We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Five Stars' is not enough!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walpole
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Valley Farms
Ranked #1 of 4 Walpole B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We absolutely love the Inn at Valley Farms. It is, in a word, beautiful. Nestled among bucolic farms in a storybook-charming countryside, it's just a few minutes from the center of charming Walpole (with great restaurants, shops & galleries. The town is also home to Ken Burns - we spent a lot of time wandering around the town green, wondering which antique colonial house was his.). The rooms are cozy and well decorated, with views of the farm.
But the real jewel of our stay was the innkeeper, Jackie. She's friendly, helpful, and probably a better cook than Martha Stewart. Eating our delicious three course breakfasts in the dining room, laughing with Jackie and the other guests, we felt like we were with old friends.
Make sure to make time to explore the farm, especially the trail leading through the woods. (If you stay in winter, borrow some sleds and take your kids sledding on the hills behind the barn)
We couldn't have been happier during our time at the Inn - this is a place we will treasure & return to for years to come.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rose Room, which was spacious enough to fit easily a second roll-in bed for our dau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Campbell33804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

We loved this place! It's perfect. We stayed in The Bellows Cottage which was warm and comfortable. I love to cook so I appreciated the well appointed kitchen & Burdicks groceries in nearby Walpole. The children loved the animals. Jacqui is a delight & her breakfast deliveries are one of the special features of this place. If you want to relax & enjoy the country, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennedyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We stayed at the inn on the recommendation of my sister, who lives in Walpole. We were there for Thanksgiving. My sister had a full house and couldn't fit in my wife and two kids. The inn is beautiful. It's a real New Hampshire farm, which was quite a treat for my two Los Angeles kids.
When we checked in my son whispered that it was the nicest house he had ever been in. My son is on a gluten free diet and for our arrival Jacquie had made a platter of gluten free cookies that were delicious. She also had taken the time to prepare gluten free meals for him for the duration of our stay. Beautiful countryside, we got a nice snow, Jacquie runs a first class inn with charm and grace. The other guests there were nice too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willheim1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Inn at Valley Farms does everything right. Fabulous breakfasts, most ingredients come from the farm. Jackie, the owner, is extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions as well as happenings in the area. Rooms were decorated with a lot of thought and each one had it's own charm.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I spent two nights in early October at Inn at Valley Farms. It's a lovely place, full of history and character. The breakfasts are among the best I've ever had; the common spaces are huge and comfy. A very welcoming place run beautifully by the innkeeper. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel__Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the Sunnyside farmhouse with our 2 kids ages 2 and 5 and the grandparents, and had a great time! We really enjoyed being close up with the animals (I especially loved waking up to see the cows grazing just outside our window, and our kids especially loved the pigs). I liked teaching them where our food comes from and we all learned more about sustainable farming. As a family run inn and farm, we felt very welcomed. Thank you, Jackie and Caitlin! The farmhouse was clean and it was nice to cook most of our meals in the kitchen. We bought chickens and beef raised there on the farm to cook and enjoy! A specialty local market and a bigger supermarket are close by. Our kids also really liked the little playground. The view from the farmhouse of the hills dotted with color and the pastures was beautiful. Alyson's apples being right next door was fantastic. We did a lot of apple picking.
Location wise, I was so pleased. Being from the west coast, I had no idea what to expect, but Walpole is such a cute, quintessential New England town and the Monadnock region is just ideal for viewing fall foliage. Though we were told it wasn't a great year for colors, it was still so beautiful. We didn't have to travel very far to see covered bridges, visit an organic dairy farm or go hiking. You can go on a beautiful hike right on the farm's property, in fact! In addition, you have easy access to VT as Walpole lies right along the Connecticut river. If we had more time and the hurricaine hadn't taken out some of the roads, we definitely would've spent more time in VT as well.
Bottom line, I highly recommend Inn at Valley Farms if you want to relax, enjoy nature and organic farming and explore the surrounding areas.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
Thank j_lee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I had decided we would like to try a working farm vacation after reading an article in a magazine. We found Inn at Valley Farms on the internet, it appeared to be what we were looking for and we were not disappointed. Jackie, the innkeeper made our stay a wonderful time with her delicious breakfast and beautiful,clean rooms. Since we wanted the farm experience, we collected eggs from the chickens on her farm and helped move the cows from one pasture to the other.She also told us where we could go to see a dairy operation which we ended up milking some of the cows. The area has plenty to do. Go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inn at Valley Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Valley Farms

Address: 633 Wentworth Rd, Walpole, NH 03608-4829 (Formerly Inn at Valley Farms Bed and Breakfast and Cottages)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Walpole
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Walpole
Price Range: £131 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Valley Farms 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience New England on our picture-perfect 105-acre organically managed farm. Be pampered in our elegant 1774 Colonial home with decadent three course candlelight farm-to-table breakfasts using our own organic farm fresh eggs and produce. Or stay in one of our self-sufficient three bedroom cottages or Sunnyside Farmhouse perfect for families, small groups or extended stays. Visit the farm animals, collect fresh eggs from the hen house and learn where real food comes from. A farmstay is a vacation you will not soon forget - memories to last a lifetime. Fine dining, hiking, farmers' markets, winery, cheese makers all nearby. Now offering our picturesque farm for intimate weddings and special events. Mid week and extended stay discounts available. Named one of 10 Top Historic Inns in New England by Yankee Magazine, Named NH Farm of Distinction, "Editor's Pick" - Yankee Magazine's "Best of New England" 2010, 2014, 2015. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing