We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go up the hill”
Review of Twin Mountain KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Mountain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Twin Mountain KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Most big rig drivers will go straight for the pull-thrus in a campground but they are not always the most desirable spots. There are two rows of 30/50amp full hookup pull-thrus in this park, some longer than others, but all are side by side shared pedestal. They are parallel to Route 115 so the road noise, especially trucks using the engine brakes, will be constant. They are mostly treed with lots of shade so getting a satellite view may be difficult. The road around these campsites is hard packed gravel and so are the sites with easy in and out. These spots would be fine for an overnight or for the driver that hates backing in. But the best campsites are at the top of the hill. A narrow gravel road past the office goes up onto a forested ledge with huge boulders. There are 5 level full hook-up back-ins that face east to a clear sky and each site is separated from the others by tall trees and huge boulders. We backed our 40ft class A with 4 slides in to the shady site 81 and got DirecTV and privacy. There was a fire pit, picnic table and room for the awning and chairs. We didn’t get any road noise up there. The bathrooms and laundry were clean and well maintained. The front office staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were nicely groomed and the staff raked each site as the RV’s left. No Sprint service in this area and the park Wi-Fi works best near the office but gets slower and less reliable as you get further away. This park is worth the stop even if you can’t get a spot up the hill.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed for entire week visiting the various attractions in the area. This KOA was very clean, the owners were very helpful with any requests and you were assisted to your site which is very needed after a long drive. The kids enjoyed the pool and the activities as they actually leave the basketballs, lawn golf and horseshoes out so you can play. The bathroom and laundry facility were excellent and they drove around at night asking if you needed any firewood or assistance. Some of the larger sites are side by side so not much privacy but we were out all day visiting attractions so not really a concern. The location to attractions was ideal. Everything was within 30 minutes that we were visiting like Santas Village, Cog, Tramway, Old Man, Hobo RR, Attish, etc. There is great pizza place by the traffic light and bretton woods restaurant in a train station that was excellent just down the road. Even saw a moose sighting at night just down the road from campground. The stars on clear night were amazing. Would stay again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jtbr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We were very pleased with our stay at Twin Mt KOA! We stayed for 4 days and 3 nights in our tent at a w/e site.

We found the staff to be extremely friendly and warm. In addition, the playground and pool were great for our family!

This place would be perfect if not for the road noise from route 115. Also, the last morning we were there we had new camping "neighbors" who set their many children lose before 6am (quiet hours are clearly posted and respected - by most - as 10pm-8am). This was annoying since we had worked really hard to keep our young child quiet during this time. I did not see or hear these campers being spoken to by staff, but quite honestly, I hope they were because it was very disrespectful to all of the other campers in the area.

Overall though, this campground is great for families! We will definitely stay there again if we're in the area!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllieH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We pulled in and went into the store to check in. Here's the story - it's a beautiful campground and very clean but I just don't like it when there are a lot if signs "don't do this" kind of signs. Ways kind of makes me feel like I'm in trouble. Other than that vibe, everything was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins at Twin Mountain KOA this past Memorial Day weekend. First off, we are *extremely* grateful that they allow reservations for just a single night... That saved our day!

We arrived quite late due to traffic, but Barbara and Tyson were quite reasonable about it and stayed an extra hour to allow us to check-in late. Again, we were quite grateful. We were led to our cabin, which appeared to be brand new! The finish on everything looked fresh and the cabin itself was very clean. Included amenities: table, chairs, TV, DVD player, microwave, and fridge. We had a great time, all the while feeling quite cozy with the rain pouring down outside.

We will definitely visit Twin Mountain KOA again!

Room Tip: Definitely pay the small amount extra for a deluxe cabin. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walasavagephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My family and I stayed at the twin mountain KOA last summer. Wasn't able to post a review until now because previously they were not on trip advisor. I must say this was a really nice KOA. small and cute setting. We were never bothered, noise was never an issue and it was an extra fun experience as opposed to saying at a hotel. We stayed for a long weekend to visit Santa's Village and Story Land. Both were within a short distance and we enjoyed fires and marshmallows by night. The bathrooms were always clean, and hot showers as well. We stayed in a one room Cabin so I can't speak for anything else, but it was super cute and over all would stay again ! highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The place had no vacancy on the Thanksgiving/Colombus Day weekend but we had a reservation. Marshall showed us right to our campsite as we followed him in his golf cart. We were tenting in a no hookup site. The site was large and pretty. A big tent and a kitchen shelter tent would have easily fit in the site. The tenting sites are very close to the extremely clean bathrooms. Also great about the bathrooms: lots of hooks. There was about 5 hooks in the shower and some along the walls outside the showers which is really handy...especially in Oct when you're wearing a coat and sweaters you need to take off before you wash your face. The showers were good. I heard someone complaining about them being cold but mine was hot and it was busy...I think they just didn't know that you had to turn the dial a few times around because it looks like you're on hot when you really aren't there yet.
I found the price expensive: $56 for no hookups but they allow 6 adults on the site so it worked out to be not too bad for the 4 of us. Many places are $35 but would have charged $20 extra for 2 extra adults instead of children.
Also, the campground was quiet in the night. They must really enforce the quiet hours because it was really quiet for a crowded campground.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harmony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Twin Mountain KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Mountain KOA

Address: 372 Route 115, Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Twin Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Twin Mountain
Number of rooms: 85

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing