We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding view”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The view from the motel was unbelievable! The location was superb, it was just steps away from the boardwalk and lake. The pool and room were very clean. All in all it was a great value and a pleasant stay

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri51006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    65
    21
    12
    17
See reviews for
60
78
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lake Winnipesaukee is truly my favorite place on earth. So staying up at the lake anywhere is a blessing. The Half-moon cottages are neat clean and cozy. The cottage is small but offers you the basic essentials of your queen bed, private bathroom and private porch. That is all you need as you will be spending your time out at the lake or on the porch admiring the lake. All the staff were friendly and the check in/out process was easy. There is a large outdoor pool however I didn’t choose to use as the weather was a still a bit chilly at the end of May. The rooms have heat, A/C and a small fridge. For the location and views alone….the price you pay is very reasonable. If you haven’t spent time on Lake Winnipesaukee….you are missing out! What are you waiting for?!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location right on Weirs beach strip.

Stayed here on memorial day weekend with the family on a "Large Room" cottage which had a great view of the lake. We booked 4 cottages and 1 had one king size bed, a second bed and a sofa bed! all seem to have been recently updated and very clean.

The only "down side" i would say is that the bathrooms are tiny! is a stand up shower (very small) but updated and very clean.

Overall, great location, good price, updated, and very clean great for families.

Room Tip: Cottages with "shared" balcony have a better view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dperezjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel was located right across the street from the Mount Washington and we were in town for a dinner/dance cruise, so it was very convenient. It is also right down the street from the bars so we could walk right from our room. One thing was, when we went into our room, the door was unlocked, however, I think this was just a mistake by the last person, because you cannot lock the door before closing it, you had to close and then lock it, but we locked it once inside and it was fine. We had to run the hot water for a while before it came on, but it did come on and two of us had full showers.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eee950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

On a last minute decision I decided to go to New Hampshire for the folliage. Friends suggested Weirs beach great central location. Restaurants that are good that arent good enough. Took a gamble on the Halfmoon motel on mixed reviews. And was pleasantly suprised. Clean comfortable room well kept grounds. Front desk was helpful in suggesting where to go where to drive for great veiws and or food. Beautiful view Bonus step out the front door of room and amazing veiw of Lake Winnipesaukee. Look forward to coming back

Room Tip: Cabin 9 or 10 great veiws with all the upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmer e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Found this property on the internet and was very disappointed. The stiff cancellation policy should have been a clue. If it hadn't been a holiday weekend, I would have just eaten the cost and went elsewhere. The staff were rude and inattentive and the cottage was filthy. My entire family refused to take a shower as the bathroom was disgusting. We stayed only one night and left shortly after dawn. We couldn't get out of there fast enough!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VJM0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Going anywhere in NH is a beautiful thing however going to NH and staying at the Half Moon Motel and Cottages on Weirs Beach is just FABULOUS!! It is a family friendly atomsphere, that is close to everything or just hang around the grounds and enjoy relaxation with an AMAZING view of the lake and lets not forget the STUNNING sunrises and sunsets.The staff are wonderful, friendly and beyond helpful. Whether you choose a motel room, cottage or cabin you can't go wrong. So if you go to NH, stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weirs Beach
0.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
0.5 mi away
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#4 of 5 in Weirs Beach
53 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lazy E Motor Inn
Lazy E Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Weirs Beach
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Motel & Cottages

Property: Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Address: 28 Tower St, PO Box 5183, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03247
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Half Moon Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most convenient location in Weirs Beach. At center of boardwalk, across street from cruise pier, train station. Walk to shops, restaurants, amusements. Closest lodging to public beach. King-size pool. Scenic view from every room. Modern motel, comfortable cottages. All units feature CCTV, AC, heat, carpeting. All cottages feature cathedral ceilings, ceiling fans. Available: two-room cottages, cottages with kitchenettes, motel suites with kitchens. Reasonable rates, friendly service. Inquire about our special savings packages. Since 1957. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Half Moon Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Motel & Cottages Hotel Weirs Beach
Half Moon Motel And Cottages
Half Moon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing