We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snowy Owl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snowy Owl Inn
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I like the spacious room, nice lobby and fireplace. Great wood beams and high ceilings. Breakfast in am is only coffee, juice, donuts, and muffins that are not great. Good breakfast downstairs onsite that is of good quality and saves time to get out on slopes in morning. You have to pay for this extra - off menu. Indoor pool is always too cold to swim in. I love how the inn is close to town center, there is a shuttle to the slopes, the cross country ski center, curious george center, skating, and restaurants are all right there. We park the car on Friday night and don't use it again till we leave on Sunday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    45
    49
    47
    44
See reviews for
97
42
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We first came to Waterville Valley in the mid-1980s. We stayed at the Valley Inn and The Snowy Owl. I can say that almost all of this hotel has not been renovated, not remodeled, or worn items replaced in all that time. The carpet is original. What was once more of a lively place with a funky Euro alpine ski lodge feel has become to look and smell like someone's abandoned basement rec room. It's sad. This place has a lot of potential but needs and infusion of cash to maintain what once was.

As for security, it has sadly been necessary in the Valley. We have had many incidents of hockey groups getting rowdy and not allowing us to sleep. It has happened enough that the hotels have had to take rather severe measures, including the security staff and stiff rules in order to maintain peace.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
Thank xcskifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterville Valley hotels

Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

This is not a 5 star hotel - but is fine for what it is - a hotel room. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the Town Square and hockey rink which was perfect for what I needed. I don't ski but there is a bus which takes u to the ski area. I Agee with other viewers that the hotel is freezing - even the people working the front desk wore their heavy winter coats. The room was clean but not sparkling and the beds in the lift were never made - I guess the cleaner does not go upstairs?? The shower was tiny - something from the early 80's - I kept feeling like I was going to tip over - and the shower curtain was flimsy. It took a very long time for the heat in the room to come on. The indoor pool was FREEZING

So all in all I spent minimal time in the room bc of other activities. If I think of this for what it is which is a room then it was fine. I would stay here again bc the price was right. BUT trying to get in touch with the hotel was a PITA. If you call and the one person working cannot answer the phone then you have to leave a message and if you miss their call back you need to repeat the cycle. Oh yes, don't drink the wine at the afternoon wine and cheese party.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shesfromboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

After reading the reviews on here we were apprehensive about going as there were 31 of us but we couldn't of asked for more! The food was incredible, people were lovely and there was a 'ski chalet' atmosphere. The staff make you feel welcome and were polite even though we were all 17/18. Would recommend to large groups, but would be ideal to couples who want to get away especially those interested in skiing and other winter sports. It is very close to the beautiful town which has more to do than expected. Cannot recommend it enough! Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 545CCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Snow Owl for one night for a brief ski get away. Place is outdated, breakfast included is coffee and donoughts. All still would have been tolerable if not for a heating unit which sounded like a jet airplane taking off...
Never again until renovated.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The room was nice, the Jacuzzi tub very soothing after a hard day of skiing and the staff were friendly. The mattress sagged a tad in the center and I wish that their breakfast cafe had been open for business during the week as opposed to just on weekends.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We visited the Snowy Owl Inn last weekend as part of a group. The group leader had arranged our stay, and organized a Saturday night dinner. The first downfall was the fact that the Inn did not seem heated...at ALL!!!! We walked in out of the freezing cold temps and looked forward to a warm blast of air. Instead, we spent the entire weekend in our coats while in the hotesl. It was FREEZING!!!!!

I will say that our room setup was perfect for our family...however the room had not been updated in a very long time, and the mattresses were horrible!!!

Friday night, while we are all visiting with each other in a common area, and we were told at 10pm that all common areas were now closed and that there was nowhere for our group to continue to gather. What? This was a reunion of families, and we had nowhere to all hang out after 10pm?!?!

Our Saturday night dinner was done in a dining area downstairs. The food was fine. That's about all I can say. 2 hours after our dinner began, the fireplace was turned off, the lights began to shut off and we were told that our time was up and we needed to leave. One staff member indicated that another party was coming in, however this was not the case. The room remained dark for the rest of the night.

There are fireplaces throughout the Inn. Apparently most of them did not work. They remained dark and cold throughout our stay.

We were never made to feel truly welcome at the resort. The staff was unfriendly and never smiled. There was a security guard that walked around staring and glaring at people...it was creepy!

Having stayed at the Snowy Owl when I was a child, I had been looking forward to returning. Now, unfortunately, I will not return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 5CCFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterville Valley
0.2 mi away
The Valley Inn
The Valley Inn
#4 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Black Bear Lodge
Black Bear Lodge
#2 of 5 in Waterville Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
9.7 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
12.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 20 in Lincoln
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowy Owl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowy Owl Inn

Property: Snowy Owl Inn
Address: 41 Village Road, Waterville Valley, NH 03215
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Waterville Valley
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Waterville Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snowy Owl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snowy Owl Inn is considered one of New England's finest country inns. Set in the heart of Waterville Valley and the White Mountain National Forest, our all-season 82 room inn offers a relaxing vacation, a great family getaway. It's also the perfect place for business meetings, seminars, conferences, reunions, weddings and celebrations. In the winter enjoy alpine and cross country skiing along with snowshoeing, tubing and even sleigh rides! In the summer we are just as busy with paddleboats, beach on Corcorans Pond, hiking, golf, tennis and even a chairlift ride up Snow's Mountain. Be as busy as you want to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Snowy Owl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Owl Hotel Waterville Valley
Snowy Owl Inn Waterville Valley, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing