We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Chesterfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesterfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wonderful 2-night, 3-day stay at the Chesterfield Inn! Everyone I spoke to at the Inn, whether on the phone or in person, was extremely nice, helpful, and well-informed. The Inn staff made our visit a great one by providing helpful suggestions about hikes and restaurants in the area, complete with maps! In addition, the room was extremely comfortable and very quiet. Despite the Inn being full for the holiday weekend, we heard NO noise from other guests while in our room. Everything was very clean as well. We had dinner in the Inn one night, which was excellent, and the included breakfast was also wonderful. I cannot say enough good things about this Inn. It is a real gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks! We're glad that you enjoyed your Memorial Day weekend here. It's our pleasure to help you plan your days to explore the area and enjoy the country lifestyle. We do have fantastic places to hike right here in Chesterfield, such as Pisgah Park and the Madame Sherri Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    50
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
208
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We always stay in inns and were delighted to find Chesterfield Inn so close to Keene for our two-night stay during our granddaughter's graduation. It is "compleat" not only because it is housed in wonderful architecture on a beautiful meadow, but because it offers a top quality restaurant in addition to the lovely rooms and commodious public spaces. We dined there both nights, with the rack of lamb being our favorite. I did venture into ordering the wild boar one of the evenings, but I found it somewhat over-cooked. The breakfasts were excellent, the staff attentive and friendly, and the afternoon tea and cookies delightful. The Chesterfield Inn certainly ranks up there with some of the best inns we have visited.

Room Tip: We sneaked a peek at many of the rooms and they were equally inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ama100741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you! We do try to offer all that you need here at the inn, from beautiful and comfortable rooms to personal service and delicious food. We're glad to have been your home base for your grand daughter's graduation from Keene State College, just 20 minutes from the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was the first Inn that we stayed in on our New England fall trip. We arrived on a blustery afternoon, colorful leaves were everywhere and we couldn't wait to get inside! Despite being located off of a major road, it felt very cozy and quiet. Dinner was delicious, and they had a yummy pumpkin cocktail that was very tasty. Our bedroom had a large soaking tub and a large fireplace with a sitting area next to it. Big, comfortable bed. You can wake up in the morning, have a cup of coffee and have a nice walk around the meadows around the Inn. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS_Stach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. The inn is located on a busy road, which is both a plus and a minus for us, but we don't notice the road noise once we are inside the building. Our rooms are all situated for quiet and privacy, and we try to provide an oasis from the outside world. Part of the oasis is providing you with delicious food, both for dinner and breakfast, and we do have some very tasty specialty cocktails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moodus, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Hubby and I stayed here for one night mid-March at the suggestion of friends who have stayed here on numerous occasions. We were not disappointed! The Inn is clean, comfortable and quiet. Although we could not be seated in the porch room for dinner, we still enjoyed our dinner in the main dining room. Food was excellent. We both loved the Asian BBQ appetizer (one of the best apps we've ever had), and the salad was very good. We both ordered the swordfish special and it was very good, although the sauce seemed just a tad strange to be accompanying fish. Still very good. Wish the shrimp dish was bigger and offered as an entree. We ordered the cheapest bottle of white to share that was just okay (cannot remember the name but if you like white, go for the next one up in price). We shared a huge slice of Reese's peanut butter cheesecake that was delicious. We love to have cappuccino with dessert and sadly they do not have a cappuccino machine. The coffee offered at dinner should really be served in a larger mug rather than a teacup-sized cup (the bigger mug is used at breakfast and is free at that time so 2.00 for a teeny coffee with dinner was a bit of a disappointment). Our dinner server Kim was terrific.The included breakfast was very good, plenty of food and the homemade muffins were delicious.
The room itself was nice, very clean and the bed comfortable. There were books and relaxing CDs in the room which was a nice touch (although the CD player in our room did not work).
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and plan to return. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. Your review was full of details that give very useful feedback to us. We've actually just started on the new Spring menu and it features Grilled Shrimp as an entree as you suggested! A cappuccino machine is on our list of "must haves" for this year; also please know that although the dinner coffee cups are smaller than mugs, you do get unlimited refills for the $2 price tag. We're glad that you enjoyed all of your meals at the inn. Delicious food and attentive serve are both very important components of what we offer here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Quogue, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was the first time that my wife and I have stayed in a Bed and Breakfast Inn.After the experience that we had at the Chesterfield Inn we will definitely looking for other places to stay like this.The experience that we had here was excellent.From the people who worked there(the 3 ladies who were at the reception desk were very friendly,courteous and helpful)and the owners.
The food was very good and fairly priced in relation to New York prices.The wait staff for both breakfast and dinner were attentive and did a great job.The rooms were beautifully appointed,clean and the beds were very comfortable.It was very interesting to see how a 200 year old barn could be converted into such a beautiful and comfortable place to stay.Being on the border between New Hampshire and Vermont gave us plenty to do for the two nights that we stayed there.The Vermont Country Store was a short drive as was Keene,NH.I Hope we can make it back here in warmer weather to enjoy the activities that are here.

Room Tip: Depending on what you are looking for all the rooms are a very good size with twin,queen,or king siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimtowle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Welcome to the world of B and B's! I'm glad that your first stay in a Bed and Breakfast was so pleasant. Now you understand why people look beyond chain hotels to find a local B and B when they are traveling: delicious food, friendly service, and clean comfortable rooms. Please visit us in the Spring so that you can explore the area some more with the warmer weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Inn on Valentines day weekend and I have to say this was so far the most pleasureable and relaxing place we have ever stayed.The staff,the rooms and the atmosphere was awsome. They are always thinking of the last details,when I called and told them we were early risers and liked coffee early they made sure we had our own pot in our room,we didnt even ask for this,the rooms are so nice and relaxing,the food was excellent as was the atmosphere and all the staff this is a place we will be giong back to soon,.Thanks for a memorable weekend.

Room Tip: Winter months get the fireplace rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks, Patrick! We knew that you had said that you were early risers when you made your reservation, and that having coffee available at 6:30 was not early enough for you. We have Keurig coffee makers in all of the exterior rooms but you were in the main inn, so we popped an extra coffee maker into your room so that you could make your coffee as soon as you woke up. Just a small thing to make your stay more comfortable! It was a pleasure to have you here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abfabkid
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Beautiful inn! Exceeded my expectations! I had a wonderful stay at the Chesterfield Inn! Friendly staff! I'd like to go back in the autumn! Room was clean, breakfast was delicious. Very helpful staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudyHueber, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
One of the nicest compliments for the innkeeper and staff is for you to say that we exceeded your expectations. We are here to make your stay more comfortable, and are glad that you had such a nice time. We'll see you in the Fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
156 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
572 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
259 reviews
3.6 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
346 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Inn

Property: Chesterfield Inn
Address: 20 Cross Rd, West Chesterfield, NH 03466-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chesterfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hampshire inn, a Select Registry Property, on 10 beautiful acres in Chesterfield, NH. Our New Hampshire luxury inn features 15 beautifully appointed guest rooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and private terraces. Enjoy unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, soothing in-room spa treatments and romantic candlelit dinners. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome at our pet friendly bed and breakfast in New Hampshire. The perfect choice for travelers looking for a romantic Keene bed and breakfast or luxurious Brattleboro B&B! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesterfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel West Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing