We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlson's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlson's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Twin Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We really liked staying here, we stayed a week and it was very clean and comfortable. The price is extremely reasonable and the facilities are good. I was disappointed with the inability to access wifi in my room but overall the stay was good.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank macavity22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    34
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
65
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed two nights at Carlson's Lodge and found the accommodations clean and comfortable. The location is good if you want to visit Franconia Notch or other White Mountain attractions. The innkeeper is very friendly and helpful with suggestions of local sights. They have a friendly dog on the premises. Coffee, cereal, and toast are included.

Room Tip: Second floor may be a little quieter than the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeS228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We often stay here when attending programs at the Highland Center or hiking from the trails there at Crawford Notch. It is only a 10 min drive away. Rooms at Carlson's lodge are squeaky clean and comfortable with a coffee maker in room if you cannot wait for the 8:00 very light breakfast in the Carlson's dining room. A common refrigerator for guests' use is on lower level. The experience has a nice b&b feel to it. Thanks to the lovely owner for looking after everyone's needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Just spent 14th wedding anniversary there, room was super clean and comfortable. We had large end room with kitchenette which was great. The location can’t be beat close to all major attractions. I would highly recommend accommodations as a “home away from home” after a busy day of sightseeing or adventure. The lodge is set back off road with spectacular mountain views, and would also be a great place for anyone who just wanted a quite relaxing vacation in the White Mountains. The management of lodge was very welcoming and provided tons of info on area sites and restaurants, and discounted tickets to some attractions. We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnamarie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My family stayed just one night in July 2013 as we toured the White Mountains. It has a B&B feel to it rather than a hotel. It was very clean and served our purposes nicely. Affordable with a good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maui0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Carlson's lodge for 2 nights,it is really lovely from inside with very clean and comfortable rooms! However,they should really switch the matress(es) once in a while,cause it is extremely old and therefore gives you backpains. Also they should really think about offering free (!) continental breakfast,which unfortunately they don't. All in all,it was still a very good stay and we would always come back:-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath260686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonsLodge, co-owner at Carlson's Lodge, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Kathy,
We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you had told us of your concerns while you were here. The majority of our rooms with two beds have one firm bed and one pillow top softer bed; those with one differ as well. I’m so sorry that you didn’t let us know after the first night so that we could have changed your room or provided a bedboard to make your second night comfortable. Please let us know your preference when you come again. Additionally, though many people do contribute to the basket on the table, there is no charge for our breakfast of cereal, juice, toast, & coffee or tea. We hope to see you again soon and make your second stay more enjoyable than your first. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My significant other and I were looking for a place to get away from the daily grind and Carlson's Lodge was perfect! As hard-training triathletes we were looking to be right in the midst of the notches so we could do some hiking, running, and bicycling, and found the quiet area to be perfect for us! Not only are the rooms spacious yet cozy for the evenings, but the location of the Lodge put us in a prime spot for the activities we were looking to do. Most of the roads boasted wide shoulders and scenic views (ideal for cycling), and the trails for hiking and running are seemingly endless! The owners were very welcoming and easy-going, the pool was top-notch for that leisurely end-of-day dip, and there are plenty of spots to sit outside, enjoy the views and not have to worry about being overheard by neighboring groups. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone and will be returning again soon!

Room Tip: Look out your window at sunrise for phenomenal mountain views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Mountain
5.1 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
7.2 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
18.7 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
5.7 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,293 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlson's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlson's Lodge

Property: Carlson's Lodge
Address: 330 Route 302, Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Twin Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Twin Mountain
#4 Family Hotel in Twin Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlson's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlson's Lodge is a family owned and operated Lodge located in the White Mountain's of New Hampshire. Built in 1973 by Carl Carlson it has been passed on and is run by his daughter Carol and grandson Will. The lodge is located on 50 wooded acres and is central to local attractions and outdoor adventures in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlson's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlson`s Hotel Twin Mountain
Carlsons Twin Mountain
Carlsons Hotel Twin Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing