We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for bike week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the best place to stay for bike week! When the traffic is terrible on the weekend, many attractions are within walking distance. There is a much better view here than the NASWA, and the NASWA is a 20 min walk away. The boardwalk is down the hill, and the Tower Tavern is on the corner with some great bands playing there. The staff is very accommodating and Kim gave us great directions when we were lost and helped us conveniently park the U-haul when my husband's bike broke down! We had a cottage with a screened in porch and cathedral ceiling. It had everything we needed, but the wifi was spotty because of the mountains and lake. Had to walk down the hill a bit or to the pool for internet. No biggie. It was nice to be "unplugged" for awhile! Also, I would suggest a full length mirror in the cottage,(only one small mirror in bathroom) but I suppose it is nice to take a break from vanity on vacation also! The sunrise streamed into the room at 5 a.m., but we were so glad to be awakened to witness it!! What a beautiful sunrise over Lake Winnepesaukee! Definitely recommend this lovely spot for vacation!

Room Tip: Our cottage was lucky #13--great view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zachantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived at the Half Moon Motel with 12 people including my wife and myself. We found the Motel to be the perfect spot for bike week! It is within walking distance of nearly all the attractions for the event. The sunrise views were spectacular. If you know anything about bike week you know the event can be very loud. Our solution for a good night sleep so close to the action? Shut the door turn on the air conditioner and lay your head down on their comfortable mattresses and pillows. The wifi was a plus and the staff even printed some work emails for me. The pool was great so were the tame ducks that greeted us every morning! If your life is so boring and your looking for a new, plush, trendy or white glove experience, you won't be happy there or probably any where else for that matter. But, if you want to be near the action, a warm cottage feel and a friendly accommodating staff, don't dismiss the Half Moon Motel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TwoWheelVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in a small cottage the last weekend of May and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was not luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The best part was the view of the lake from the porch. The staff was very friendly and gave us suggestions for things to do in the area. We highly recommend going to the Castle in the Clouds as well as hiking up Mt. Major. The hike up takes about an hour and is a little steep, but once you are at the top, the view is gorgeous! Since we stayed in Weir's Beach before the start of their busy season, it was very quiet, but I imagine it can get quite crazy at the height of the summer season. We would definitely stay here again - probably in the off-season. It's a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkfishfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stay during Bike Week. We had a great stay, the rooms were very clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, room rates were good. The location has got to be the best in Weirs Beach, everything is within a short walk. The only downside is the walls in the motel are thin.
We had a great time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There is nothing bad I can say about this place. Stayed here during Bike Week and had a wonderful experience! Amazing location. Fair prices. Super clean. Big rooms. Big, clean pool. Couldn't have asked for a better, more convenient hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristakeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

spent many times at half moon. the new management has greatly improved. it is so much cleaner than its been. great pool. close to everything. the only downside was beds werent comfortable. will come back here again.
lisa 6/13/14

Room Tip: i like the cottages.. more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amberirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

we had an overnight at the half moon. we have one of the deluxe balcony cottages. Everything was very clean and all the pople were very nice and accomendating. The Pool was very clean and nicely maintained. I really like how close it is to the strip, just a short walk down the hill. We booked another 5 days in July!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weirs Beach
0.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
3.0 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
#3 of 5 in Weirs Beach
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lazy E Motor Inn
Lazy E Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Weirs Beach
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Motel & Cottages

Address: 28 Tower St, PO Box 5183, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03247
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Price Range: £74 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Half Moon Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most convenient location in Weirs Beach. At center of boardwalk, across street from cruise pier, train station. Walk to shops, restaurants, amusements. Closest lodging to public beach. King-size pool. Scenic view from every room. Modern motel, comfortable cottages. All units feature CCTV, AC, heat, carpeting. All cottages feature cathedral ceilings, ceiling fans. Available: two-room cottages, cottages with kitchenettes, motel suites with kitchens. Reasonable rates, friendly service. Inquire about our special savings packages. Since 1957. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Half Moon Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Motel & Cottages Hotel Weirs Beach
Half Moon Motel And Cottages
Half Moon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing