We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Tilton B&B and Inns
Johnson City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for four nights during Laconia Motorcycle Week. Excellent location for this event; many of the other guests at the hotel were returning customers for the same rally. Rooms are nothing fancy but are clean. Bathroom in my room was quite small, but fine for my purposes (although a very large person may have trouble positioning him or herself onto the toilet, which faced the side of the sink and was immediately adjacent to it). Hotel is close to roadway, so there is some traffic noise during the day. This is made up for by the excellent view of Lake Winnisquam, which is right across the road. Area around hotel seemed very safe. Many stores nearby. Continental breakfast was pretty good if you are just looking for a quick bite. Hotel owners and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dooz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
8
17
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed 1 night for skiing at Gunstock. Lowest price within 30' distance. Room was small but very clean, OK for sleeping 1 night. Breakfast was fine, enough calories for the morning ski. Management friendly and helpful. Will use it again if need to be in that area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank ylyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently. A few things to note.
1. I got the hotel on priceline for $41 for the night. What a steal!
2. We arrived at the hotel and owner did not seem pleased that two men would be sharing one bed. His look of disgust on his face was clear. That made me feel very uncomfortable.
3. They made me sign some smoke charge agreement. We got to our room, which was cold and smelled like smoke already - yay!
4. We woke up the next morning to head for the "Inn's" breakfast. It was about 9A when we arrive the breakfast was already closed for the morning. No breakfast for us. We turned in our key at the front desk and left to find some breakfast.

So - I get home and a week later they charged us $100! I called the Inn, it must be a mistake. No - the owner of the Inn told me my room smelled like smoke (well, yea... it smelled like that when we got there!). The owner tells me I caused the smoke smell and so he charged me to clean the room. Never confronted me when I left the room and turned in my key. We were at the hotel for about 20 minutes before we left to find breakfast. Never once told me he would be charging me for the smoke smell already in my room.

Now I am left paying $141 for a really dirty hotel room that smelled like smoke!

Don't ever stay here - this owner is extremely dishonest!

Now - go and take a look at some of the recent reviews on this property and see how glowing they are. I challenge you to find those rooms, service and experience at this INN! I think those reviews are put there by the owner...

Room Tip: Find another hotel - this place stinks, the bathroom sink smells like sewage and the rooms are compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reporter_nyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodewayinn_788, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for your review Sir. It was unfortunate that we had to charge you $100.00 for smoking in your room but it is Hotel Policy that we need to comply. You did sign a registration form upon check-in which we furnished you a copy. ( By signing this release form, you understand that if anyone in your party smokes in your registered room you will be charged $100.00 at the time of check out.) You have the right to your opinions Sir I respect that but we cannot question the credibility of the review websites specially TripAdvisor. We cannot make our own reviews. We understand that you are very upset because of the charge but we have to follow regulations. Again we thank you for your review and hope we can all learn from this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tilton hotels

Franconia, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We chose this place because of the price and reviews I read. After checking in I felt, for the first time, that I was at a home away from home. The manager and his family were warm and gracious. The experience was real and genuine, compared to the professional politeness of other establishments. The room was very clean. Opening the curtain in the morning to the sun coming up over the beautiful lake across the road was a treat. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This property is a little gem. The lake view from our room was magnificent. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Loved the hard wood floors. Staff was very accommodating. Also, great breakfast selection. Close to many restaurants and shopping.

Look forward to visiting again soon.

Judy

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank judyO627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

When reviewing all of the prior reviews on this site (which I based my decision for this hotel on), I can't help but notice how mixed the reviews are. It doesn't seem like everyone is staying at the same hotel. I wonder if some people are talking about another location?

Anyways, with that said, the really hard part about writing a somewhat negative review about a place is when you actually really liked the staff (possibly owner?) that worked there. Whoever checked people in (and it seemed like a one man show) was friendly, and was someone who you wished worked for a nicer hotel location.

Pros:
- The Rodeway Inn was cheap. As in, it was the cheapest option on Expedia when booking hotels in the area.
- Breakfast included fresh fruit (watermelon). The other options, which I did not partake in, seemed relatively decent, and not of the regular really crappy motel kind of quality.

Cons:
- Anytime that your next door neighbor walks around shirtless, and shows more plumber's crack than... well your last plumber, you know you're in a real classy joint. There are chairs set up outside which face the lake where this gentleman decided to park his caboose and smoke the night away.
- It's old. Not Betty White, haha that's awesome old, but damn-I-need-a-shower-now kind of old. It doesn't look dirty, but you just feel the grime.

So the end of the story is this. Nice staff (of one), reasonable location if you're needing to go to the NASCAR track close by, decent breakfast, but holy heck the place reminded you at every turn of how little you paid for the hotel night. I wish that Choice Hotels would spring for a makeover of this location, it would do wonders...

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JasonArroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Great deal, and a beautiful view. The room was a little small but it was definitely workable for two people. It was clean, and comfortable as well. The staff was incredibly friendly and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tilton hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
0.6 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
4.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Anchorage at the Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 788 Laconia Road, Tilton, NH 03276 (Formerly Country Lake Resort)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tilton
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing