We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchwood Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Temple B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

What a charming little B&B! Leave it to the English...

It's beautifully located in a very quiet area (though the birds woke us up in the morning, I guess us city folks aren't used to the sounds of nature).

Our host was delightful, and the room was very old fashioned and English.

Breakfast was great (and there's nothing like some show tunes on the radio in the morning ;)).

All in all, it wasn't a fancy place, but it was very adorable and the room rates were great!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    9
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
26
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Traveled to NH to visit the kids and The Birchwood Inn was down the street. What a great time we all had in the pub! Cold,snowy and dreary night out was erased by the warmth and good cheer from Nick and crew. Comfortable accomodations with a great breakfast the next morning. Thanks gang!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John1981_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

After a perfect hike, we stopped into the Inn for drinks and a late afternoon lunch. We were greeted by a very friendly server and a mother of one of the owner who was sitting on a rocking chair on the sunny front porch. We sat at the bar and loved our time talking with the owner and enjoyed the home cooked food by the owner's partner. This is a great experience. If you like perfect beer on draft, hot delicious English comfort food and good people, take a spin up to this perfect little hamlet of Temple with a cool English pub. We also took a peek at the rooms which are funky and comfortable.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Delish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Birchwood Inn is run more in the style of a B&B by two Brit ex-pats. Located right in the middle of Temple NH on Rte. 45, its accommodations are very traditional, the hosts very genial, the food good - AND they have a pub as well!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happi_Camper108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangeley, Maine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The Birchwood Inn is located in Temple, NH and is not on the road to anywhere but is a wonderful destination. The Inn's original building dates from 1775 with the "new" addition built in 1800. As is typical of these old buildings, the floors slant and creak, the doors don't quite close, but the accomodations are very nice. We stayed in the Stratford Suite which includes a very small kitchenette. The king-size bed was very comfortable and the room was surprisingly quite given the bustling, crowded tavern/restaurant just downstairs. The breakfast was hearty and the inn keeper, Nick, provided a lot of information on things to do in the area. The room rate is comparable with other bed and breakfasts in the region. One note: the stairs leading to the rooms are a bit steep and could be a problem for some individuals. Our only regret is that we didn't choose to dine at the tavern in the evening, something we will rectify on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onceateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We have been going here for a couple of years. It has a very authentic Bristish Pub feel to it and the food is great and the menu specials change weekly. A pretty good selection of beers, although they could use a few more British beers. The staff are very amiable and the service is very attentive. Its good to be on their email list as they tell you their specials each week and let you know if they will be closed for private gatherings or whatever. If you like British Pub food and atmosphere give it a go.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raptorfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

I just cancelled a reservation for 81/2 weeks from now and am being charged an administrative fee which makes no sense since I booked online. The reason I booked online was because I was told brusquely to do so when I called which is done to save costs on the hotels end and short the client. This ia absolutely the complete opposite of customer service. I highly recommend that you go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Temple
18.4 mi away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gardner
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
23.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
7.0 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Woodbound Inn
Woodbound Inn
#1 of 1 in Rindge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
10.2 mi away
Monadnock Inn
Monadnock Inn
#2 of 4 in Jaffrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
7.4 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Inn

Property: Birchwood Inn
Address: 340 Senator Tobey Highway, NH Rte 45, Temple, NH 03084
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Temple
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birchwood Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Taste of Old England in New England. Everything under one roof. Tavern and Casual dining available Wed through Sat 4:30pm - 9:00pm (dining available upto 1hr before close)Breakfast Brunch on Sunday's 8:30am - 2:00pm. Breakfast included for lodging guests every day from 7:30am - 9:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Birchwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Temple

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing