We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, dismal breakfast, long wait to check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice room, dismal breakfast, long wait to check in”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our experience at the Riverside Hotel was distinctly mixed. When we arrived, there was no one at the front desk. There were several staff members setting up tables in an adjacent room, and we eventually got their attention, but they weren't able to get someone to check us in. After about 10-15 minutes, a person did finally show up and let us check in. The room itself was spacious and comfortable, but expensive. Our stay overnight was fine, and the room was in a quiet location, as we'd requested.

The breakfast the next morning was utterly dismal. There were a few types of sugary cereals, a few so-so bananas, and nothing else but white bread and white bagels. We were there in early August, but there was no local fruit or even a selection of canned fruit. We were so bummed out that we just left. I've had much better breakfast buffets at hotels that cost 1/3 of what we paid here. How much would it have cost these folks to stock some raisin bran, whole wheat bread, some hard-boiled eggs, and fresh blueberries during the peak of New England blueberry season?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheFrogLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for providing the hotel with valuable constructive feedback to help us improve the hotel. The situations you described are not typical at Riverside Hotel and we are sincerely sorry that it wasn't the experience you expected. In our defense, there was a wedding ceremony and reception starting in the hotel at the time you arrived. I apologize someone wasn't there to greet you more promptly. We have now planned to have additional staff scheduled to meet all the hotel needs when there are events.
The breakfast comments also do not represent the Riverside Hotel the way most guests experience it. Granted, we have a simple, continental breakfast, but we do not portray it to be more than that. We do have assorted muffins, assorted bagels (plain, cinnamon-raisin, sesame, poppy-seed, wheat, and onion) yogurts, assorted cold cereals, oatmeal, and fresh bananas.

The staff and management of the Riverside Hotel pride themselves on superior service and exceptional quality of of our property. Again, I apologize that the experience didn't meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    35
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
45
80
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We used this hotel as an overnight stop to break our drive between Burlington & Provincetown. We opted to pay slightly more to stay at Riverside (above other available chain motel options) as the rooms looked so much nicer. I think we made the right choice.

The room (basic king) was large, clean and comfortable with a lovely river view. The bed was big and very comfortable and we didn't hear any traffic noise despite our room being close to the bridge.

Breakfast is completely self service and all paper plates/plastic cutlery which was fine for us. There was sufficient choice of bagels, muffins, yogurt, cereal and fruit.

The receptionist was helpful with information about dining options & parking in Brattleboro for the evening. Brattleboro is a short drive away (10 minutes) but there are some restaurants even closer on the main road into town.

My only comment is that it would have been nice to have proper glasses and cups in the room rather than paper/take out style.

Overall, great value and I wish we'd had longer to enjoy the hotel and the local area.

Room Tip: If we'd been here for longer and on a warm day, would have chosen to pay slightly more for a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of Riverside Hotel. The location is quite unique in the fact it is situated right on the Connecticut River which affords the guests terrific views from every room, it is right on the border of NH and VT(with only short drives to both Brattleboro and Keene), and within 1/2 mile of exit 3 off I-91 in VT.
In response to the comment about wine glasses; we do have them available, just not in every room. Please ask at the front desk and we will be happy to provide them to you.
We're glad you found us, gave us a chance, and enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed at the Riverside Hotel last month after a mixup in my reservations at another hotel. It was fortunate that there was a room available since it was move-in weekend at Landmark College. We were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were large, clean, and well-appointed. The first night we stayed in a larger room then moved to a smaller room for the remainder of the stay. The only complaint I had was that the A/C didn't work well in the larger room. Other than that, the place was great. Beautiful location on the river. Staff was very nice. The breakfast was basic, no frills, but that's OK.

We were very satisfied with our stay and look forward to coming back later this month.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasman555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review of the Riverside Hotel! We take pride in the hotel and love to hear when a guest has a great experience. I appreciate you mentioning the cooling issue; I will have our maintenance department make sure it is working correctly. Keep us in mind for your next trip to visit Landmark College or just to get away.

Frank LaGrande
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at Riverside for three nights while visiting Vermont in August. Very convenient to Brattleboro (less than 10 minutes away). The rooms were large and comfortable, with refrigerator, large bathroom, comfortable sleep number bed. Very clean in all areas of the hotel. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was pretty basic, not quite up to Hampton standards--no waffles, no eggs! But plenty of yogurt, tea, water, bagels, bananas. Nice walking in adjacent street along the river which leads to a county park. And as everyone mentions, great views of the the river from the rooms. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed on third floor, very nice balcony. Elevator sometimes got busy over the weekend, necessit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cit35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Riverside Hotel. We are happy you had such a good experience. The proximity to Brattleboro is excellent but the location on the river affords us a private, quiet, secluded spot perfect for a getaway. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Riverside Hotel is located at the edge of New Hampshire, immediately before the bridge to Vermont and a few miles north of Brattelboro. Right on the edge of the Connecticut River, it has a peaceful and beautiful site and the balconies for many of the rooms offer an opportunity to sit and enjoy peaceful mornings and evenings. Its location permits one to visit Brattelboro and rural Vermont. The rooms are large and well furnished and the staff are helpful. The rates, including continental breakfast, are reasonable. An excellent choice if you are passing through the area.

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Wolfgang,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. All the features you mentioned are great points about the hotel. The rooms are definitely larger than most hotels rooms and the balconies bring you that much closer to the beautiful surroundings our setting has to offer. Thank you for staying with us!

Frank LaGrande
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked our stay at the Riverside Hotel at the last minute and had a great experience. GM, Frank LaGrande and his staff were extremely professional, friendly and accommodating and made our stay really special. We had stayed the previous night in a hotel in Brattleboro, VT and the riverside was actually closer to downtown Brattleboro than our Brattleboro hotel! Our room was spotless and very quiet. The sleep number bed helped us get a great night sleep and the river view in the morning was beautiful. Frank and his staff made our stay an unexpected pleasure and we are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
George,

Thank you for taking a moment to review the Riverside Hotel. We appreciate all the kind words and look forward to having you stay again as well.

Frank LaGrande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayer, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary this year by going away for a long weekend, and we love the southern NH/VT area so we decided on this hotel because it was close to Brattleboro (my wife loves to shop), and it had a lot of great reviews. We went in late June and stayed in the luxury suite, and all the rooms were extremely spacious and comfortable, and the entire suite was absolutely immaculate. I pay a lot of attention to cleanliness, and every room and corner was spotless. We loved the warm, rich décor, and it was tempting to just spend the entire weekend relaxing in the jacuzzi, or just enjoying the beautiful view of the river right from the living room. The rooms in this suite are all very spacious (if you happen to own your own plane you're in luck ... you can land it right in the living room!), and having the kitchen is great when you want to take a break from eating out. The staff were very courteous and attentive, and the entire experience was truly wonderful. Brattleboro is only minutes away and the downtown area has lots of interesting shops and stores, plenty of places to eat, numerous antique shops, and there's also a great Farmer's Market on Saturdays from 9-2 pm in West Brattleboro. We also took a drive out to Keene, NH which is only about 15" away, and I was pleasantly surprised to find it was a bustling little college town that was a great place to just walk around and enjoy. We also took a driving tour and the countryside is absolutely beautiful. The hotel is located right on the CT river which makes for a very peaceful, relaxing setting, and the foliage must be spectacular in the fall. What a great find ... if you're looking for a beautiful, clean, comfortable, luxurious (but affordable!) hotel that's in the heart of southern VT/NH, then look no further ... this is it! We can't wait to come back in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank L, General Manager at Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
We are so happy you had such a great experience for your special occasion! Thank you for mentioning all the wonderful reasons why a guest would choose the Riverside Hotel when traveling. We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest and look forward to having you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chesterfield
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
309 reviews
2.3 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 20 Riverside Drive, West Chesterfield, NH 03466
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > West Chesterfield
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in West Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel in West Chesterfield NH, is just minutes from Brattleboro VT. The smoke-free Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Hotel is only 1/4 mile from exit 3 off Interstate 91 just over the border into NH. The hotel is located on the Connecticut river with breathtaking views from every room. All rooms feature King size Sleep Number beds, Brazilian hardwood floors, exquisite furnishings and appointments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing