We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Confortable. Excellent choise!”
Review of Chesterfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chesterfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo
1 review
“Charming and Confortable. Excellent choise!”
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Very nice decoration. Rooms are comfortable. Don't miss the lovely cat: Sophie.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    50
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
208
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield County, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We discovered this elegant country inn online and, impressed by its attractive, information-rich website, booked a 4 night stay for late September.

The inn is conveniently located near Rte 91 in southern New Hampshire, less than 21/2 hours' drive from our home in Fairfield County, CT.

The main structure, which began as a farmhouse, has great bones. A spacious wing has been added, but you won’t feel relegated to second-class quarters should you choose a room there. In fact our room in the Wetherby Building was one of the most comfortable we’ve encountered in our travels. It was well furnished—complete with a gas fireplace and windowseat—and thoughtfully equipped with plenty of drawer space, sitting chairs, a desk, and (hooray!) 3 way lightbulbs for readers. (You can view inn rooms on the website, www.chesterfieldinn.com, or peek, as we did, since the innkeepers wisely keep the doors on unoccupied rooms open.)

When you’re not exploring the many outdoor or cultural activities in the region, you can kick back with all the creature comforts a modern-day traveler could need, including high speed wireless Internet in your room and afternoon tea and cookies.

Just as the inn’s physical plant is a seamless blend of classic farmhouse and timeless new construction, the staff offers professional service with a generous side of down-to-earth friendliness.

The room rate includes an excellent cooked-to-order breakfast that may well sustain you till tea time. Dinner service is available and we enjoyed several great meals from a thoughtfully designed menu that changes seasonally, with attractive presentation and attentive yet low-key service.

Even better, the Chesterfield Inn—so rich in creature comforts—also welcomes the four-legged variety. While we didn’t travel with our best friend on this trip, now that we’ve seen the place and met its welcoming staff, we’re looking to a return with our furkid in tow.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douetesvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyork
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The service was friendly and cooperative. The surroundings were clean and well appointed. The breakfast was well presented and relaxing served in a lovely dinning room. We were even greeted by the Inn's cats upon our return home.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golgiapparatus97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, MA
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2009

The location between Keene, NH and Brattleboro, VT was ideal for shopping and gallery visting. Our room afforded us beautiful countryside views of a meadow, mountains and cornfields as well as lovely landscaped grounds. The food was delicious, the service superb. And best of all we were able to bring a very important family member, our dog Zoey! We plan to return for another restfull and fun stay. Thank you Chesterfield Inn!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredHull_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Mass
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The inn was exactly as described. The rooms are immaculate and the housekeping staff does a wonderful job preparing the room each day. Breakfasts come with the room and are individually served rather than a service table. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. Dinner is well presented and delicious if a tad expensive.
If you are sightseeing we would highly recommend visiting Hildene, the Lincoln home, in Manchester, Vermont.
Our Favorite was the beautiful room and the access to an outside patio. By the way the inn is pet friendly and Abby our Welsh Corgi had a great time. We would like to see a bar set-up for evening cocktails before dinner.
All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibbsabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2009

The Chesterfield Inn was just what we were looking for when we searched for a place to stay for our visit to southern Vermont. Yes, I know it is in New Hampshire but it was the place for us - beautiful rooms, a gourmet dining room, lovely setting, and Sophie and Yoda, the playful and friendly cats. The staff are the most hospitable we have ever experienced. Our stay was perfect. Clevie & Cecile

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cycile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My husband and I were attending a family event this weekend and needed a place to stay for one night with our 15 month old son. We had a very tough time trying to find someplace that would allow a one night stay (most were two night minimums) and children under 12. We came across the Chesterfield Inn online and decided to give it a try. We were very pleased with our experience!

The Inn is right off Rt 91 so it is convenient to get to. We drove up and the grounds were lovely: a small pond out front, gardens, stone walls, etc. – what you want to see from a New England Inn. The woman who greeted me at the front desk was when we arrived was so warm and friendly, which I really appreciated after a long day. We had booked one of the lower priced rooms (Room 16) so I didn’t know what to expect but it was huge! And it had some great amenities: mini fridge with beverages for purchase, a basket of toothbrushes/razors outside the door, books and magazines to read, CDs, etc. My son is an early riser so I was very happy to hear that coffee was available at the front desk starting at 6:15 a.m. We had to check out early the next day so unfortunately we didn’t get the chance to have the complimentary country breakfast.

I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a comfortable, convenient, clean, and friendly place to stay in Southern New Hampshire/Vermont (it is right near the state border).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BosKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
578 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
272 reviews
3.6 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
349 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Inn

Property: Chesterfield Inn
Address: 20 Cross Rd, West Chesterfield, NH 03466-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chesterfield Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hampshire inn, a Select Registry Property, on 10 beautiful acres in Chesterfield, NH. Our New Hampshire luxury inn features 15 beautifully appointed guest rooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and private terraces. Enjoy unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, soothing in-room spa treatments and romantic candlelit dinners. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome at our pet friendly bed and breakfast in New Hampshire. The perfect choice for travelers looking for a romantic Keene bed and breakfast or luxurious Brattleboro B&B! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Chesterfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel West Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing