We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in a tiny lakeside cabin. It was perfect, even though we didn't have a tv. We had a kitchenette and a fire pit. It really was lakeside. This was the best value right on the lake. It's definitely a hidden gem. The cabins are a little rustic but bigger and modern ones were available. We will definitely return every year.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAMABEAR919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank-you Elizabeth. The Anchorage at the Lake truly is a hidden gem and is the perfect destination for families and those who enjoy camping but want a little more comfort. Having your own fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom, shower & screened in porch makes those camping getaways more enjoyable, especially when you can step out of your cabin and be enjoying one of the three private beaches in just a few steps or a short walk. Thank-you for your post and we look forward to seeing you next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

Rustic (very simple) cabins, a bit rundown, but fine for the purpose intended. I suppose, had it rained the whole week, we would have noticed. But the sun was shining all week, so we were out at the beach, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, enjoying the evening bonfires... The staff were excellent, lots of good tips, great service and generally nice folks. If you want a nice hotel room, this isn't the place for you. If you want a simple, affordable, friendly place where your family can feel safe and relax, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimberSteakhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank-you Daniel. Your comment is very well put. The Anchorage at the Lake offers relaxed cabin-style camping at a spectacular location with over one mile of waterfront on Lake Winnisquam. It offers the kinds of amenities that bring you back to the basics where you can disconnect from the everyday hustle and bustle that this busy world is used to and enjoy precious family time and make memories. We are so glad you enjoyed your getaway and look forward to seeing you again next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If your looking for a 5 star resort this isn't it ! But what it is , is a very scenic and very pleasant place to unwind with beutiful views and a spectacular lake ! The employees there were very pleasant and very helpful and I can't wait to go back again next year !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank-you Arty. What you said is true, true, true, true and true! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy to hear that you are enthusiastic about coming back to The Anchorage at the Lake again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

If you come here knowing what is meant by rustic camp you will have a great time.We are campers so we bring an air mattress in case the bed isn't comfortable.We spent most our time either swimming, boating,sitting by a huge community fire pit or staring at the lake from our screened-in porch.I went there not expecting a Vermont b&b.Our cabin was clean and simple and we loved it.Alison and Chris the couple running the camp were perfect.They could not have been more friendly and accommodating. We chose this place because they allowed our pets(for a fee of course) and they have three beaches,one which is pet friendly.My two dogs loved this place.Lastly if it rained the whole time i was there i would get in my car and go find some fun or food or both.Then i would come back to my screened porch drink some hot coffee and stare at the beautiful lake. "it's camping people".

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Walter you are absolutely right. If you enjoy camping, sitting on a screened in porch overlooking the lake, meeting others at a big bonfire, swimming, kayaking, canoeing, fishing, boating etc. then The Anchorage at the Lake is the perfect destination for you. If not, that’s perfectly understandable which is why we try to make it very clear that we are a Cabin-Style Camping Resort and explain exactly what we have to offer our guests.

Yes, pets love it here too. It’s great to hear guests’ stories about their “water dog” that has missed the water and is happy to be back or their puppy who had its first swimming experience here on our pet friendly beach. It’s just great!

Chris and I are so happy that you and your wife enjoyed your first time here at The Anchorage at the Lake and we hope to see you again next year to celebrate another wedding anniversary with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

All I can say is Henrique S and Annie E must have thought they were at the Hyatt Regency and do not no what its like to rough it up a little. I've been staying at the Anchorage for years now and as matter of fact just got back from spending a week there and the service and the staff couldn't have been any better. The place was Beautiful, staff was great and very friendly, and didn't see a sign of any mice so these people must have taken them in with them, as a matter of fact I've been in business for years and have seen people like this come and go and all they want is something for nothing so please keep the place the same and don't change it because of people that think there in an old age home where they complain about everything and expect everything for nothing. Will definitely be looking forward to staying at the Anchorage at the lake next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank-you Joey. It’s a tough situation only because at a Cabin-Style Camping Resort, there are different variables that can make each individual person’s experience different from one another. Weather is the biggest culprit when it comes to mice, ants etc. If someone spent time here after along wet spell or had an extended stay that unfortunately included lots of rain, it is quite possible that their experience with pests would be different than a guest who spent time here while it was dry and the weather was great.

As you know, our resort is very similar to camping but we have all those little extras that you miss when camping at a campground. A screened in porch, linens, towels, a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower. Also similar to camping…if the weather isn’t great it does impact your enjoyment. Fortunately, The Anchorage at the Lake is located in the heart of everything so local area indoor attractions are never very far away.

Thanks for the support Joey! We look forward to seeing you again next season but if you can sneak away again before the end of October don’t forget that we have great fall rates and specials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My weekend in this place was the worse weekend I have had in my whole life. The outlets in the kitchen were always dropping, it does not have enough parking, the shower was broken, the refrigerator was not working well..... When I asked them to fix, a guy came by check it out and complained that we have more people than usual in the house, after that he COMMANDED us to GET OUT! Yes! He gave us an order as they were doing a favor for us. Come on! We paid $872.00 dollars to stay 2 nights in a crap house. I felt so humiliated ! I DEFINITELY DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE NOT EVEN TO MY ENEMIES! I WILL NOT RATE ZERO STAR, BECAUSE THE WEBSITE DOES NOT HAVE THIS CHOICE, I would if I could.

A summary of my weekend in this place would be compared with a nightmare!

Be far of them!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Yes Henrique, your experience here was far from pleasant and is actually the first time we have ever had to call the police on a guest which was very unpleasant for us as well. It is unfortunate that you booked a house that slept 14 people and expected 40 plus people to be allowed to stay in that one unit. It was your responsibility to inform your 40 guests what the accommodations were so essentially, each person in your group spent $21.80 for your mistake. You were offered the option to stay as long as the maximum number of people allowed in that unit would be staying, not all 40 people. This was unacceptable to you. You and your friend became belligerent at which point you were asked to leave. After refusing to do so, the Tilton Police Department was called and your group was removed from the property. It was a very sad situation.

We would never want a guest to be unhappy or have to be removed by the police like you and your group were. It is our goal to provide excellent guest service and our responsibility to inform you of exactly what you are booking when making a reservation. Had you asked if 40 people could be accommodated in that unit we most certainly would have told you absolutely not. Had we allowed you to stay, we would have knowingly been disregarding the Fire Code set forth by the Tilton Fire Department and potentially be putting your group in danger. Furthermore, it is not fair to the many other guests here at The Anchorage at the Lake to adhere to the maximum occupancy only to see 40-plus people coming from one unit overtaking the private beaches.

Hopefully a lesson was learned and you will not make the same mistake when making a reservation with another property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Took my kids camping for the first time this week (july 15-18). My kids and I had a great time. nice quiet fun place to go and relax. Cabin was perfect, water was sweet, service n staff friendlyness was perfect. I will definetly come back every year. my kids were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pookie34_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank-you for your positive feedback. Yes, The Anchorage at the Lake is a great destination for families who are looking to kick back, relax in the sun, swim in the beautiful lake and enjoy all the Lakes Region has to offer. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your vacation here and hope that you make us an annual vacation destination! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilton
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
8.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
497 reviews
5.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
2.0 mi away
The Lake House at Ferry Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tilton
Price Range: £108 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing