We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchorage at the Lake
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My boyfriend and I came up for the 4th of July weekend, and rented cabin 7. The cabins for perfect rustic cabins, with everything you need for your stay. The owners Chris and Allison are beyond friendly and helpful. We used the kayaks, sat by the fire, played horse shoes and really enjoyed ourselves. The grounds are kept up nice, wish they had activities for the visitors, maybe on weekends but there is still tons of things to keep you occupied. We will def. Be returning, hopefully with more friends and family and closer to the water. If your looking for a family oriented, pet friendly step above camping on the eater this is the place for you. The owners know you by name and are just a phone call away. Def. A gem in NH I hope to enjoy for years to come

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathermorse89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank-you Heather for your review. The Anchorage at the Lake is definitely a gem in New Hampshire for camping enthusiasts that appreciate the luxury of having a basic cabin with a fully equipped kitchenette, private bathroom & shower that is just steps away from three private beaches where you also get free use of kayaks and canoes. Furry family members even get to enjoy one of the private beaches and canoes and you are so right, many people return with their pets because the overall experience for the entire family is so great!

Chris and I appreciate that you think of us as the owners and it’s a common thought amongst guests. However we are actually the Innkeepers for The Anchorage at the Lake and work for a great company that prides itself in having management teams that treat the properties they oversee as their own. It makes us happy when guests unintentionally confirm that we are doing just that. The Anchorage at the Lake is one of the last resorts of its kind and we all do our best to keep it that way! We look forward to seeing you again…closer to the water next time! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights for a small vacation. This place was great!! We travel with our dog and this place is very pretty friendly! The pet beach was a great plus! Our dog got to swim and play on the beach too!! The only extra perk that would have been nice would be campfire rings at each cabin. But the nightly fire in the main fire pit is a great asset. Very rustic cabins but wonderful!! We will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aallen03469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank-you for your feedback. Yes, The Anchorage at the Lake is very pet friendly and the fact that one of our three private beaches is pet friendly is one of the many reasons pet owners love coming here. Glad you all had a good time. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This place was beautiful stay for my self and the rest of my group. Great scenery very clean and lots of things to do and we was well provided for by the staff . And management is very accommodating and pleasant to deal with . Can't say enough about it
And we are looking forward to the next year and already made reservations to stay again .

Room Tip: Be prepared for a grate stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butch K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Butch thank-you for your review and enthusiasm about the Anchorage at the Lake. Bike week here is always a blast for guests because it’s a great spot for groups, couples and “lone riders”. Guests are thrilled by having their own kitchenette, screened in porch, grill, beaches, lake views and nightly campfires where they meet everyone else on the property. Many lifelong friendships have formed at the main fire pit. The Weirs isn’t far and the number of scenic back roads in the area are endless. We’re so happy that you and your group had such a positive experience and we look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had one night here, on our way south. We had a two bedroom cabin. The cabins are very basic, and I do see how that suits some people. The cabin was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and we had glimpses of the lake from the porch. The fly screen from the porch could do with some fixing. The place has kayaks and canoes that you can take out, and they light a campfire every night. It was a peaceful place and we slept well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elfinlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank-you for your review. We are happy that you found the Anchorage at the Lake to be peaceful and that you slept well. The Anchorage at the Lake is a seasonal resort with nostalgic charm and improvements are done annually in phases in an effort to show guests that we are doing everything we can to make the property better and better every year. We try to find a balance between offering the best rates we can in order for the Anchorage at the Lake to continue to thrive and continue to be a vacation destination spot for families year after year. Some of the best things about the Anchorage at the Lake are definitely the private beaches, complimentary kayaks & canoes, nightly campfires and comfy beds. We are very appreciative of your review and that your overall experience was pleasant. We hope that you come back and visit us again and suggest booking directly through our web site where you can find BOGO deals and last minute “Hot Deals”. Liking us on facebook will also give you an opportunity to know when rates are reduced and special discounts and offers are being made available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I had stayed in the Trapp House with a bunch of my buddies and we had a great time. There were plenty of beds, all with comfortable bedding and towels. We enjoyed the grills and fire pit, as well as the private dock and extra fridge on the screened in porch. We also played a great game of volleyball on the main beach. All and all, a great place to hang out with buddies.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bradley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson-Christopher, General Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to let all the guys out there know what a fantastic spot we have here at The Anchorage at the Lake. You are absolutely right when you say that it is a great spot to hang out with buddies! Thanks to people like yourself who take the time to write a review, we are getting more and more buddies putting together “mancations” than you can imagine! Whether it be at the secluded Trapp House or our waterfront cabins, everyone has a blast. Thank-you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Found this place just searching for a mother's day weekend get away on the internet and couldn't have asked for a better place. It was quiet, peaceful and has an amazing view right on the lake. The staff was great and completly accommodating to all our needs and requests. The cabin was clean and had everything you would need for a long stay. We are deffinitly returning for a longer stay next time and the price can't be beat. Who needs tv and electronics when you can enjoy nature and family at a place like this. I will recommend this place highly to everyone.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna S, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Tyler D, Thank you for taking the time to review the Anchorage at the Lake. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the cabin, location and staff! We agree, " who needs tv and electronics when you can enjoy nature and family". The employees of the Anchorage work very hard to ensure that our guests are happy and we appreciate your input. Please come back and visit again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

first off: This place is not fancy and I see some reviews that are trashing the place, it appears to me that they may have caviar taste on a tuna fish budget. if you are looking for a place with all the bells and whistles then you should plan to spend well over 100$ a night.

The cabins are older and simple, but nice and clean. the staff was really helpful and super nice. We had a great little vacation as a family. the grounds were great and the location was very convenient!

Room Tip: some cabins are better then other so it might be helpful to call and speak with the staff to ensure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SJS2013, Manager at Anchorage at the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Jeny A,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Anchorage on the Lake. We appreciate your detailed input, as we take reviews very seriously. We are pleased that you enjoyed the clean cabins, convenient location and helpful staff. We hope to see you again next summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tilton hotels
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
The Tilton Inn
The Tilton Inn
#2 of 3 in Tilton
69 reviews
4.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage at the Lake

Address: 725 Laconia Rd, Tilton, NH 03276-5329
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Tilton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tilton
Price Range: £101 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage at the Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchorage at the Lake is located in Tilton, NH just 3.3 miles from I-93 on Lake Winnisquam. This family oriented and pet friendly resort is located on over 30 acres of land and one mile of waterfront. There are three private beaches, a huge sundeck, beach volley ball, boat slips, a floating raft, free use of kayaks and canoes, horseshoes, weekly bonfires, family entertainment & more! Each cabin features a screened in porch, charcoal grill and picnic table. Cabins are very basic, cabin style camping. There are no frills however each cabin does have a fully equipped kitchenette, bathroom and shower and the Anchorage at the Lake does provide all necessary linens & towels. The Anchorage at the Lake brings families together in its back to basics nostalgic charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchorage at the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage At The Lake Hotel Tilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing