We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Riverside Hotel last month after a mixup in my reservations at another hotel. It was fortunate that there was a room available since it was move-in weekend at Landmark College. We were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were large, clean, and well-appointed. The first night we stayed in a larger room then moved to a smaller room for the remainder of the stay. The only complaint I had was that the A/C didn't work well in the larger room. Other than that, the place was great. Beautiful location on the river. Staff was very nice. The breakfast was basic, no frills, but that's OK.

We were very satisfied with our stay and look forward to coming back later this month.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasman555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of the Riverside Hotel! We take pride in the hotel and love to hear when a guest has a great experience. I appreciate you mentioning the cooling issue; I will have our maintenance department make sure it is working correctly. Keep us in mind for your next trip to visit Landmark College or just to get away.

Frank LaGrande
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    33
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
73
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at Riverside for three nights while visiting Vermont in August. Very convenient to Brattleboro (less than 10 minutes away). The rooms were large and comfortable, with refrigerator, large bathroom, comfortable sleep number bed. Very clean in all areas of the hotel. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was pretty basic, not quite up to Hampton standards--no waffles, no eggs! But plenty of yogurt, tea, water, bagels, bananas. Nice walking in adjacent street along the river which leads to a county park. And as everyone mentions, great views of the the river from the rooms. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed on third floor, very nice balcony. Elevator sometimes got busy over the weekend, necessit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cit35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Riverside Hotel. We are happy you had such a good experience. The proximity to Brattleboro is excellent but the location on the river affords us a private, quiet, secluded spot perfect for a getaway. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Riverside Hotel is located at the edge of New Hampshire, immediately before the bridge to Vermont and a few miles north of Brattelboro. Right on the edge of the Connecticut River, it has a peaceful and beautiful site and the balconies for many of the rooms offer an opportunity to sit and enjoy peaceful mornings and evenings. Its location permits one to visit Brattelboro and rural Vermont. The rooms are large and well furnished and the staff are helpful. The rates, including continental breakfast, are reasonable. An excellent choice if you are passing through the area.

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Wolfgang,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. All the features you mentioned are great points about the hotel. The rooms are definitely larger than most hotels rooms and the balconies bring you that much closer to the beautiful surroundings our setting has to offer. Thank you for staying with us!

Frank LaGrande
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked our stay at the Riverside Hotel at the last minute and had a great experience. GM, Frank LaGrande and his staff were extremely professional, friendly and accommodating and made our stay really special. We had stayed the previous night in a hotel in Brattleboro, VT and the riverside was actually closer to downtown Brattleboro than our Brattleboro hotel! Our room was spotless and very quiet. The sleep number bed helped us get a great night sleep and the river view in the morning was beautiful. Frank and his staff made our stay an unexpected pleasure and we are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
George,

Thank you for taking a moment to review the Riverside Hotel. We appreciate all the kind words and look forward to having you stay again as well.

Frank LaGrande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayer, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary this year by going away for a long weekend, and we love the southern NH/VT area so we decided on this hotel because it was close to Brattleboro (my wife loves to shop), and it had a lot of great reviews. We went in late June and stayed in the luxury suite, and all the rooms were extremely spacious and comfortable, and the entire suite was absolutely immaculate. I pay a lot of attention to cleanliness, and every room and corner was spotless. We loved the warm, rich décor, and it was tempting to just spend the entire weekend relaxing in the jacuzzi, or just enjoying the beautiful view of the river right from the living room. The rooms in this suite are all very spacious (if you happen to own your own plane you're in luck ... you can land it right in the living room!), and having the kitchen is great when you want to take a break from eating out. The staff were very courteous and attentive, and the entire experience was truly wonderful. Brattleboro is only minutes away and the downtown area has lots of interesting shops and stores, plenty of places to eat, numerous antique shops, and there's also a great Farmer's Market on Saturdays from 9-2 pm in West Brattleboro. We also took a drive out to Keene, NH which is only about 15" away, and I was pleasantly surprised to find it was a bustling little college town that was a great place to just walk around and enjoy. We also took a driving tour and the countryside is absolutely beautiful. The hotel is located right on the CT river which makes for a very peaceful, relaxing setting, and the foliage must be spectacular in the fall. What a great find ... if you're looking for a beautiful, clean, comfortable, luxurious (but affordable!) hotel that's in the heart of southern VT/NH, then look no further ... this is it! We can't wait to come back in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We are so happy you had such a great experience for your special occasion! Thank you for mentioning all the wonderful reasons why a guest would choose the Riverside Hotel when traveling. We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest and look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Friendly helpful staff.
Well maintained- looks brand new for the age
Extremely beautiful location.
nice breakfast
Comfortable, luxurious rooms.
Great price overall.

We LOVED it.

cons:
had some trouble finding/getting to it- staff said they were working on correcting GPS location.

Overall:

Excellent stay, would DEFINITELY visit again. Gorgeous hotel, great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjjbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for the review and your compliments to the hotel! We look forward to seeing you when you visit the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Wife and I traveled up here from NY on our motorcycle and stayed there 7/22/13-7/25/13 and the place was beautiful! had a King size bed and balcony. Room was spotless and beautiful. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel location was perfect for us as we were up here to tour the area.
We hope to stay here many more times.

Room Tip: Liked the second floor because the balcony is covered
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertt174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Riverside Hotel. I'm glad you had a great stay. I'm glad you mentioned the fact that the 2nd floor balcony rooms have a canopy overhead. It is great for shade when the sun is just too hot, but also gives shelter if you want be on your balcony when it's raining. Our location is perfect also; it is close to Interstate 91 and also some of the beautiful scenic roads in New Hampshire and Vermont. We look forward to having you stay in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
1.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.5 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 20 Riverside Drive, West Chesterfield, NH 03466
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel in West Chesterfield NH, is just minutes from Brattleboro VT. The smoke-free Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Hotel is only 1/4 mile from exit 3 off Interstate 91 just over the border into NH. The hotel is located on the Connecticut river with breathtaking views from every room. All rooms feature King size Sleep Number beds, Brazilian hardwood floors, exquisite furnishings and appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing