We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. A bit dated!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snowy Owl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Snowy Owl Inn
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great location. A bit dated!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the Snowy Owl Inn for New Year's Eve ski weekend. There are no "ski-in, ski-out" accomodations at Waterville Valley. This location was excellent. There is a cute little shopping complex right next door - and a nice indoor ice skating rink. The Inn was lit-up with white lights on the outside...all wood...very very cozy inside. The lobby has a big stone fireplace and comfy couches. They put out coffee, juice and muffins each am til 9:00am...be forewarned; if you show up at 9:01, there won't even be a crumb left. They do offer a breakfast downstairs set-up buffet style. It was $12.95 for adults and $9,95 for children. It was a sad buffet, not much variety or choice. I will say though, everything was homemade...fresh pancakes, french toast, home baked muffins. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. The $9.95 for kids was a bit steep - that probably should be $9.95 for adults and $6.95 for kids. There is no place else around to have a decent breakfast. The rooms are in need of some updating. There are little lobbies set up throughout...so if you were travelling with another family or couple, you can hang out and sit by one of the many fireplaces and have a glass of wine, while the kids play at the table. And then everyone retires to their own room. Overall, it's a good value and great location. One thing I did not like was the fact they charge $1.25 for a k-cup. The price isn't much but really...I witnessed a couple from Europe who did not speak English very well ask the front desk for a cup of coffee. The desk clerk told them they needed to buy a k-cup. Really? It's coffee. How hard would it be to provide a carafe for travelers who are coming to stay? Some Inns provide cookies in addition to free coffee as a welcome. Coffee would be nice...especially since there are no coffee makers in the rooms either. The pool is gorgeous!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Americangirl624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    45
    49
    47
    44
See reviews for
97
42
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
342 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Snowy Owl Inn is located in the heart of Waterville Valley, close to a few shops and restaurants and about a mile from the slopes.
We stayed there in the off, off season, early November, so the hotel was about 98% empty. We arrived late, about 7:45pm, and the lobby was empty of personnel and mostly dark. I called out, but no one answered. Then I saw a key with my name on the counter, with directions to our room.
The room and bath are early 1980's, with fiberglass shower/bath and Formica counters. The room was blah, but the window overlooked a brook.
The complimentary continental breakfast consisted of juice, dry cinnamon doughnuts and muffins, and coffee. They say that in season, they provide a larger offering.
Even in the off season, this inn is no bargain, but if you want to stay in Waterville Valley, there are very few choices. Overall, this is a mediocre hotel.
Oh, the lobby is impressive. There is a large gas fireplace witha stone chimney that rises three stories to the ceiling.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OcalaTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, NH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We arrived on Friday afternoon for the NH Highland games. These were very last
Minute reservations and we were lucky to find a room. The suite we stayed in was roomy, relatively clean and well stocked with dishes, utensils, and cookware for someone staying with a group or family. There is a nice gas fireplace in thea living roomin as well. It definitely needs some updating. The bathroom set up is strange....one room has a sink and toilet, this room goes into a larger room with a shower (and no fan so lots of mold), then this shower room is attached to another nicer room with a toilet and a vanity. Not great for two couple staying in the suite! The furniture is old and well used. Carpeting is old and needs replacing. It is not a five star hotel but did serve as a great place to land after a long day in the sun! There is a pool and other amenities but we did not get to try them. It was very quiet as well. Would be great for a large family....but if you are looking for more modern luxirious accommodations keep looking!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We rented a condo unit during late August.....the unit was very clean and tidy...but was somewhat "dated". The bathrooms could use some renovations and there were some issues with the lighting. It was very difficult to gain entry through the door....the lock was unusually hard to open :(

The shops and activity area was quite nice....plenty of outdoor spots to sit and read or take in the sights....peddle boats, biking, etc. A nice little area to have a getaway!

Room Tip: Fireside room accomodated our blended family of 8 very easily...and we were not directly connected t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaklw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates IL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

The advertising director of this lodge needs to go. We used to go here every year when they ran specials for 50-60$ a night toward the end of the ski season. But they stopped doing it and therefore we don't go here anymore. The lower level had pit fireplaces that you could let your legs thaw and relax after a day on the mountain. The pool is clean and the rooms all standard. The ads would appear in newspapers and online.. but they simply don't make the effort anymore.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

I agree with the other reviewers who mentioned the poor condition of the hotel. The furniture was old and faded; there were cracks in the sink and gouges in the tub. Nevertheless everything was functional and problems were mostly cosmetic. We initially stayed in room 315 but were moved to 314 when water started dripping from the ceiling after a large rainstorm.

One positive aspect of the hotel is the resort amenities available. We were given resort passes entitling us to free daily bike rentals, lift tickets, ice skating, canoe rentals, etc. The free activities available compensated for the poor cosmetic condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaseyGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I will start with the full disclosure that I was disappointed upon arrival when I realized that when the website said StoryLand and Santa's Village were "Local Area Attractions"- they meant within 2 hours, and I live about 2 hours away (so that didn't make for much of a time savings in traveling to attractions). But I was willing to make the best of it...

The whole hotel feels dated- VERY old/cig. burned carpeting in the lobbies, clunky (literally) elevator, rooms with very old pull-out couches and wetbars which aren't even attached to the wall properly anymore. But there is a little (and I mean LITTLE) fridge, a whirlpool tub and standup shower, and a nice pool. The same guy has been at the front desk at any hour I've gone by, and is not a very happy camper (I suspect over worked and under paid). And the "limited" continental breakfast is just that- soso coffee, oj, cranberry juice, prewrapped donuts and a few different kinds of very dense muffins. Oh, and k-cups are $1.50 a cup, so bring a stash from home.

The Waterville Valley "Village" (which I find very contrived but convenient as there is NOTHING else around) is just up the street- where you can rent bikes/peddle boats/iceskate/eat icecream... We rented two bikes, one with a baby trailer, and went on a nice ride down the quiet streets and down some wooded paths. Dinner in the village was okay- nothing to write home about, but the specials are good prices at both the fancier restaurant and the pub.

I used groupons for a few nights of our stay, making it a much better deal. I think I'd be disappointed in the accomodations had I paid full price for 4 nights. That said, it's quiet, the scenery is pretty, and it's close to lots of hiking. Though I'd probably not stay here again, especially at full price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
12.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 20 in Lincoln
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
9.7 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Owl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Owl Inn

Property: Snowy Owl Inn
Address: 41 Village Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snowy Owl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowy Owl Inn is considered one of New England's finest country inns. Set in the heart of Waterville Valley and the White Mountain National Forest, our all-season 82 room inn offers a relaxing vacation, a great family getaway. It's also the perfect place for business meetings, seminars, conferences, reunions, weddings and celebrations. In the winter enjoy alpine and cross country skiing along with snowshoeing, tubing and even sleigh rides! In the summer we are just as busy with paddleboats, beach on Corcorans Pond, hiking, golf, tennis and even a chairlift ride up Snow's Mountain. Be as busy as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Snowy Owl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Owl Hotel Waterville Valley
Snowy Owl Inn Waterville Valley, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing