We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service needs a lot of help”
Review of The Tilton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Tilton Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Tilton B&B and Inns
New England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service needs a lot of help”
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I've been to this pub twice and both times I had the same experience. I went during slow times and both times the service was extremely slow. The first time I went I sat in the pub and never once did someone come ask for my order. After 30 min (yes, 30 min) I went up to the bar myself and ordered a drink and appetizer. The 2nd time I went with a larger party. It took about 20min for someone to take our drink order. Then they mixed the order up and even forgot one. Dinner took about another 30/45 mins to come. The food I have to say is very good. I can't understand why the service is so bad especially during non busy times.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
24
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We traveled with a group of 8 to Laconia Bike Week and picked this inn as our stay not knowing how charming it was, how gracious our host would be, and how good the food is!!! The rooms all have different names and themes and are very quaint, like a bedorom not a hotel room, and clean. The staff was unintrusive and courteous, helpful and friendly. The front porch was an added plus hang out space with a view of the constant stream of bikers riding to the rally. The restaurant was the best in the area...we actually tried to get back everynight before the kitchen closed because that food was by far the and freshest and most interesting we found in the area. Such a deal!!! Alan Powell was the most gracious host and made us feel at home. It was such a great experience, we made reservation for next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

If you're looking for a place to get away from the tuff world and go somewhere where you still feel like home Tilton Inn is the place to go. As a flight attendant for a major airline in the UK, I am experienced in judging hotel environments. I found the staff to be warm and welcoming while the accommodation is clean and meals are affordable. If you wish not to go far for a meal, the Onion Pub has every meal you want. It is also surrounded by get shopping areas from big department stores to local shops. All and all I will rate it five out or five.

K. Richardson-Crane

Room Tip: Pets are always allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keivin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York State
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This was a business trip and we wanted quiet, with a touch of luxury. And, of course, we always hope for some quaint history. This wonderful old hotel has it all. New owners Allan and Cathy have turned a 135 year-old hotel into a modern work of art. Starting with The Onion's Pub (Allan is a native Bermudan who has carried some of the Caribbean light lifestyle into the White Mountains) we found an amazing menu variety at very moderate prices. Digging into our large servings (I had the breaded Haddock and Scallop entree and my lady love dug into the large steak and mushroom in a puff pastry special. Wow! Both were delicious. Then our room (The Henry Ford Room...all of their rooms are named after famous Americans who had a significant impact on the town) had an antique ambiance, though there was a large-screen plasma television for those seeking entertainment, as well as a small bedside TV. This was probably the most comfy bed we've ever slept in and there was not a sound from inside or outside the hotel until we awoke (lazily late, I might add) and found a large pot of coffee awaiting downstairs. Another bit of Tilton history is the usually unseen unofficial greeter, Laura, a twelve year-old girl who died in the building over a hundred years ago. Some guests actually get to see her smile before she quietly drifts back into history. Needless to say, we will go again and again, whenever a visit to central New Hampshire is scheduled. One can't go wrong with a night or two at this fine (even trendy) historic hotel

Room Tip: Those interested in a possible, pleasant paranormal opportunity should tell Marge when they book the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ghostguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

The inn is super nice.The staff are great the food was fresh/homemade and what a CLEAN and cozy inn. Looking for word to going back.

Room Tip: The rooms are cozy and they are all different. When you are booking let them know what kind of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Our family of four found this by chance. We have been traveling here for six years. I only wish we had known of this before. We stayed in the Tilton room. A beautiful spot we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The Inn has a restaraunt & new owner, both being charming and friendly. The new Onion's Pub is fantastic. Serving both dinner and brunch, we stayed on the property during our stay to this small town.

Onion's Pub is split into a tavern style pub (weekend music) on one side and a quiet crisp and modern dining room on the other. The food is big city quality at fair prices. A great date spot. Bruch was very good. White table lines, buffet, carved pork loin, and custom omlets

The Inn is an old historic building and porch facade. Needs painting, but very pleasant. You have to expect the quirks of an old building. The rooms are charming Inn style with up to date bathrooms, TV, fireplaces, basic cable, and internet.

Only odd experience we had was connected to it's haunted history. We briefly stopped in room before dinner for about 30 min. When we left, the hall was filled with a strong scent of flowers and cut grass. No windows were open. No smell outside. Staff doesn't use room sprays. Phantom smell was pleasant, very strong, and completely gone an hour later.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JustUsPortland_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
4.0 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
9.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
14.7 mi away
Quality Inn Loudon
Quality Inn Loudon
#1 of 1 in Loudon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tilton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tilton Inn

Property: The Tilton Inn
Address: 255 Main St, Tilton, NH (Formerly 1875 Inn)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tilton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Tilton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tilton Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing