We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country inn-we could have spent weeks there.”
Review of Chesterfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chesterfield Inn
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
1 review
“Charming country inn—we could have spent weeks there.”
Reviewed 24 May 2010

The setting is charming: rolling green hills, a pond (featuring enormous, cartoon-y bullfrogs who serenaded each other 24/7 while we were there), grassy fields for our dog (yes, the inn is pet-friendly) to run around in. Our room was large, clean and comfortable and offered Direct TV, a great (for once) in-room coffee maker and a reasonably priced mini bar (wine, beer and soda). Breakfasts are very, very good. None of those sad steam table mystery "egg bakes"/wilted ham and sausages you're apt to find at country inns and b+b's. The Chesterfield offers fresh muffins (they change daily), fruit plates and cooked main courses that you order from a menu. Dinners are impressive: food prepared by a chef who clearly knows and cares about good food. This is a real restaurant. Will we go back to the Chesterfield? Absolutely, in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank room22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    50
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
205
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
134 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

If your looking for someplace to stay that is pet friendly, upscale, fabulous food and very comfortable, then the Chesterfield Inn is the place to stay in the Brattleboro, VT and Keene , NH area. The rooms are cozy and clean with great country views. Our room has a gas fireplace, and a door leading out to a nice patio looking over the field behind the inn! We travel with our Jack Russell, Zoey who likes steying here as well! We walk 4- 5 miles every day and the roads behind the Inn, wind around through the country side providing a safe area to walk or jog. If you walk down the road a ways, and over the stream, it brings you past the Chesterfield fire house, which has a unique and I would guess historic sign. The food at the Chesterfield is top notch and we totally enjoy our dinner in the dinning room and our breakfast in our room! The staff is very friendly and helpful and every time we stay , we feel like we are home! We can;t wait till our next getaway at the Chesterfield!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy05255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

If you need to truly get away, then this is the place to visit. I was lucky enough during a fall business trip to be able to stay at the Chesterfield Inn. It is only minutes from Keene and Brattleboro, but it is a secluded oasis of relaxation. It seemed like I was the only one there who had not visited before and returned for one of many repeat visits.

If you do stay make sure not to miss dinner. I can't imagine there is anywhere nearby that can rival the inns' charming setting and delicious food. The breakfast was simply amazing and the perfect leisurely and inviting way to start a brisk New England day. I only was able to experience one room for a night but it was unforgettable; warm, crackling fire, beautiful night view over a meadow and a bed that surpassed my own on all levels of comfort.

If you get any chance to spend time with Judy or any of the delightful members of her staff it will only enhance the enjoyment of your trip, and your ability to experience Southern New Hampshire the right way. Great for any traveler, but it definitely felt like the perfect place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solesofmyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2010
We do try to provide as much relaxation and privacy for our guests as possible. In this crazy world, moments of true relaxations and quiet are far too few. Sometimes even just an overnight with a romantic dinner, a good night's sleep, and delicious breakfast the next morning can rejuvenate you as if it were a vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2010

My mother and I stayed at the Inn for a night this winter. The staff was very helpful in advising us on places to eat and outdoor activities. The Inn is in a nice rural setting, but close to downtown Brattleboro, which is a really fun place. The breakfast at the Inn was fantastic!!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shemerlisT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
We do aim to please with our breakfast! We try to have something for everyone, from the homemade muffins to the home fries to the fresh fruit and fluffy omelets and stuffed french toast. The chef also can accommodate any dietary restrictions, if you let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Rarely have we found a place so wonderful, welcoming and relaxing that we plan a return trip for the sole purpose of staying at the same inn again. Our first trip was over New Year's 2009 and now we are booked to visit again this April.

Not only are the rooms charming, the location prime and the staff friendly and engaging, but when they say they are pet friendly, they really mean pet loving! We brought our cocker spaniel with us. Waiting for him when we checked into our room was a bowl, some treats and toys. And whenever we left the room to stroll through the lobby the staff insisted that we bring him along so they could say hi to him as well and make certain his stay was an enjoyable one too! And unlike almost all other places we researched online, there was no additional charge for having him in our room, nor did we have to settle on "second-class" accommodations because we had a dog with us.

Judy, the innkeeper, and the entire staff are professional, but also take a real interest in their guests. They understand the true meaning of service and hospitality and have created an inn that can serve as a prime example for others to emmulate.

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nuzcre8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
The nicest compliment that a guest can give us is to return for another visit! We love to have people come again because it gives us a chance to get to know them better and enjoy their company even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

The Chesterfield is the best B&B ever! If you want friendly staff, great food, sumptuous breakfast, wonderful location.......look no further. Judy and Phil, the innkeepers are very professional, they make you feel welcome and enjoying your stay their priority.

The building is beautiful, comfortable and warm. I love the fireplace rooms the best! Good mix of antiques mixed with modern amenities. I was so glad to have wireless internet keeping me connected!

The location so close to Keene NH, Brattleboro Vermont, and Putney Vermont makes for great sightseeing, shopping and antiquing. Hop on 91 North and have lunch in Woodstock Vermont or take route 9 to Bennington. The staff can help you with any plans that you might like.

We have been there in all seasons and the inn is pretty spectacular no matter the weather.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flightygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2010
Thank you for the feedback- it's always nice to hear such positive comments. We have 10 fireplace rooms in our 15 room inn, so there are many fireplace rooms to choose from, from a king or queen bedded room with a fireplace in the bedroom, to a suite with the fireplace in the living room, to a king bedded room with a fireplace and double whirlpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmdel, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

This is a teriffic inn. Friendly but not intrusive staff, great room with fireplace and jacuzzi tub, and a superb dinner menu (and we are particular with our dining) Wonderful wine list and perfect location. We stayed in room 20 which is essentially a little cottage, and it had everything we needed. we had chocolate covered strawberries and a lovely plate of cheese and fruit with a bottle of Merlot waiting in our room. The dinner menu offered some unique entrees such as pheasant breast (delicious) and wild boar sausage (sublime) We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funonourfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyNewHampshire, Owner at Chesterfield Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2010
Thank you! Room 20 is one of my favorite rooms, too. Between the wonderful view out to the back meadow and the hills beyond, the fireplace and the jacuzzi, it's the perfect place to relax and re-connect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
3.6 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesterfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesterfield Inn

Property: Chesterfield Inn
Address: 20 Cross Rd, West Chesterfield, NH 03466-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chesterfield Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hampshire inn, a Select Registry Property, on 10 beautiful acres in Chesterfield, NH. Our New Hampshire luxury inn features 15 beautifully appointed guest rooms with fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and private terraces. Enjoy unforgettable gourmet breakfasts, soothing in-room spa treatments and romantic candlelit dinners. Well-behaved dogs are always welcome at our pet friendly bed and breakfast in New Hampshire. The perfect choice for travelers looking for a romantic Keene bed and breakfast or luxurious Brattleboro B&B! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesterfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesterfield Hotel West Chesterfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing