We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty Nasty Nasty Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econolodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tilton
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Bugs in the rooms! Supposedly non-smoking...our room smelled like an ashtray! We asked clerk for an air freshner due to odor, and she didn't know where to find any. Information on website is VERY misleading! They do have the amenities listed, BUT they are filthy, old, and decrepit. They claim that they are located on Lake Winnisquam, but that is false advertising as you would have to cross a VERY busy road to get to the lake, so NO the building is NOT located on the lake. Pool was cloudy and the other people in the pool room were offensive (you don't want the details on that). Needless to say we did not use the pool. We got out of there as quickly as possible and ended up staying at the Cedar Lodge which was clean and bug-free and priced lower than this "resort".

Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kittyka73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

This hotel was probably awesome a couple decades ago, but it surely has seen better days. Upon check in we went to our room and realized that the only window in our room did not have a window air conditioner. It was a 95 degree day and sleeping without air conditioning would have been impossible. We went to the front desk and told them we did not have an air conditioner. They were fine about giving us a different room, but they were insistent that all rooms had window units. The toilet was clogged in the second room by the occupants before us. We told the front desk on our way out to dinner and expected they would fix the problem while we were out. When we got back from dinner there was a plunger outside our door, so we could fix it ourselves.The beds were hard and the bathroom water smelled bad. The experience could have been worse, but not much. Overall, the bedding seemed clean and the employees were pleasant, but we will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skunk1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I don't know when this would have been considered a resort, but it was not in the past 20 years! Arrived during a major heat wave (people were dying) and we were traveling with an elderly (86 yr old) grandma and a child. On arrival we were locked out of the room for over an hour b/c clerk could not reach the owner at the lake to open the door. The waiting area was barely air conditioned we made several trips to the car to turn on the air. When we did get in, the room smelled musty and the sink was clogged. We just thought that we needed to turn on the air, but hours later that didn't help and no one ever came despite our calls about the sink. We began to feel sick from the smell but it was too late to leave and try to find another room given the fact that grandma has some health issues which prevented our ability to go anywhere at that point. We spent as little time in the room as possible. In addition there were bugs everywhere, and with bedbugs showing up places lately it was a very stressful night. I pretty much stayed up much of the night killing bugs as they got worse as the night went on. Needless to say we decided against another night and the clerk who was on duty at the time came into the room to see the bugs (which were coming from inside the bldg, as we did not open the outside door due to the heat). When we asked to cancel our reservation she said she can't blame us. We were charged for 2 nights, our credit card company has no power over their legal contract once we stayed the first night and the owners interpret this as the credit card company agreeing with them. I guess that they are desperate for money and not concerned with any negative reputation they may be incurring due to their bad business practices. Even the Chamber of Commerce advised us that they would not have recommended this establishment. I spoke with the owner Sharon & I encountered a nasty attitude and complete lack for compassion. But our next few nights at the Margate were fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ctmom128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Pros:
Beds were firm.
Rooms are large.
With doors closed in rooms that face busy road, it is relatively quiet.

Cons:
The Motel is old and could use many updates.
The Indoor Pool and Pool Floors need cleaning.
Motel is on a very busy road where vehicles average 50-60 MPH including 18 wheelers.
The beach is across the busy street and the front rooms look out over the road. The actual beach is small and had limited lounge chairs.
We were given a coupon for 2-1 dinner at the Shalimar Restaurant on site but the 2nd less expensive meal is off a very limited menu which was not stated on the coupon.
The shower had mildew at the top and bottom.
The TV is quite old.
Our door to the hallway was left open after the maid cleaned the room.
The dumpster in the back is full and looks like it had not been cleaned in a while.
The reading lights next to the bed are about 5 watts and we were not able to read using them.
The bathroom had a funky smell to it at various times.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NotChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Weekend Boat Trip
We were able to check in around 1pm. Took us less than 15 minutes to get checked in and had the boat in the water.
Boat ramp was across the street, with plenty of parking for the trailer and 4Runner.
Great beach area with deck, docks, and sandy beach with plenty of lounge chairs.

The room was very large. Three quenn beds and plenty of space for 5 people.
AC unit kept the room plenty cool and it was hot that weekend.
Very quiet at night, no noise problems what so ever.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank Wongnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We stayed at the Shalimar Resort over the July 4th holiday and had an amazing time. The rooms were spotless, I mean spotless! The staff was so friendly and the food was superb. I will absolutely stay here again. I loved the private sandy beach with all the boats available to us. We even cooked lunch at the grills on the beach too. I can't believe I have missed this place before. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I am the sales person for Tour New England.com/ Along with having a terrific stay at Shalimar Resort, meeting some super people and excellent staff, the food was tremendous! The amenities are super, steam, pool, fitness center. The beach is right across the street with paddle boats etc...We even made our own barnfire at the firepit! The location is perfect for touring the Lakes, Weirs Beach and The White Mountains. The owners, Sharon & Peter Spanos are the best! GO.................JaneHall sales www.TourNewEngland.com

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TourNewEngland_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
5.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Tilton/lake Winnisquam
7.0 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Inn & Suites

Address: 650 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5322 (Formerly Shalimar Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tilton
Price Range: £47 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econolodge Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econolodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shalimar Hotel Tilton
Shalimar Hotel Winnisquam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing