We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is absolutely horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service is absolutely horrible”
Reviewed 26 November 2007

The hotel is beautiful and the views amazing. The service is simply horrific.

Dinner the first night was a nightmare. We waited one hour for our order to be taken and when they admitted they forgot us, they did nothing to make up for it. The dinner took over three hours in total - all for burgers and steak tips.

We thought is was just a one-time mistake. The next night we ordered room service for our two children. It took over 2 1/2 hours, after they admitted they forgot us, yet again.

Breakfast was a horror show - the service and training levels of the waitstaff was comical.

Read the other reviews on this site. They all have the same theme - nice resort with horrible service.

After these experiences we drove into the local town for the rest of our meals and had tremendous service from accomodating waitstaff that appreciated our business.

When we were checking out we listened to dozens of guest complain about similar experiences during their stay.

Do you see a pattern here?

Next time we will look for a place with service being the hallmark, not just the view.

  • Liked — The views and the grounds
  • Disliked — The horrible service the entire week
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank briancresta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    487
    151
    92
    64
See reviews for
797
789
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
2,371 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 981 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2007

Some reviewers had some issues with this hotel and so did we. However, some are minor. We have traveled extensively and liek other travelers we find good and not so good at some of our locations.We started getting calls from staff just after we made a reservation. The purpose of the calls were to let us know about all the various spa treatments that were avaialabe. We decined to make such reservations over the telephone. Upon arrival at the hotel the young girl at the reception desk just had no training on how to greet guest. She "sheepishly" told me that the restaurant was closed for the evening and would not reopen until breakfast the follwing day. It was raining and we really did not want to get back on the road for dinner. She did not offer us any suggestions , even after I asked her where we might dine. Her reply was tnat she didn't know. I noticed some of the reviewers encocuntered discourteous staff. We found all the staff , except for the untrained front desk person, to be very nice.

Even after we arrievd they were still trying to sell us spa treatments and we could understand why, as there was only a handful of guest at the hotel. We were given a room on the third floor and told we could not use the elevator unless a hotel persosn operated the elevator. It was a very old elevator with a lot of safety features missing , thus we understood. The only problem was that when we started for our room there was no elevator person. We had to go back to the desk and the young girl did not know where the person was. It took us severl minutes of waiting for a person to finally appear.

Our room was small but really nice. The view was not that great as just outside our window was the large air conditioning unit. We never understand why a hotel puts a guest in such a room when there are dozens or unoccupied rooms on the property. As for the view from our room---not much of a view.

The old hotel is really very nice. We spent an hour in the pool room, another in the library and just walked around the hotel. Could not go outsidee for the rain.

The next moring we had breakfast in the dining room and it was great. Breakfast was included in the price of our room.

This is a very nice old hotel and we enjoyed our stay and would like to return one of these days. The rooms prices are rather steep. We passed up the spa treatments as those can be obtained in almost any mall in Dallas.

  • Liked — Nice Old Hotel
  • Disliked — Some staff need training
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2007

We just returned from our 2 night stay at the Mountain View Grand. After reading most of the reviews we expected the staff to be unfriendly and unhelpful. This was not the case at all. Everybody was very caring and friendly. We had a room at the first floor with the view to the back of the hotel which was fine and not as bad as described in one of the reviews here. Our rate was also supposed to be a room with two double beds but we called in advance and asked for a king bed which was not a problem. The room itself was not big but nicely furnished, clean and had a big bathroom, a lot of nice towels... nothing to complain about. There were no bathrobes in the closet when we arrived but after asking at the front desk they were delivered five minutes later. Also our dining experience was very positive. We did not wait long and the food was very good, prices reasonable. The hotel offers indeed a lot for children as already mention in one of the last reviews. After we had left we realized that we had forgotten our cell phone in the room and the housekeeping sent it to us via UPS same day delivery - with no additional charge.
We can highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank aschieck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Windsor, CT
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Great grand old hotel, remodeled, fantastic views, great location. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable.

We're not complainers, stay in a lot of hotels, and roll with most punches but the service staff needs training. They were pleasant and tried hard to please for the most part, but in a lot of instances couldn't deliver. One night for dinner in the tavern it took over an hour and a half to get our food. They tried very hard to make up for it , but it was a tough one to overcome. Sometimes there were pleasant surprises, mostly with the bartenders.

A lot to do here with kids, wish we had found it when our kids were younger. From the movie theater to the pools, to the scheduled games and other events, the great croquet court, to the very nice tennis courts the hotel was very nice and really delivered. The smores outside by the open fire at night were really special. The golf course and the carts aren't great (even good) but it was fun for my family who doesn't golf very much and much more than reasonable.

Frank the bellhop (or front door attendant) was great, always willing to grab me another cup of their great free coffee which was even more pleasant early in the morning on that fantastic front porch. Get up early if you want a newspaper (they do need to improve on this advertised item). In the evening the porch was even more spectacular with a great glass of wine or a good beer at night (they are very reasonable on their drink prices too) and they were always willing to get you more. It was also great to sit in one of their many adirondack chairs over near the golf course and look at the mountains and the smoke from the cog railroad.

We had a very relaxing and fun vacation and will definitely go back!

If you demand top notch service and don't have patience for frequent service snafus, I suggest you go elsewhere. If you're looking for a fun, clean, safe place for your family or spend a weekend with your loved one at a place with plenty to do and a real relaxing environment, you found it.

  • Liked — Views, bars and relaxing venue
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hittinlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

Driving up the long driveway, we were "wowed" by the outside of the hotel, the grounds and the view. All appearances suggested we were at a place perfectly suited for a romantic fall weekend.

At check-in, we asked what the view from our room would be and we were told it was of the back of the grounds- of the Killkenny Mountain range. The hotel clerk even looked us right in the eye when she said it. I asked about the beds and she said our room rate only came with double beds- not terrible, but not great considering it was our anniversary.

When we entered our room, we went straight for the window (remember this hotel is called MOUNTAIN VIEW Grand Resort and is a 4-star hotel during foliage season) and found to our horror that our only view was that of a flat, big, tar paper roof and of great big ventilation fans that hummed continuously. I almost cried.

So consequently, we spent almost all of our time outside the room- in the library or on the front porch- which would be nice if it was our choice, but we really didn't have a choice if we wanted to see a tree or a blade of grass.

And last, but not least, there were great staff members and horrible staff members and you could never tell which you were going to face.

I ordered oatmeal from the breakfast menu and got a bowl of cream with oatmeal in it... not a problem unless it doesn't say so on the menu and you are allergic to dairy. When I told the waitress I couldn't eat it, she said that's how it was made and what did I want her to do about it? She then said if they made if from scratch (a big deal, I guess), it would be a very long while before I got my food (it was sort of a threat, I think). Other staff members seemed confused by our questions of why a certain event (published on an activity sheet handed out) wasn't happening and in no hurry to make it better.

  • Liked — The views from the front of the hotel
  • Disliked — the view from our room
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank adobemoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2007

My 4 days stay at the Mountain grand view was exquisite. The gorgeous views, beautifully renovated hotel with all that it offers, the friendly and helpful staff and wonderful cuisine, all contributed to a perfect mini vacation. Totally relaxing and welcoming. Frank, our bellman went above and behond the call of the duty.The hotel has kept its beauty and charm. What a great place to visit, I plan to return again this winter to snowmobile and sit by the fireplace and relax.

  • Liked — cuisine
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank marieVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteno, IL
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Mountain View. Unlike some other reviewers, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The bellman, Jonathan, went out of his way to take our pictures with the grounds and hotel in the background. The desk clerk asked about our day and where we were going and gave helpful advice. I would recommend our corner room on the first floor as we had our own balcony with table and lounge chairs and marvelous view. Although the dinner in the main restaurant was a bit overpriced, the food was very good. My only complaint was that the early morning traffic was a little noisy. But we would definitely return for another stay.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illinoistraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
746 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
296 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
120 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
556 reviews
12.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing