We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place and lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Swan Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Tilton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Slocan Park, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place and lovely people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were caught in a downpour and couldn't continue to our destination as they had has a medical emergency. Saw a Canadian flag along with a US flag on a wonderful large Victorian home and pulled in. They gave us a mid-week rate, and then a triple AAA (BCAA) discount, and the Peabody room (the best one in the house!, though all are lovely). We had a very nice quiet night in this incredibly finished Victorian room with stained glass windows and exquisite woodworking ( I am a carpenter and really appreciated it). We watched TV and drank some coolers purchased elsewhere, and were treated to a beautifully appointed and delicious breakfast by friendly and interesting people,before setting out for our next visit with old friends in the state.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    13
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
44
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Loved staying here when visiting Highland bike park. Trish helped us get a room very last minute during stressful, sold-out bike week. It's a beautiful Victorian house with clean rooms and lovely surroundings but still feels incredibly homey and comfortable. And breakfast was delicious. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I who were already planning a bike trip to Laconia decided to stay at our first bed and breakfast. We chose the black swan inn and it could not have been a better experience. The inn was gorgeous, the food was world class, from the peach waffles to the creme brulee French toast and even the locally roasted blended especially for the black swan coffee. The room was beautiful and the king size bed was super comfy. If you want an outstanding bed and breakfast experience at reasonable rates go to your computer and book your stay now!!! PS the owners Trish and john were super friendly and Trish!s mom and dad were super nice.

Room Tip: Want a great room ask to stay in the Peabody brown room you will be amazed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07harley103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at The Black Swan Inn May 31 - June 1st. We were performing at a Pirate Fair on the property. We were amazed by the beauty of the inn and we were brought back in time. We had the most amazing room, The Belle Peabody Brown Suite. Trish & John made us feel like family, very welcoming. The breakfasts were gourment quality. Fresh homemade donuts, quiche, creme brulee french toast, fruit salad. The hot main course was made with local fresh eggs, very tasty. The common areas were just lovely and inviting. I told them they had a rare jewel in this Bed & Breakfast. What a lovely place for a romantic getaway or a special event. The Inn had such a lovely, calming feel. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Check the website to view all the rooms or call if you have specific needs, private bathroom etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryLuisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely property with beautifully preserved interior spaces and bedrooms. Our hosts were friendly and welcoming. The breakfasts were delish, with fruit salad, homemade donuts! And a hot main course with locally sourced eggs. Great common areas to share with friends.

Room Tip: Belle Peabody Brown suite has gorgeous woodwork and stained glass, a spacious and very comfortable r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A group of us stayed at the Black Swan Inn the last weekend in April. We have been to the Black Swan Inn on numerous dates because of how the Inn makes us feel, CALM...We are all busy working girls and really look forward to our weekends away and if you want to be able to just sit back, relax, enjoy fresh brewed coffee or even just sit out on the porch to enjoy the fresh air, do so, you won't be sorry. While we were there, the Black Swan Inn hosted a private event for us as well. The event went smoothly and we had a great time. They have done some wonderful updates in all of the rooms. I stayed in Bells room and the bed was absolutely comfortable, I don't even think I stayed awake 30 seconds after my head hit the pillow. The owners John and Patti are very gracious and have become good friends with us and I'm sure with everyone who enters the inn. They make you feel at home there and I have to tell you, it is very hard to leave, but we will be back. You can count on that. Until then.

Room Tip: It's hard to say which room is better as they are all very clean and comfortable. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had the pleasure to stay with Trisha and John overnight while attending a Paranormal Investigation. Our hosts were warm and welcoming from the moments that I called to make the reservation to the moment we left much later than the posted check out time. The end of our stay was spent sitting in the formal living room of this beautifully restored Victorian home. Our reservation process was simple and again welcoming. When we arrived we were greeted by John and welcomed warmly. Our room was bright and spacious! ( we stayed in the Belle Peabody Brown Room) the bedding was crisp and the bed soft and very inviting. John offered fresh coffee on a cold and icy afternoon following a long ride was just what we needed. He provided us with a little history of the house that to me was fascinating. We both slept like babies. We awoke in the morning to the smell of coffee brewing and bacon cooking. Breakfast consisted of ham, vegetable and cheese omelet's, apple cinnamon pancakes, fresh fruit and more wonderful coffee. We were able to enjoy the end of our breakfast with John and Trisha. 2 hours over breakfast and coffee then moved into the living room where the conversation continued like we had known them for years.
What a great way to get away and recharge. Truly looking forward to the next opportunity to travel toTilton and visit new friends.
Best regards
Donalee

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donaandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
16.9 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#3 of 8 in Concord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
The Tilton Inn
The Tilton Inn
#2 of 3 in Tilton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Black Swan Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 354 W Main St, Tilton, NH 03276-5017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Swan Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and inviting 1880 victorian inn that offers deluxe accommodations, a free gourmet breakfast and warm hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Black Swan Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing