We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bike week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeview House & Cottages
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Diane, the owner was very helpful and accomodating
Our stay was during bike week. The cottage (14) was very adequate for our needs. Done in knotty pine, it is a summer cabin, that was built many years ago. This unit has a Microwave, cofee maker, and small beer fridge. The shower has a wood slat floor, washroom is very small. Overall the cabin served our needs well, dont be expecting a luxurious summer resort, the dated decor gives a cabin feel.The cabins are real country cabins, and work well for the price and fabulous location.
Would love to see some more hooks to hang up clothes.

Room Tip: Cottage 14 is small, maximum stay would be 2 people, very soft bed. Great view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we truly appreciate it. It was a pleasure to meet and host you and we hope to see you again. As you pointed out, the cottages were built in the 50's and bathrooms are small but we can definitely add more hooks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

We have stayed at Lakeview SO many times in the past 20years in many cottages and met many friends. Never had a bad time and am going back in August with grand kids. Great place to relax and enjoy low key time.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank 1Queenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

We're so happy that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to your upcoming stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We decided on a last minute trip to Lake Winnipausakee. We really wanted to stay in Meredith but everything nice was booked. This was one of the places that had last minute availability (now I know why). We stayed in Cottage 11 which overlooks the pool area and does have a nice view of the lake. Our cottage was extremely dated and you almost didn't even want to sit on the furniture much less get into the bed at night. It had the absolute bare minimums. The bathroom was ridicously small, the sink was actually a half sink and you couldn't even wash up without water spalshing all over the place. The shower had a wooden bottom to it, I don't even want to imagine how unclean that must be... All you got were a few bars of cheap soap, no shampoo, conditioner, lotion. On the website it said that you must bring your own towels... are you kidding me?? The hot water never got hot, just warm. Luckily we were only staying for one night. Weirs Beach is certainly not a classy place, we went into Laconia for dinner. Do yourself a favor and stay someplace else, look into Meredith. I would not recommend the Cozy Inn and never will return.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamiJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CozyInnWeirsBeach_NH, Owner at Lakeview House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2011

Guilty as charged – no, Weirs Beach is not Meredith and the Cozy Inn Lakeview House and Cottages is not the Inns at Mill Falls. We’re always disappointed when visitors are unhappy here as your satisfaction is of great importance to us. Comparisons should be fairly made, however and we fail to see the fairness in these comparisons.

A stay in Meredith is a stay at The Inns at Mill Falls which is a complex of new and relatively new luxury resort facilities spread throughout the waterfront area of town. These facilities include multiple restaurants, lounges, spas and banquet facilities. It’s a very nice place to stay with a decidedly upscale image and feel and you are going to pay for it, as you should. Their rates for a single room range from $259 to $329 with specialty rooms and suites from $329 to $459 (from their website) plus tax.

A stay in Weirs Beach is a stay in one of a half dozen or so family owned lodging establishments including the Cozy Inn. Weirs Beach is the affordable family fun center of the region with a beach, boardwalk, arcades, pizza stands, rental boats and so forth. We are a decidedly unpretentious laid back casual kid friendly little beach community.

Weirs Beach is also an historic area proudly home to the NH Veterans Association, the oldest veterans group in the country. The Cozy Inn and the Lakeview house date from 1880 and 1869 respectively, built by those original veterans of the Civil War. Cottages in Weirs Beach were mostly built by the veterans of WWII, so yes our buildings are old.

Our room rates at this time of year begin at $45 for a room without a view and a shared bath. The rate paid by the above party in cottage 11 was $110 plus tax so clearly we are not competitors with The Inns at Mill Falls nor do we pretend to be.

Our furnishings are eclectic to be sure, especially in the cottages. The chairs may not match but they certainly are not broken or torn. The king bed the above party slept in is no older than the beds at Mill Falls. Cottage 11 received a complete interior paint job this past spring. We’ve been nice so far but any claim that our units are less than clean are fighting words to us. The Cozy Inn Lakeview House and Cottages has an established reputation for cleanliness and any claim otherwise is a lie.

One might ask how we can continue to offer accommodations at affordable prices - something we remain committed to doing. Providing fewer amenities is part of that effort. If you want luxurious soaps, shampoos and lotions by all means stay up the road in Meredith and pay five times our room rate or more than twice our cottage rate. To clear up the towel issue, we don’t expect our single night guests to bring their own towels. We provide them just as we did for the above party. We do ask our weekly guests to bring them as laundry costs particularly for towels are considerable and keeping costs down helps keep rates affordable.

Please judge us for what we are and not for what you wish we were. Please be an informed consumer and do the appropriate research into where you are going and what to expect when there. Don’t buy a Toyota and complain that it’s just not anywhere near as nice as the Bentley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I booked this cottage via the internet and we were welcomed when we arrived, no problems. The cottage was well appointed, all your needs are met from hi tech to low tech. We enjoyed sitting out in the evening looking at the lake and the dark starry night. Management was able to answer all our questions, give us tips to excellent restaurants, and the history of the area.
Would I recommend this place to my friends, you betcha!! Great place to unwind.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank Polly-Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The owners were very attentive and full information about the local attractions and local recreation opportunities. Our room was perfect very clean and quaint. The Cozy Inn exceded my expectations of a New England vacation.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

First the good parts. The view is beautiful from the Lakeview Inn porch. Our cabin was reasonably clean. It was convenient to walk to the lake and the beach. The town has arcades and some not so great restaurants. It also has a drive in movie. You can also walk to the train and boat rides. As it was my first time in NH, I did not quite know where to stay. I would not bother to stay in Weirs beach again. Is it a dumpy old town for the most part. The next town up (Meredith) was much nicer and had nicer accomodations and stores. Weirs beach is nice to visit but I would not stay there. The owners were very unfriendly. The wifi rarely worked. They did have a computer for visitor use but it was very old and very slow. We kept blowing fuses in cottage 16. First was when I used the stove and the microwave at the same time. The next day was with the stove and toaster. Then just using the toaster. The owner claimed this never happened all summer. I guess no one ever tries to cook and I gave up. The cabin is very small and we were pretty cramped with 4 people. 5 would be impossible. When I called about the wifi the owner insisted the people next to me got it to work and did not even want to hear what I had to say. I spoke to the people next door and they said it would only work on occassion for them. My husband really needed the wifi for work and luckily it worked one morning but then we struggled with it after that. The shower head dribbled out so it was very hard to wash long hair. The hot water would come and go during the shower as well. The pools are very small and really are just for young kids. The cabin was also on a slant so everything kind of rolled to one side. The cabin did start to smell after a few days and the sheets were very worn. Most of the windows are screwed shut and if not very hard to open and close. There was no insulation in the cabins and you could hear every word being said in the cabin next to you. We were very disappointed in these accomodations. We found a bag of shoes under my daughters bed so obviuosly it was not being vaccummed. With some upgrading the cabin could be passable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurib16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Location, location, location! A short walk down the hill and you’re in the thick of Weirs Beach shops, etc. We stayed in Cottage #4. Rustic charm and very clean. Partial lake view from the screened porch. Perfect for 2 people to move around in (it rained the first 2 days we were there) and the kitchenette was well equipped. Dyan, the owner, was very helpful despite being tired from a long, busy summer. We were welcome to sit on the covered porch at the Lakeview with a fabulous view of the lake. The sitting room is so charming and inviting. It even has a guitar you can play.
Took the postal boat tour- fun and interesting. Visited Castle in the Clouds with a great restaurant. Inexpensive t-shirts and hoodies at bottom of hill. Fried dough is everywhere but different with each vendor. Finally caved in and it was much better than expected (for the calories, I wanted the best). Check them out before you buy.
Good luck on finding good restaurant food for dinner. A local suggested Hart’s near Meredith and I wish we’d driven the couple extra miles to get there. Suggest stopping in Lanconia at Shaws or Hartford markets for groceries. Closest NH Liquor store is in Gilford. Had a great variety of wines at the best prices.
Found a very nice Thank You note from them in our mail when we returned home.

Room Tip: check out website for pictures of cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megscakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weirs Beach
12.3 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
335 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
0.0 mi away
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Getaway
Lakeside Getaway
#7 of 7 in Weirs Beach
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview House & Cottages

Address: 12 Maple St, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03246-1804
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Weirs Beach
Price Range: £69 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lakeview House & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where You Belong ...You've been looking for a great value - just the place where you can enjoy and afford life's simple pleasures - sun, fun, family, each other. The search is over...You belong at The Cozy Inn-Lakeview House & CottagesWe are located in the heart of Weirs Beach overlooking Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire's picturesque Lakes Region. We are just a mere 350' away from the beach, the boardwalk and the Weirs Beach attractions and feature spectacular views of the lake and mountains.You will find our two historic Inns and fifteen cottages comfy and unpretentious, with all the conveniences of home. Free wi-fi. Whether it is our two sparkling pools, inviting wraparound porches, or just the scenic views, you will relax, unwind and feel cozy here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Lakeview House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing