We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on the July 4th weekend in 2014. Cottage was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Shower was strong with a good supply of hot water. The staff was helpful and walked around asking people if they needed extra towels or anything. Location was very good, and the pool was cleaned and maintained daily. Also, in a part of town where parking is at a premium, there was ample parking for all guests. I recommend this place.

Room Tip: Couples will enjoy the privacy of the cottages, especialy those six units that face the pool in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JimmyG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights over 4th of July weekend in one of the shared balcony cottages. For the money you pay, you get your dollars worth. It really is the closest lodging to the beach, restaurants, and activities.
The pool is gorgeous, but the cottages could use a little TLC. If we go again, we will stay in the motel part. The housekeeping is non existent- we got clean towels the first day, asked if we wanted clean towels the next day, and no clean towels until 5:30pm the following day.
The beach is within walking distance if you aren't lugging kids and chairs etc. Otherwise you will have to drive to the beach- $10 to park or $0.50/hr in metered parking.
Beautiful location near drive-in, restaurants, boats, train.
Overall, we would stay again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jessie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tower28, Owner at Half Moon Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Our motel rooms receive daily maid service; our cottages receive maid service twice a week. All of our units, both motel rooms and cottages, receive daily towel service. Our housekeeping staff checks every day with our cottage guests to see if they need towels or anything else. We're sorry this guest had to wait for towels. A call to our office would have corrected this immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A friend and I were here just after Bike Week this year, 2014. The location is perfect for someone who likes to be in the middle of this little town and able to walk to the town beach, restaurants and shops. The large pool is kept perfectly clean and is open 12 hours a day, a real plus if the beach is busy. The young staff were all so friendly and available, and kept the place very clean. While this is not a luxury setting, we don't need or want that, nor the high prices that requires, so the Half Moon was perfect! Mini frij and microwave were useful too. We'll probably go again.

Room Tip: We were on the lower balcony (on ground floor), which might be a good idea on a hot day, but all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed in cottage #10... it was clean and comfortable with a spacious screened-in porch. The Half-Moon is central to everything at Weirs Beach. We all had a great time and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin779599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the best place to stay for bike week! When the traffic is terrible on the weekend, many attractions are within walking distance. There is a much better view here than the NASWA, and the NASWA is a 20 min walk away. The boardwalk is down the hill, and the Tower Tavern is on the corner with some great bands playing there. The staff is very accommodating and Kim gave us great directions when we were lost and helped us conveniently park the U-haul when my husband's bike broke down! We had a cottage with a screened in porch and cathedral ceiling. It had everything we needed, but the wifi was spotty because of the mountains and lake. Had to walk down the hill a bit or to the pool for internet. No biggie. It was nice to be "unplugged" for awhile! Also, I would suggest a full length mirror in the cottage,(only one small mirror in bathroom) but I suppose it is nice to take a break from vanity on vacation also! The sunrise streamed into the room at 5 a.m., but we were so glad to be awakened to witness it!! What a beautiful sunrise over Lake Winnepesaukee! Definitely recommend this lovely spot for vacation!

Room Tip: Our cottage was lucky #13--great view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zachantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived at the Half Moon Motel with 12 people including my wife and myself. We found the Motel to be the perfect spot for bike week! It is within walking distance of nearly all the attractions for the event. The sunrise views were spectacular. If you know anything about bike week you know the event can be very loud. Our solution for a good night sleep so close to the action? Shut the door turn on the air conditioner and lay your head down on their comfortable mattresses and pillows. The wifi was a plus and the staff even printed some work emails for me. The pool was great so were the tame ducks that greeted us every morning! If your life is so boring and your looking for a new, plush, trendy or white glove experience, you won't be happy there or probably any where else for that matter. But, if you want to be near the action, a warm cottage feel and a friendly accommodating staff, don't dismiss the Half Moon Motel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank TwoWheelVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in a small cottage the last weekend of May and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was not luxurious, but it was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The best part was the view of the lake from the porch. The staff was very friendly and gave us suggestions for things to do in the area. We highly recommend going to the Castle in the Clouds as well as hiking up Mt. Major. The hike up takes about an hour and is a little steep, but once you are at the top, the view is gorgeous! Since we stayed in Weir's Beach before the start of their busy season, it was very quiet, but I imagine it can get quite crazy at the height of the summer season. We would definitely stay here again - probably in the off-season. It's a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkfishfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weirs Beach
0.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
498 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
Lake Winnipesaukee Motel
#3 of 5 in Weirs Beach
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Motel & Cottages

Address: 28 Tower St, PO Box 5183, Weirs Beach, Laconia, NH 03247
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia > Weirs Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Weirs Beach
Price Range: £77 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Half Moon Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most convenient location in Weirs Beach. At center of boardwalk, across street from cruise pier, train station. Walk to shops, restaurants, amusements. Closest lodging to public beach. King-size pool. Scenic view from every room. Modern motel, comfortable cottages. All units feature CCTV, AC, heat, carpeting. All cottages feature cathedral ceilings, ceiling fans. Available: two-room cottages, cottages with kitchenettes, motel suites with kitchens. Reasonable rates, friendly service. Inquire about our special savings packages. Since 1957. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Half Moon Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Motel & Cottages Hotel Weirs Beach
Half Moon Motel And Cottages
Half Moon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing