We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return for our 6th visit!”
Review of Carlson's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlson's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Twin Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We travelled from the UK to make our 5th visit to Carlson's Lodge. Carlson's Lodge is our favourite place to stay in New Hampshire, and we would not stay anywhere else. Carol always makes us feel at home so we can relax and enjoy every minute. We are always made to feel so welcome and our favourite room is always reserved for us. The location is brilliant for hiking including Mt. Willard and Mt Avalon. When we leave, we know will return in the future ..... we can not keep away!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GJW1224304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

I highly recommend Carlson's Lodge in Twin Mountain,New Hampshire. My stay was very pleasant and would love to go back one day. The rooms are very clean and you feel right at home. Carol is very sweet and there to help if you need anything or have questions about the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metro985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Loved this place. The room was immaculate! So clean you could walk barefoot, even in the bathroom! The beds were comfy & it was quiet which made for an excellent nights sleep. The grounds are well kept, beautiful gardens. Their knowledge of the area & hiking trails were very helpful. You can see that this family puts their heart & soul into this place. We will definitely be back! Oh & yes we saw 3 moose during our stay:)

Room Tip: Our room had a kitchenette so we had a microwave, refrigerator etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

A great place and a great value, 65 dollars a night for a room with a double bed. There is not much to add to the other positive reviews. We came for a hiking trip in August and are giving serious consideration to returning for skiing at Cannon during the winter. Its really nice that there are still places that have their own character and homey feel in this age of chains and cookie cutter establishments. I think that the bed/breakfast-motel hybrid mentioned in another review is fitting. However, the breakfast, as mentioned on the website, is truly continental and doesn't start until 8, so if you have some heavy duty outdoor activities and/ore and early state, there's a place down the road that does the trick

Room Tip: The double bed rooms are quite comfortable and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kibbabibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We just came back from our anniversary weekend away in Twin Mountains. We were looking for a nice quiet getaway and were not disappointed. Carlsons Lodge is kind of like bed and breakfast meets hotel. We had all the amenities we needed and wanted yet it was so clean, friendly and homey. The family that owns it is super friendly and always accomodating to any needs . We swam in the pool every day, went downstairs and played pool and shuffleboard. Our room was big and very clean. Lots of nice places to sit outside and just enjoy the view of the mountains. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldkane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The Museum of Science has been using Carlson's Lodge for the last three years as the home base for our annual Washburn Climb. Our hikers and volunteers love the friendly feel of the Lodge and the personal care that the family show to us. It is like a reunion from the moment we arrive. After a very long day's hiking, our group likes to sit on the porch and swap tales of the Presidential Traverse and their Single and Double climbs of Mt. Washington. Carlson's Lodge is the perfect place to unwind and relax, and to plan for next year's fundraising hike too. They offer great accomodation and invaluable advice!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank WashburnClimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We wanted a spot nearby after a day of exploring the forest and chose Carlson's Lodge based on reviews. We were definitely not disappointed! The setting is so quiet and peaceful, and incredibly convenient. We were able to check in early so that we could explore without watching the clock. The lodge is quaint and homey, with a beautiful view. Our room was spacious and quiet. We slept so well we didn't hear the alarm. Breakfast there was a great way to start the day, with pictures of past guests displayed at the tables great fun. Conversation with the owners and other guests made it even more enjoyable! We appreciated the tips on where to spot moose, even though we didn't get lucky and find one. Just one more reason for a return visit. When we do venture back, we'll definitely be guests at Carlson's!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blystone96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Mountain
5.1 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
325 reviews
7.2 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
19.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
8.8 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
5.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlson's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlson's Lodge

Address: 330 Route 302, Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Twin Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Twin Mountain
Price Range: £86 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlson's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlson's Lodge is a family owned and operated Lodge located in the White Mountain's of New Hampshire. Built in 1973 by Carl Carlson it has been passed on and is run by his daughter Carol and grandson Will. The lodge is located on 50 wooded acres and is central to local attractions and outdoor adventures in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Carlson's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlson`s Hotel Twin Mountain
Carlsons Twin Mountain
Carlsons Hotel Twin Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing