minimal noise from the road. the room we stayed in was extremely comfortable, and we found it very relaxing to stay there. the breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, delicious muffins, and a huge fluffy egg dish. For anybody looking to stay in the Monadnock region, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDS5457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northshore,Ma.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

You are directly across from the Keene airport. Lots of traffic for a small airport; all night long. The entire front of the inn is covered by overgrown shrubs. Probably to cut down noise. Drive in the yard the house could pass as haunted. This could be absolutely gorgeous. Paneling,woodwork,floors and curtains ( dirty grey)need cleaning. Must admit the bath was clean;amenties are few. The house is certainly not white glove by any means. Breakfast was good. Overall landscaping needs a desparate uplift.

Room Tip: Sometimes photos do not help. I Iike rooms with alot of light. Also bedding that is light; so you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlaiseNorthshore_Ma_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper524, Owner at The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The airport you mention is a small one with no tower and the planes are mostly small private ones that do not fly at night. There are pine trees along the front of the property as there are in most of New Hampshire. The driveway and parking lot are lit by several spotlights so I'm not sure that would created a haunted atmosphere. The curtains in this guest room are a red tartan so again I'm not sure how they could be "grey".there are sage green custom mini-blinds on the windows as well. We personally do all the cleaning and the house is pretty much spotless. We are sorry you were disappointed with the landscaping; it is hard to have a gorgeous yard at the end of March. We would love to know what other amenities you would like to see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanzey
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
13.0 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
3.2 mi away
Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House
15.4 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere

Property: The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere
Address: 350 Old Homestead Hwy, Swanzey, NH 03446-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Swanzey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swanzey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tartan Fox Inn is at The Meadmere Country Manor House located less than 10 minutes from Keene, giving you a rural setting while being close to shopping, restaurants, colleges, theater, hiking, bike trails. Four comfy rooms, each with a private bath, so you won't be sharing with other guests. They are decorated with Scottish Tartans, a different plaid for each room.This is the Monadnock Region of New Hampshire and is the perfect location for exploring surrounding towns and neighboring Vermont and Massachusetts.The inn has cable TV, wireless internet access for your computer and off street parking.With close ties to the local community, Mike has recently taken over the Inn. Local events, fun and frolicking in Keene is just min away!. Fresh eggs for your breakfast and homemade scones with jam are a separate food group! We can also accommodate special diets, such as gluten free with advance notice. Just let us know so your trip will be memorable, right down to the food.Our location gives you a nice country feel, yet you are only minutes to downtown Keene.We love gardening, but in our own way. You won't find rows of flowers lined up like soldiers, I take a more free hand approach. Volunteers grow where they pop up, weeds are pulled, and we try to have habitat that caters to our many species of song birds. The Meadmere Home is a gorgeous older structure that was built in 1832 and most recently housed the studio of Norma Stafford, an artistic icon to the Keene area. We enjoy keeping that tradition by maintaining a local artisan gift shoppe on the premises that showcases local Monadnock artistry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing