We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in scenic NH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere
Ranked #1 of 2 Swanzey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights during our fall colors tour. This was just we needed, great rooms in a comfortable house, with a gracious host. We made use of the family room, played games in front of the fireplace, and enjoyed the provided beverages. Breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were driving through New England on a fall foliage tour and stayed in an upstairs room at the Tartan Fox which was extremely clean and very comfortable. Mike had recently acquired the Inn and could not have been a better host. The Inn is immaculate and the location is secluded but close enough to restaurants and shops to be convenient. Mike is an excellent cook and made a wonderfully tasty Eggs Benedict for breakfast. He obviously enjoys playing host and went out of his way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. We're sorry we couldn't stay more than one night, but are grateful he could accommodate our last minute request for a room. If we are ever in the area again, we will be sure to stay at the Tartan Fox for more than just one night. Mike, thanks for a great visit and fantastic food!
Joe and Angela

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a very busy weekend for the area and had a wonderful stay. The innkeepers were very accommodating and had great communication leading up to and during our stay. The breakfast conversation and atmosphere was just as great as the food itself (which was the best breakfast we've had in a long time!).

The Inn is easy to find and located in a great part of the state. When booking we were slightly skeptical since it was
one of the less expensive inns we looked at but we certainly do not regret our decision.

We will definitely be returning for a stay soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksnider24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a great stay at the Inn during peak foliage. The room was cozy and clean, the drawing room and its books and fireplaces made for an inviting spot to sit, breakfast was delicious, with baskets overflowing with home-baked rolls and scones, and we had a couple of terrific conversations with other guests, made possible by great service that attended to every detail without being obtrusive. Ownership is extremely hospitable and engaging, and makes one feel very welcomed. Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend in October. The inn is very comfortable, especially the sitting room on the first floor where there was a record player, games and books by the fireplace. It was the kind of room I always want to be in on a dark, cold night. We stayed in the room on the first floor off of the sitting area, and found it to be simple and clean -- nothing fancy but everything that you could need, and very comfortable and quiet. The inn keepers are especially warm and accommodating, but also unobtrusive. The breakfast is delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank joyNewYork_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I am not a B &B person, but was really pleasantly surprised by The Tartan Fox. Really lovely inn, coz and, comfortable. Our room was perfect, had a great night's sleep. The innkeepers were delightful, delicious breakfast! Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The manor room was great.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife & I had the good fortuine to stay here one night. The room was very nice and the breakfast was outstanding!
The best was the Inn Keeper. He is the nicest we experienced in 8 years!
If you are going to Keene, NH then you have to stay here!

Room Tip: they are all nice as we saw them all.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHURCHGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanzey
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
3.2 mi away
Bridges Inn at Whitcomb House
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Keene NH
Days Inn Keene NH
#5 of 6 in Keene
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tartan Fox at the Meadmere

Address: 350 Old Homestead Hwy, Swanzey, NH 03446-2136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Swanzey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Swanzey
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tartan Fox Inn is at The Meadmere Country Manor House located less than 10 minutes from Keene, giving you a rural setting while being close to shopping, restaurants, colleges, theater, hiking, bike trails. Four comfy rooms, each with a private bath, so you won't be sharing with other guests. They are decorated with Scottish Tartans, a different plaid for each room.This is the Monadnock Region of New Hampshire and is the perfect location for exploring surrounding towns and neighboring Vermont and Massachusetts.The inn has cable TV, wireless internet access for your computer and off street parking.With close ties to the local community, Mike has recently taken over the Inn. Local events, fun and frolicking in Keene is just min away!. Fresh eggs for your breakfast and homemade scones with jam are a separate food group! We can also accommodate special diets, such as gluten free with advance notice. Just let us know so your trip will be memorable, right down to the food.Our location gives you a nice country feel, yet you are only minutes to downtown Keene.We love gardening, but in our own way. You won't find rows of flowers lined up like soldiers, I take a more free hand approach. Volunteers grow where they pop up, weeds are pulled, and we try to have habitat that caters to our many species of song birds. The Meadmere Home is a gorgeous older structure that was built in 1832 and most recently housed the studio of Norma Stafford, an artistic icon to the Keene area. We enjoy keeping that tradition by maintaining a local artisan gift shoppe on the premises that showcases local Monadnock artistry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing