We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, affordable inn!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanzey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere
Ranked #1 of 2 Swanzey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“A beautiful, affordable inn!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a very busy weekend for the area and had a wonderful stay. The innkeepers were very accommodating and had great communication leading up to and during our stay. The breakfast conversation and atmosphere was just as great as the food itself (which was the best breakfast we've had in a long time!).

The Inn is easy to find and located in a great part of the state. When booking we were slightly skeptical since it was
one of the less expensive inns we looked at but we certainly do not regret our decision.

We will definitely be returning for a stay soon!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksnider24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
46
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a great stay at the Inn during peak foliage. The room was cozy and clean, the drawing room and its books and fireplaces made for an inviting spot to sit, breakfast was delicious, with baskets overflowing with home-baked rolls and scones, and we had a couple of terrific conversations with other guests, made possible by great service that attended to every detail without being obtrusive. Ownership is extremely hospitable and engaging, and makes one feel very welcomed. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend in October. The inn is very comfortable, especially the sitting room on the first floor where there was a record player, games and books by the fireplace. It was the kind of room I always want to be in on a dark, cold night. We stayed in the room on the first floor off of the sitting area, and found it to be simple and clean -- nothing fancy but everything that you could need, and very comfortable and quiet. The inn keepers are especially warm and accommodating, but also unobtrusive. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank joyNewYork_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I am not a B &B person, but was really pleasantly surprised by The Tartan Fox. Really lovely inn, coz and, comfortable. Our room was perfect, had a great night's sleep. The innkeepers were delightful, delicious breakfast! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The manor room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife & I had the good fortuine to stay here one night. The room was very nice and the breakfast was outstanding!
The best was the Inn Keeper. He is the nicest we experienced in 8 years!
If you are going to Keene, NH then you have to stay here!

Room Tip: they are all nice as we saw them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHURCHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at the Inn for one night visiting a friend in Keene - very cute, only 4 miles from town. Sweet owners, beautiful grounds & the house was charming. We stayed on the first floor - lovely room, beautiful terrace overlooking the garden, and the bathroom was nice. Room was clean & we were so busy in town I wish we could have actually spent more time there than sleeping! I thought breakfast was a bit early 8-9 only - and I wanted to sleep in so I missed it. My only advice would be if you want to sleep in, request a room upstairs because you can hear the guests in the breakfast area as the first floor room is right there next to living room & dining room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurenBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper524, Owner at The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
We have opened up our breakfast hours to accommodate our guests who wish to sleep in on the weekends, and will work with our guests so all who wish to enjoy our gourmet breakfasts can do so. We are under new management as of the end of Aug 2013, and look forward to your return visit so you can sleep in AND have breakfast! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On the road
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We tried to get a room in a Keene hotel for our one-night stay in the area, but every hotel was booked. We found this inn while looking for a place to stay on AirBnb (www.airbnb.com) and chose it because it was the available space which promised air conditioning.

The house is huge. There's a garden in the front yard which could use a little work. (I'm a gardener, so I feel comfortable saying this.) We entered through the indicated door. The entryway reminded me of my grandfather's garage. There were stacks of chairs and old tables, lots of other items. From there we entered a small dining area. We knocked on the swinging door to the kitchen to let the innkeeper know we'd arrived.

The ceilings of the downstairs rooms are low. The dining room felt a bit cluttered with its antique furniture. Just beyond the dining room was a small room that seemed to serve as a gift shop-cum-chair caning center. There was a nice collection of jams and jellies, which appeared homemade, plus a collection of spices.

The first impression of the downstairs: between the low ceilings, so typical of an historic home, the gleaming wood floors, the collection of antique furniture, and the old paintings that lined the walls, the first floor seemed dim. There was a strong musty smell. It's only fair to say that the weather had been extremely humid and rainy prior to our arrival; we can't say whether the smell would be present at other times.

Our room was quite pleasant. It had a queen bed, a twin bed, a wood-backed love seat, a padded settee, an antique dresser, a cable TV, and a window air conditioning unit. Wireless access was readily given, but was spotty at best. The bathroom was large. As a massive heat wave was coming to an end at the time of our visit, we loved that there were so many windows and that all of them were open. What a delightful sleeping environment. The down side was the proximity to the road; we heard cars passing all night.

Despite the presence of about a dozen chickens in the backyard, we did not have the kinds of breakfast described in other reviews here. We were served a small & tasty Irish soda bread to share among the two of us and one other inn guest, juice, coffee, sliced fruit, and a slice of French Toast thick with a streusel topping, with real maple syrup if desired.

The Inn of the Tartan Fox is fine for an overnight stay. We would stay again if the need arose, but we would not make it a first-choice destination.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klbzklbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper524, Owner at The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Although we are under new management as of the end of August, the previous owner writes: We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Rain this year has made gardening very challenging. With only 2 tables in the dining room, we hoped it was not too unpleasant. During the hot summer months most guests appreciate the lower lighting. We try to vary the breakfast entrees alternating savory egg dishes with a sweet dish, but the French Toast was made with the fresh eggs from our chickens. We're so sorry about the internet, we have not had any complaints from other guests and nearly everyone uses it. We hope you had a safe drive home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanzey
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
13.0 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
309 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Keene NH
Days Inn Keene NH
#5 of 6 in Keene
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere

Property: The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere
Address: 350 Old Homestead Hwy, Swanzey, NH 03446-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Swanzey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swanzey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tartan Fox Inn is at The Meadmere Country Manor House located less than 10 minutes from Keene, giving you a rural setting while being close to shopping, restaurants, colleges, theater, hiking, bike trails. Four comfy rooms, each with a private bath, so you won't be sharing with other guests. They are decorated with Scottish Tartans, a different plaid for each room.This is the Monadnock Region of New Hampshire and is the perfect location for exploring surrounding towns and neighboring Vermont and Massachusetts.The inn has cable TV, wireless internet access for your computer and off street parking.With close ties to the local community, Mike has recently taken over the Inn. Local events, fun and frolicking in Keene is just min away!. Fresh eggs for your breakfast and homemade scones with jam are a separate food group! We can also accommodate special diets, such as gluten free with advance notice. Just let us know so your trip will be memorable, right down to the food.Our location gives you a nice country feel, yet you are only minutes to downtown Keene.We love gardening, but in our own way. You won't find rows of flowers lined up like soldiers, I take a more free hand approach. Volunteers grow where they pop up, weeds are pulled, and we try to have habitat that caters to our many species of song birds. The Meadmere Home is a gorgeous older structure that was built in 1832 and most recently housed the studio of Norma Stafford, an artistic icon to the Keene area. We enjoy keeping that tradition by maintaining a local artisan gift shoppe on the premises that showcases local Monadnock artistry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing