We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location with awesome waterview !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Went to The Anchorage in early June. The weather not so great but our cabin and the hospitality of Chris & Allsion (Innkeepers) was second to none !! Would refer The Anchorage as an awesome place for your vacation on Lake Winnesquam. Have already booked our vacation for next year. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank-you Carol. It’s so great getting to know all of our returning guests and we appreciate your kind words and enthusiasm about the Anchorage at the Lake. This year we’ll have a pool table too for those rainy days. No worries, we’ll be keeping the ping pong table too! See you this season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is an annual vacation! The property was even better this year. Allison & Chris the innkeepers were awesome and so was the staff!!! People need to keep in mind this is not a "four seasons" resort. It is cabins on a beautiful lake!!! It is not the end of the world if you need to ask the front desk for an item your cabin is lacking......it is relaxation time!!! If you're uptight, this is not the place for you! If you want to relax and meet some awesome people...stay here!!! My girls look forward to our annual stay on the lake!

Room Tip: Ask for lake front!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapeAunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you so much! Chris and I are here again this season and expect it to be even better than last year! If you haven’t done so already, check out the promotions we have on our web site right now…while they last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Anchorage with my mother & Boston Terrier "Blue". We came right after Nascar ended on a Sunday & left tues. I really wish we could of stayed longer!
Alyson, her bf and entire staff are friendly & very accommodating! We stayed in one of the renovated cabins. Such a peaceful beautiful lakeside vacation spot. Just what I needed since I live just outside of Boston. So close to the grocery store which made grilling at the cabins easy. Not at all buggy besides spiders outside around the porch BUT you are staying in a cabin that's expected.
We will def be back! Happy I found a affordable place to vacation at that is actually dog friendly ALL YEAR round.
**extra tip** After you check out you could grab breakfast 3 miles up the road at a real farm. I think it's called "Heritage Farm pancake house" omg num num num
It was a great way to end our trip!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ells617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

We’re so glad that you all had a great time while you were here! Yes, the Anchorage at the Lake is extremely pet friendly and our guests with pets most definitely enjoy the pet friendly beach. It’s easy to be pet friendly when guests are as conscientious of their pets as our guests have been this season.

You are so correct about the lack of bugs here at the Anchorage at the Lake. It’s amazing how few mosquitoes there are and here and it’s actually been a topic of conversation amongst guests all season long. Just one more great reason to stay right here with the refreshing breeze off the lake that helps to keep the bugs away from the Anchorage at the Lake!

We look forward to seeing you again next season, but don’t forget that we are open into October this year and have some AMAZING fall specials so perhaps you can make it back one more time this season and Blue can say “bye-bye” to the summer at the spot he enjoyed so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Alyson & Chris, managers of property, responded immediately to any requests we had. We took
our family to Anchorage for a family vacation which included 9 children, 13 and under. They had a blast there. Brought their bikes and scooters and loved riding them. Kids loved the beach. We had some bad rain, unfortunately, but Chris set up a projector in the game room and kids loved movie night, playing ping pong and having use of the internet. We have a pontoon boat and just love Winnisquam and Anchorage on the lake. Cecere/Flanagan families

Room Tip: Alyson, Chris, Elisha will answer all your questions regarding the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cowwabunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Yes, Winnisquam Lake is beautiful, peaceful and is truly a hidden treasure in New Hampshire. Winnisquam Lake is 10 Miles long and it never seems to be overcrowded and most boaters are extremely respectful of others. Our guests love being able to use our canoes & kayaks for free and also having the option of renting a motor boat at Winnisquam Marine right around the corner. The best part for boat owners or boat renters is that we have boat slips available right here on our property which makes your days getting on and off the lake that much easier and convenient.

We’re so glad that despite the less than perfect weather, the Common Room, the projection screen and movies helped make things more tolerable during rainy days. It was great seeing the kids riding their bikes and having so much fun on the property. (that was definitely a great idea on your part)

So glad you’re coming back again next year and even though you’ll be enjoying your totally secluded paradise at the Trapp House next time, we certainly hope the entire family will still come up and enjoy the main grounds as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Just got back from a trip there with a large group of friends and family. It was my family's first time here and we will never forget the great experience and will be back next year! The cabins are tidy, CLEAN, and rustic for the perfect get-away from the city. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well kept and we found the hosts Allison and Chris extremely accommodating and friendly as well as knowledgeable about great places to visit in the area. We had everything we could possibly need in the cabins and even if we hadn't I believe the staff would have taken care of it immediately. We had a problem with a door hinge and Chris was there within 10 minutes to fix it. If you are used to hotels with room service and mints on the pillows this is not the place for you but if you love the outdoors, beautiful beaches, fishing, swimming and making unforgettable memories with family this is the place to be. Thank you!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank-you so much! It is wonderful to continue to hear that so many families are making memories here at the Anchorage at the Lake. Chris and I are very thankful to be able to be a small part of helping to make them special.

Yes, this is the perfect get-away from city living and a refreshing throw back to the basics of what spending time with family is all about.

We are glad to hear that you were happy with your accommodations and please know that the generosity shown by many guests has not gone unnoticed by our hardworking housekeeping staff and they are all very thankful.

We may not have mints on our pillows, but we do have treats for your dogs! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Dirty!! Had to sweep the cabin floor four time before moving into our cabin!
We did not have enough dishes or towels for 4 people..and this cabin was for 6 people!
Wayyy tooo much money for what you get...
People are very nice but have no clue!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Chris and I apologize that you were unhappy with your experience here. Unfortunately, your experience wasn’t as wonderful as most of our guests’ have been this season. Please know that had you let us know that you had any issues whatsoever while you were here, we certainly would have remedied the situation and assure you that you would have left here happy and with a different outlook on the Anchorage at the Lake.

We wholeheartedly hope that you will give us another chance and revisit the Anchorage at the Lake and we will do our best to ensure that your experience is as wonderful as the many guests who have enjoyed their stay here this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I just returned from staying a week at Anchorage at the Lake. I had a large group of people for a bike event at nearby Highland Mountain Bike Park and it was a perfect place for us to stay. In past years, we have camped but this was much better being that we had a house, beds, showers, and kitchen. We throughly enjoyed the lake. It was also very nice that there were a couple of beaches so that though there were many kids and families on one, I was able to go to the other more quiet beach. They even have beach chairs so all I needed was sunscreen! I also took advantage of the free canoe rental and had a blast. The water was warm, there weren't any mosquitoes (which really surprised me, since they love me), and all the staff I encountered were so unbelievably friendly. If you are looking for hotel service, this is not the place to go, and I believe most of the poor reviews are because they were expecting a hotel.

This is definitely a place I will go back to, with a large group, my small family, or even with just another couple. It's really good for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank-you very much for your positive feedback and kind words. We are thrilled that you had a great time and got to take advantage of Lonely Beach and the free canoe use. You’re not kidding about the lack of mosquitoes. As a matter of fact it has become a popular topic of discussion amongst guests because it seems almost unbelievable that they are so scarce! We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful staff and are especially thankful when people like yourself take notice of everyone’s willingness to be as helpful as possible.

We’re glad to hear you’ll be coming back and we think you hit the nail on the head about our accommodations. We are basic cabin style camping, no frills but tons of fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
5.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
4.3 mi away
The Tilton Inn
The Tilton Inn
#2 of 3 in Tilton
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tilton
Price Range: £108 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing