We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Wonderful Weekend at the MVG” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Weekend at the MVG”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Incomparable views at a truly grand resort. So much to see and do on the gorgeous 1700+ acre property for both children and adults. On this visit, we took a lovely hike into the back woods, pressed cider, visited the farm, tried our skill at axe throwing, took a wagon ride, swam in the pool and more.... My daughter also had her first riding lesson with the farm's skilled instructor and thoroughly enjoyed it. The only weak point is the waitstaff and the timing of the bar and kitchen. Otherwise, MVG provides an outstanding experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Miapa,
We appreciate your review! It sounds like you and your family were able to take advantage of many of the activities and amenities we have to offer. We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us and we hope you will be able to spend some time with us again.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    466
    151
    91
    63
See reviews for
774
767
31
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
419 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is a beautiful grand hotel that was renovated in 2002 that has a lot of character and takes you back to another time. Take time to relax on the front veranda, with cocktails if you wish, with the White Mountains beautifully stretched across the horizon, the view is just beautiful!

The staff is very friendly and professional. The room was not perfect upon arrival but the manager quickly corrected the situation. The Grand View King had the same view as that of the front verandah, facing east and spectacular as the leaves were just starting to change color that weekend. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was updated and clean.

We enjoyed a casual dinner at the Tavern the first evening and loved the more than generous portion of delicious chicken pot pie. The second evening was more formal with the ambiance of dining in the Wine Cellar at the Nook Table. The filet was excellent as was a wonderful bottle of Joseph Phelps cabernet from the very large wine selection.

Each evening we enjoyed the entertainment in the lobby and send many thanks to Greg Goodwin, on the piano, and his colleagues for the beautiful music that we danced to each evening. They are the only group that ever knew my Frank Sinatra request (that I was named after)...thank you for making my night!

The location was perfect as the Cog Railway was a short distance away and it was a perfect, cloudless, autumn day to ride the railway to the sumit of Mount Washington that afforded beautiful vistas in every direction.

This hotel has many ammenities that we did not take advantage of such as the outdoor heated pool and indoor pool, spa, golf course, working farm with trail rides and hiking opportunities.

Please note: Check in is at 3 pm and check out is at 11 am. Passing this along as I could not find this information anywhere in the website or brochures.

Room Tip: Recommend a mountain view that faces east, in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves2Research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Loves2Research,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our staff strives to make every guests’ stay enjoyable and memorable and it is great to hear this was this case for you. Your considerate comments about the staff have been shared and are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin NH
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

One of the last remaining grand resorts in New Hampshire. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, comfortable rooms. The resort takes great efforts to use alternate forms of energy and recycle. Has limited family activities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHWhiteMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear NHWhiteMountains,
Thank you for your kind remarks and your review. We hope to see you at the Resort again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is about our 5 th visit here and we celebrated our anniversary this time. All the staff were very accommodating. We participated in all he scheduled activities including pressing our own apple cider and then enjoying it in the lobby hot with home made cookies. Nature hike, spa tour, movie theater, fitness center with optional classes. We got a great mid week package and received delicious chocolate covered strawberries and large chocolate bar for our anniversary.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lobby level are smaller than others but close to the veranda and many other offerin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newhampshire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear newhampshire86,
Happy Belated Anniversary! We are thrilled you enjoyed spending such a special occasion with us at the Resort. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th visit!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
226 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We spent Columbus Day weekend at the Mountain View Grand with our 4 year old daughter. We had a great time. The resort is beautiful with lots of great family activities (swimming, pumpkin decorating, barn with animals, s'mores) and great food. We also got to go on the inaugural wagon ride in the back of the property which was great fun.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Deborah L,
We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

There were very many wedding parties which adversely affected other guests (early Oct.). It felt like a convention hall. The mix was not appropriate. The shower valve did not work properly, and the tub spout was loose in the wall. Lobby was worn; featuring exposed plastic piping and buttons in leather upholstery. Lobby carpet did not look good, and not a good material at entrance/grade. Faux leather chair in tavern ripped also. I wanted to like this place, but was made to feel like a sucker. The burdens of dealing with many loud and large wedding parties should not be placed on other guests. The hotel completely risks losing a sense of grand New England hospitality. The very thing they bank on to win bookings and wedding parties.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ps_32_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Ps_32_12,

Thank you for the feedback you have provided during your recent stay at Mountain View Grand. We certainly do host a number of events and celebrations at our Resort from 2 person getaways to grand wedding parties. At no point is the hope of the Resort that one group feel dominated by another and I apologize that this was your experience. We have been and are continuing to move forward with renovations and restoration to this beautiful property to ensure that it is comfortable and welcoming for all of our guests. I do hope to welcome you and your family back for a future visit to have an opportunity to meet you and show the improvements that we continue to make to the Resort.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
262 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Very nice hotel in the middle of nowhere with lots of things for kids to do. Great spot to view fall foliage. Nearby towns have activities if you are willing to drive 30 min to 1 hr. Rooms are clean and staff was helpful. Internet was slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Happytravelinfamily,
Thank you for reviewing! Your kind remarks are appreciated we hope to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand someday.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
23.5 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
12.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing