We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again...felt a bit like prison.”
Review of Snowy Owl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snowy Owl Inn
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Never again...felt a bit like prison.”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We visited the Snowy Owl Inn last weekend as part of a group. The group leader had arranged our stay, and organized a Saturday night dinner. The first downfall was the fact that the Inn did not seem heated...at ALL!!!! We walked in out of the freezing cold temps and looked forward to a warm blast of air. Instead, we spent the entire weekend in our coats while in the hotesl. It was FREEZING!!!!!

I will say that our room setup was perfect for our family...however the room had not been updated in a very long time, and the mattresses were horrible!!!

Friday night, while we are all visiting with each other in a common area, and we were told at 10pm that all common areas were now closed and that there was nowhere for our group to continue to gather. What? This was a reunion of families, and we had nowhere to all hang out after 10pm?!?!

Our Saturday night dinner was done in a dining area downstairs. The food was fine. That's about all I can say. 2 hours after our dinner began, the fireplace was turned off, the lights began to shut off and we were told that our time was up and we needed to leave. One staff member indicated that another party was coming in, however this was not the case. The room remained dark for the rest of the night.

There are fireplaces throughout the Inn. Apparently most of them did not work. They remained dark and cold throughout our stay.

We were never made to feel truly welcome at the resort. The staff was unfriendly and never smiled. There was a security guard that walked around staring and glaring at people...it was creepy!

Having stayed at the Snowy Owl when I was a child, I had been looking forward to returning. Now, unfortunately, I will not return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 5CCFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    45
    50
    47
    46
See reviews for
98
43
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is easily one of the most comfortable hotels I have ever stayed in. My wife and I have stayed here 5-6 times (including our honeymoon) and each time has been pretty much the same.

Pros:
- The price is fantastic. I'm sure it's the cheapest in town.
- The rooms themselves are nothing spectacular, but are nice and have what you need.
- The actual hotel itself is what really has the character. The nooks and crannies on every floor offer some cozy spots to relax after a long day hiking or skiing. It really has a unique, comfortable feel.
- In all the times we've been here, we've seen maybe 8 people total at the pool. You don't need a hot tub room here because you can just sit in the hot tub downstairs pretty much anytime you want.
- The employees seem perfectly fine. They are not overly friendly but have responded to us when we had an issue. That's really all I ask for.
- Proximity to town is perfect. Granted, Waterville Valley isn't huge so anyplace is probably close enough, but Snowy Owl Inn is the closest (helpful for those subzero New Hampshire days!).

Cons:
- My only real complaint is it can get noisy. If there are children running around, you will hear every step. We generally stay at off times and so we're usually the only ones there. You might want to check ahead to see if there will be a group of kids.

Overall this place was quite a find for us 6 years ago. We have never had a bad visit and plan on going many more times!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elfmanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at The Snowy Owl for a family holiday getaway and everyone had just what they needed. Room options are varied so those with pets, those who needed a kitchen, those who needed adjoining rooms and those who needed something more private all got just what they wanted. The staff is friendly and very helpful and I was impressed that they were so in tip of things for a busy holiday weekend.
This is a great place to stay to enjoy the variety of attractions and skiing in the valley!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammagirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Snowy Owl is great! Everyone was friendly and accommodating. Keep in mind that it is an Inn in the mountains...not a major hotel chain. Think homey and well loved not corporate and shiny. Some of the rooms have a small kitchen so you can cook if you want, or you can have a nice breakfast in the dining room(not open everyday.) Free coffee, orange juice and donuts in the morning. Walking distance to virtually everything in the town. We went over Christmas and there were a number free or reasonably priced things for the kids to do, and fireworks over the pond at 7:30 on New Year's Eve. it was snowing and beautiful. Much better than a condo in my opinion because someone will make the beds, vacuum and bring you clean towels everyday. :-) The kids loved the pool and a little time in the sauna before bed was heavenly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I was worried about the reviews from the past year, but I think the managers must have taken them to heart. I did go expecting the worst, but was very satisfied in the end. The building is older and rustic, but there's a lot of common space throughout the Inn. We had the loft room. It was clean, warm, and smelled good---that's always a critical factor for me. The king bed was nice and soft. The pull out sofabed was uneven and only tolerable to kids, but they slept OK. The pool area is large and lovely. I wish they would skip the horrible, stale donuts and muffins for "continental breakfast", which it is not. I also think there should be free tea and coffee anytime for cold travelers. There is one microwave in the lobby. You can't beat the location to Waterville town center, takes a minute to walk there. Shuttle bus took a while to get you to the downhill slopes, because there are a lot of pick ups. But it's nice to have the service just the same.

Room Tip: The loft room is good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michnich02143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I've always wanted the experience of cutting down our own Christmas tree, so we finally got the
chance with the Snowy Owl Christmas Tree Weekend package. It was very reasonably priced
and the surrounding amenities (convenient store, shops, sports pub, ice sculpture display, etc. were all within walking distance) Our kids had a fun time in the pool and hot-tub ( which wasn't really hot, though), but we seemed to have picked the coldest weekend of the year to go and I guess everything was struggling to stay warm! Our room was small and could definitely use an update, but we expected that so it wasn't really a problem....as long as it was clean! The continental breakfast was fine but longer hours would've been nicer..(we were on vacation after all and who wants to get up early?) Our kids like to bring their own "special blankets" with them everywhere we go, and boy were we glad as the room couldn't get warm enough and we needed them at night to sleep! Getting the tree was fun, but it was 3* F outside, so we cut our time a little short picking it out (did I mention it was FREEZING?) The best part was that it finally SNOWED and that seemed to get everyone involved into the Christmas spirit! All in all it was a fun trip! I would only go back again if the price was right and maybe upgrade to a better room!

Room Tip: Our room was close to the pool area which made it easier for the kids to "scuttle down" th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

this is our fourth year we traveled here for the Christmas package. Our room was very clean. people were friendly and everything about the place is very family friendly. the restaurant has limited hours but that is the only slightly negative thing about this place. we are looking forward to coming back here again next year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
248 reviews
9.6 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
12.4 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Silver Fox Inn
Best Western Silver Fox Inn
#1 of 2 in Waterville Valley
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Owl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Owl Inn

Property: Snowy Owl Inn
Address: 41 Village Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snowy Owl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowy Owl Inn is considered one of New England's finest country inns. Set in the heart of Waterville Valley and the White Mountain National Forest, our all-season 82 room inn offers a relaxing vacation, a great family getaway. It's also the perfect place for business meetings, seminars, conferences, reunions, weddings and celebrations. In the winter enjoy alpine and cross country skiing along with snowshoeing, tubing and even sleigh rides! In the summer we are just as busy with paddleboats, beach on Corcorans Pond, hiking, golf, tennis and even a chairlift ride up Snow's Mountain. Be as busy as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Snowy Owl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Owl Hotel Waterville Valley
Snowy Owl Inn Waterville Valley, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing