We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chesterfield Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$166
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Brattleboro)
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Mountain Inn(Brattleboro)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Brattleboro(Brattleboro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latchis Hotel(Brattleboro)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
252
54
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
252
54
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew englandgas fireplacebrattleboro vtfilet mignonbed and breakfastrelaxing weekendtwo night staylarge roomb and brolling hillsafternoon tea and cookiesfrench toastconnecticut riverjudynhpheasantpets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My husband and I with our 4 month old twins enjoyed our weekend getaway, thouroghly. The room was extremely cozy and inviting. The dinner and breakfast was served with elegance and grace, and filled with amazing flavors and tastes. The highlight was the view of the sunset behind the mountains overlooking the gardens and meadows. We're still dreaming of our next visit. There are many choices of Bed and Breakfast establishments in New England, but we will choose The Chesterfield Inn again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2009

We welcome children at the inn, and strive to provide a welcome respite from the routine of daily life both for parents and for children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. Very professional and friendly staff and the room was absolutely perfect, just really flawless! We had a lovely gas fireplace with two comfortable chairs and a big four poster bed as well as an outdoor patio. Since we were there in the off season on a weekday many rooms were unoccupied and we were able to take a peek at most of them. All were very impressive and comfortable. We also had a wonderful dinner at the inn with fine food and attentive service in spite of the fact that a private party was being hosted on the same evening. Lovely grounds too. The only negative in such a perfect place was the breakfast. Very strange and inexplicable that such food could come from the same kitchen as our delicious dinner the night before! Frankly, both my husband's and my own breakfast were just terrible to the extent that we barely ate any of it. It was so odd and out of keeping with the rest of our experience that we wondered if the chef had disappeared suddenly during the night!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaii4our25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2009

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review for us. We value your feedback and are always interested in feedback from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This inn has something for everyone looking for a relaxing, tasteful and hospitable retreat. Meadows, mountains, gardens and pond - views from every window. Inviting, thoughtfully appointed spotless rooms, some with fireplaces, antiques, CD players and music, little refrigerators, lovely decorator touches and wonderful cooked to order breakfasts. Dinner at their intimate restaurant was literally "lick the plate clean" delicious too.

The staff were friendly and accomodating, offering us a choice of rooms when we inquired about staying an extra night after checking in - couldn't imagine only staying one, it was love at first sight! Then they discounted the price without us even suggesting.

This is a warm, gracious and very special inn located near Keene, NH - an interesting, foody college town with always something fun to offer. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEWatermusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2009

Thank you so much for the very kind words! We do strive to provide attentive, friendly service to all of our guests, and to make all welcome in our rambling country inn here in West Chesterfield. We'll look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

If you are hoping to experience beautiful countryside, friendly and courteous service, a great night's rest, and excellent cuisine, look no further. We chose room 18 for our stay; a beautiful view of field and forest with a super comfy king bed and fireplace. As a former innkeeper, I'll tell you, there is no dust here! Everything is clean, lovely, and welcoming. Innkeepers and staff are consummate professionals. We chose this inn above others since we needed a serious rest and dinners were available. Let's face it, I'm a foodie, and at both dinner and breakfast I found creative, clean, fresh flavors. You will receive meals that are thoughtfully prepared yet not fussy. Someone in the kitchen is an expert baker of artisanal breads. There is a purity both in the food, the inn, and the surrounds. The location is perfect for most every sport, and shopping is nearby. We were here in spring and I imagine fall is just as lovely. You will come away rested and relaxed, and thinking about when you can work in the next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastCoastAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This was about our 5th stay at the Chesterfield within the last several years. Our daughter was enrolled in Keene State College a while back and we chose the Chesterfield as our home while visiting her. The operative word is "home".
From your first entry into the Inn, you will understand what I mean.
The staff goes beyond making your stay comfortable, and without any overbearance. We have only chosen to stay in about 3 of the 16 or so available rooms at the Inn, but we have peeked in most of them (since the open rooms are left for viewing during the day) and they are all wonderful, relaxing oasis's designed for a great stay. Our personal choice is room 15 which is a fireplace suite, and we just love it.
The breakfasts are terrific, always fresh baked muffins, fresh fruit and choices of pancakes, eggs, omelets french toast etc...
A beautiful common room with fireplace and comfy couches is the perfect spot for the afternoon tea served daily, and it leads out to a large patio with tables and chairs. Perfect for a late afternoon bottle of wine.
We have had dinner there most every visit, and the Chef who has been there since our first arrival always has a terrific menu, featuring seasonal dishes and exceptional special items. Truly some of the best meals we have ever had. I would not hesitate in the least to reccomend the Chesterfied to anyone for a romantic weekend, a peace and quiet retreat, or a plain getaway. Kudos to the entire staff for consistent top quality service.
You'll see us back again many times.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprzybyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews