We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful!”
Review of Chesterfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chesterfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We followed map quest and could not find this place! After almost 45 minutes of searching we found it! It is a little hidden if you don't know where it is. Once we stepped inside,
the search was alll but forgotten! It is beautiful and spotless! Our room was very pretty with a private porch. Very roomy, too. From what I could see, all the rooms are large and very pretty. We ate in the dining room/restaurant, and enjoyed the best meal we'd eaten in 7 days! The bed was very comfortable, so we slept well. Breakfast is full, and the room is very sunny and has a gorgeous view of the gardens. It was delicious! One of the nicer inns we have stayed in!

Room Tip: They have free roaming cats, so take this inti consideration if you have allergies! My husband is pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kidsfirst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Almost a year ago we spent 3 nights and held our daughter's wedding at the Inn. We had family in several rooms. The ceremony was outside on the patio, dinner inside. Everything was excellent, the rooms, the food, and all the work that was done to make the wedding come together perfectly. We hope to get back for a another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here for only one night on our way to Canada and it was so refreshing for two road weary travelers to be greeted by a thoroughly professional and incredibly welcoming staff. A lovely room, a comfortable bed, a fantastic dinner for two in their dining room and superb service all around. We enjoyed the company of other guests in this very friendly environment and would highly recommend The Chesterfield Inn to anyone traveling through this area of southern New Hampshire. We wish we could have stayed longer to explore the beautiful surroundings of the New Hampshire countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salt Water Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We went to the Chesterfield Inn for dinner, and we're glad we did. We started with drinks out on the patio. The drinks were great, but there were mosquitoes around so we moved indoors as soon as our table was ready. We dined in an enclosed patio area with a nice garden view. Service was extremely friendly and attentive. There were plenty of good and interesting choices on the menu. I had the soup du jour, which was a tomato and lentil dish which had the consistency of a bolognese, very chunky and flavorful. Then I had a wahoo special done with a dry rub and in a spicy creole sauce. We split a double chocolate ice cream dessert, served in an edible white/dark chocolate cup--a perfect ending. This was well worth the drive from where we were staying in Putney.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Brant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent two nights mid-week at the Chesterfield Inn. The Inn is very pleasant and our room was very comfortable and tastefully furnished. We were in room 21 in the Johanna Wetherby building. While we didn't bring our dog with us on this trip we could have, as this room is one of the pet friendly rooms at the Inn. For those who might have a concern about allergies I will say that the room was spotless. As we toured the grounds my wife and I agreed that room 20 with the private back deck looking out over the wild-flower strewn meadow looked ideal. Breakfast is outstanding with some delicious and different offerings. The muffins are hard to resist. Try to get a table on the porch if possible where it was sunny and pleasant. The grounds are lovely and we discovered two adirondack chairs in the back with beautiful views and a relaxing spot to finish our morning coffee. Dinner was also very good and there are some good wine choices. Overall a very nice stay with the only drawback being the proximity to a busy road....that is the only reason I didn't give this an "excellent".

Room Tip: Try for rooms in the attached buildings as they are quiet and have private decks or patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a two-night stay at the Chesterfield Inn. Our spacious room furnished with tastefully-chosen antiques was both comfortable and inviting, as was the ambiance provided by the room's fireplace and a lovely private porch The inn's dining room and patio overlooking a wildflower-filled meadow and the southern Vermont hills just beyond offered a delightful, peaceful, pastoral setting in which to relax. Breakfast and dinner were superb, as was the gracious, warm, and attentive hospitality of the inn's staff. The Chesterfield Inn's location just 5 minutes from Brattleboro, Vermont where we launched our kayaks for a day of paddling on the Connecticut River simply couldn't be beat. We will certainly return in the winter months during x-country and downhill ski season. HIghly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPKmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My boyfriend and I took a trip over the long July 4th weekend to New Hampshire/Vermont and we stayed at the Chesterfield Inn. We got in late but our innkeeper was nice enough to leave us cookies in our room to 'welcome" us. The room was large (had it's own deck), rustic (it had part of it's original barn loft attached) and the bed was very comfortable (had to use a stool to get in.)

The next day I found out there was a very friendly cat residing at Chesterfield, and that was so adorable. The breakfasts in the morning were good, lots to choose from and attentive wait staff. The dining area is also large, and if you get there early the windowed porch is a nice place to start your day. We also had dinner there once, and I was really impressed with that.

The staff was wonderful and ready to help you figure out a good itinerary or just attend to your room needs. The one thing I was disappointed with was the bacon. And that's not really their fault because I just have really high standards for smoked meat.

Overall I had a great stay and a wonderful holiday weekend!

Also the inn is quite close to the town of Brattleboro, VT which is a really nice spot to check out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moll Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
612 reviews
12.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Inn

Address: 20 Cross Rd, West Chesterfield, NH 03466-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range: £122 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hampshire inn, a Select Registry Property, on 10 beautiful acres in Chesterfield, NH. Our New Hampshire luxury inn features 15 beautifully appointed guest rooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and private terraces. Enjoy unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, soothing in-room spa treatments and romantic candlelit dinners. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome at our pet friendly bed and breakfast in New Hampshire. The perfect choice for travelers looking for a romantic Keene bed and breakfast or luxurious Brattleboro B&B! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Chesterfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel West Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing