We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hockey and the Snowy Owl” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snowy Owl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Snowy Owl Inn
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hockey and the Snowy Owl”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just to be clear if you are a hockey parent you will understand. The snowy owl tries to accommodate for hockey tournaments. However there are the few individuals who don't get it.

Games go late and early parents are also there to relax. Snowy will shut you down at 10pm. We brought over $21000 in for one weekend and the parents were treated like crap. I am talking 10pm on a Fri/Sat night. Really!?!?!? This is going to cost them as we will not be brining any more teams to Waterville valley for hockey tournaments and good luck to that economy.

I guess money is not important to these people.

The rooms were dirty. Smelled and a nice 60s 70s decor. Good luck in this dump. 0 out of 5

long and the short of it find someplace else to stay. If you are thinking of coming here for a hockey tournament save your $$$ or go to lake placid.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    45
    49
    47
    44
See reviews for
97
42
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I was not looking forward to the long travel with feelings of trepidation after reading all the bad reviews this hotel has received.
When we arrived the staff were waiting on the door to great us, they took us into a room for a welcome meeting where they welcomed us warmly and explained a few rules of the hotel. One of them being the 10 o'clock curfew for the children to me that's great because after a long day skiing the last thing I needed was people runing around the hotel slamming doors and shouting all night.
The first problem I encountered was the 3 boys in the group had to share a room with only two beds there was no way that was going to happen so I spoke to the manager who could not apologise enough and immediately gave them a different room with enough beds for them all.
Then they invited all into the dinning area where they provided a very welcome meal of pizza and home baked chocolate chip cookies.
 They showed the teachers where the tea and coffee were and explained it will be available to us 24 hours.(no charge for cups)
I don't take dairy so ask if they had soya milk they did not that night but was only too happy to get it in by the following morning.
Day two still surviving after a very welcome uninterrupted sleep with no sign of any deputy dogs. 
Then came shower time our shower is not very good at all we could not get the temperer right but others said there's were fine, but we had a huge bath so we just used that so no problem there.
After a very good  breakfast we were taken up to the ski resort by shuttle bus the staff explained we could put all our own shoes in black bags and the staff of the hotel would pick them up and bring them back to the hotel for us never have a hotel offered that service before.  When we got back the staff were there on the door to welcome us back and ask about our day and how we enjoyed the day. The shoes had beenPut into our area for us to collect.
Dinner was adequate but nothing to write home about. When your catering for five schools 244 children it's not easy . 
We had a fun evening of karaoke and games provided by hotel and another good night uninterrupted sleep. This went on for the rest of our stay. I really don't understand how anyone could write such bad reviews about a lovely hotel who was only out to make your stat as comfortable as possible nothing was too much trouble the hotel was set in a picturesque village was both warm and comfortable and I would defiantly stay there again.
if you want your hotel to provide you with a good nights sleep with a lovely breakfast  this is defiantly the place for you. On the other hand if your looking for a hotel that allows you to a mock at all hours of the night smash the place up and disturb all the other guests I
recommend you go to Ibiza .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meemo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is our 2nd annual ski tour from the UK to Waterville Valley staying at the Snowy Owl inn. I've organised many school skiing trips to Europe and the Snowy Owl far exceeds the standards of comparable hotels in France, Austria and Italy.
The rooms on both visits were clean and warm. The maids made the beds, vacuumed daily and provided clean towels. This isn't always easy with a room full of teenage boys and girls over spilling luggage!
The hotel staff were very friendly and would go out of their way to help us. The Snowy Owl is located next to the town square where there are a range of small shops, a pizza restaurant and an ice rink. Whilst in resort we never once felt unsafe on threatened, so can't understand where some of the previous reviews have come from?
At the end of both visits I've asked pupils their opinion on the hotel and where they would like to go next year. The overwhelming answer is that the experience of Waterville Valley and the Snowy Owl is fantastic and they want to visit again next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We are in the middle of our stay with a school group. I stay in hotels with school groups regularly and I have never been looked after so well. Everything is so well organised. As for armed guards, I've not seen them....but then the groups that are here don't need policeing...maybe complainants need to think about their behaviour.
Rooms are well furnished, warm and comfortable. I have stayed in much more expensive ski hotels that have greater evidence of wear and tear.
Management and staff are excellent hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boxford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The good part is ....a great location...but that is where it ends. It really could be a wonderful place. The layout is really family friendly. Could be is the key word. The "Inn" is very old and warn. Carpets are torn, windows do not keep out the cold the linens are old and worn. There are not any updated televisions. There are many great common areas but with out any televisons and children are not allowed to play what so ever in the common areas without getting spoke to . The majority of the staff is unprofessional, unfriendly and actually very sloppy . The continental breakfast consist of individually wrapped stale muffins and plain donuts. The coffee out of the Kuerig machine is good but those K-cups will cost you $1.50 each. The actual breakfast you could buy is $12.95 and definetly not worth it. They have two deputy dog type police that walk the hallways and are armed. So much for the New England charm. I am in shock over the fact that they are armed. I would think long and hard before you take the chance of staying there. It is only a matter of time until one of these "deputy dogs" hurts someone.

Room Tip: Don't choose one............
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterville Valley hotels

, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

The comment below is true. There are officers with weapons at 3 locations...atleast in WV. However the argument below is flawed. If there is a circumstance where a child is anywhere near the weapon, maybe that's why they need it. Shouldn't you monitor your child? Also, there are several bars in the area; this means intoxicated people around your children that are aimlessly wondering the open halls of a hotel ( after quiet hours might I add). The guards are there to protect the patrons and make sure the patrons are also abiding by the contract they signed. Don't be mad because you got caught breaking the rules of the resort and retaliate against those who are there to protect you to begin with.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhmemslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

The horrible reviews are all true. Don't stay here. I can deal with the dirty rooms. I can deal with ridiculous rules. I can deal with bad food. I can't tolerate two deputy dogs patrolling the halls, literally, with guns in holsters like they are walking the beat in a crime ridden neighborhood. What exactly are the guns for??? Under what circumstance will you be discharging this firearm in a family inn?? These dipsy doodles are either going to hurt someone someday or there is going to be a very unfortunate accident if some young child gets their hands on it. These were neither fit nor competent men. They should not under any circumstance be carrying guns through the hallways. But perhaps, I learned, the reason is because all the keys open all the rooms!!! Yup. You can put your room key into any room door and viola. Open. I've never written an online review for a hotel before but this place was like the twilight zone.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Frequentflyer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
9.7 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
12.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 20 in Lincoln
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Owl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Owl Inn

Property: Snowy Owl Inn
Address: 41 Village Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snowy Owl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowy Owl Inn is considered one of New England's finest country inns. Set in the heart of Waterville Valley and the White Mountain National Forest, our all-season 82 room inn offers a relaxing vacation, a great family getaway. It's also the perfect place for business meetings, seminars, conferences, reunions, weddings and celebrations. In the winter enjoy alpine and cross country skiing along with snowshoeing, tubing and even sleigh rides! In the summer we are just as busy with paddleboats, beach on Corcorans Pond, hiking, golf, tennis and even a chairlift ride up Snow's Mountain. Be as busy as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Snowy Owl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Owl Hotel Waterville Valley
Snowy Owl Inn Waterville Valley, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing