We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must see and taste for yourself!”

Walpole Mountain View Winery
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Walpole
Attraction details
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is a must see and taste for yourself!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Before we arrived and turn onto Barnett Hill my friends and I were engaging in conversation only to be shushed by the amazingly breath taking view. The conversation quickly turned into oohs and awes. When we pulled up the barn was gorgeously set amoung the vineyard with rustic landscaping.

Ok ok you want to know about the inside and of course the WINE! The place was so inviting and the staff felt like we've known them for a long time. We were shown the list of wines from dry to sweet with great detail the menu was incredible. We chose our first 6 samples then were shown to a cute room with a TV showing the the entire process of how they make this special wine. The show was about 10mins but seemed like a small PBS documentary where we wanted to know more. After we went to the room where the tasting occured. It was so beautiful and felt like being at a lake house with the view being so perfect. The wine was so delicious my friends and I did 12 samples and the price was right!! All four of us ended up buying our favorite wines. There is also an assortment of local munchies available to purchase however the owners don't mind if you want to bring your own things to eat. The women behind the wine making graced us with her presence and we felt so welcomed!! This is a great place to check out, they also are available for parties/bachelorette or whatever the occasion. This is a must see and taste for yourself!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Lisa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langdon, NH
1 review
“A wonderful find for wine lovers”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a Sunday afternoon at Walpole Mountain View Winery with two other couples. Having grown up near Napa Valley we've done lots of wine tastings. We really enjoyed this experience. There is a minimal charge, but it includes a beautiful wine glass, either stemmed or stemless and six samples. You can also purchase from a nice selection of cheese and crackers. The staff is very welcoming and help you chose which wines you want to taste. After making your selections you move into a room to see a short video about the winery. It's a very good video. Then you move into the tasting room. It's a fantastic room with tables and stools and a wonderful view that you won't believe. You're free to take your time and enjoy the experience. It was such a treat to be welcomed and given the chance to talk and ask questions. The variety of grapes is different than in Napa Valley, but they are wonderful in their own right and well worth checking out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3Bears2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine with a view!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited Walpole Mountain View Winery on a perfect August afternoon. The location itself is worth the drive with expansive views of the Connecticut River Valley and the immaculately kept vineyard. The staff greets you right off and assists you in selecting the wines to taste. They have a short video about the vineyard and the wine making process followed by the tasting in a room over looking the vineyard. Their cold weather grapes don't produce the Chardonnays and Cabs we are used to but make for some delicious wines. A lot of effort and attention to detail have been put into every aspect of this Walpole vineyard. It is well worth a visit and tasting. Be sure to check ou the local offerings in the gift shop on the way out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueRick804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, New Hampshire
1 review
“Beautiful view!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My first time ever doing a testing and I enjoyed it very much. The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable. It is a very relaxing atmosphere and a fun experience. I can't wait to go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alstead, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You must see it to believe it!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The Walople Mountain View Winery is a true New Hampshire treasure and a great outing for family and friends. Located on a picturesque hill overlooking the Connecticut River Valley towns of Walople NH and Westmister VT, the vineyard offers breathtaking views and a relaxing, fun experience. Virginia and her friendly staff are welcoming, knowledgeable and go out of their way to make every visit special. The vineyard is immaculately tended and quite impressive to see in this part of the country and world. The cold weather grapes grown here produce a unique flavored wine and offers something for everyone's palate. We have had the pleasure of enjoying many tastings, including a private party with family and friends and each time is as wonderful as the last. We participated in the harvest and stomp last fall. It was an absolute blast, we will do it again for sure. We highly recommend the winery, add it to your list of places to see and enjoy....Cheers!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeweleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walpole Mountain View Winery also viewed

 

Been to Walpole Mountain View Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing