We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a winter getaway”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel had wonderful old-world charm with it's decor and ambiance. There's tons of activities for kids and enough for the adults to do. The surrounding mountains are breathtaking. Our only complaint was the excessive noise in the hallways from kids running and screaming as if it were Disneyland. Not sure if it's possible, but maybe ask for a room away from the main areas.

Room Tip: Not sure if it's possible, but maybe ask for a room away from the main areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinF380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Dear Justin F,

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort in the future!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    488
    151
    92
    64
See reviews for
801
790
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Methuen, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We visited during a non-peak time for our honeymoon and felt the Mountain View Grand was the perfect place for a quite, romantic getaway. The hotel is beautiful, staff was friendly and the service was excellent. We really enjoyed all the beautiful paintings and decorations. We are foodies and loved the meals at the tavern and the views were great. We look forward to going back when the "Wine Cellar" is open. Exceeded all expectations.

Room Tip: We loved the "Signature Suite" for our honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear EarleD,

We appreciate you taking the time to review! Congratulations on your marriage! We are happy to hear you were able to enjoy a romantic honeymoon at the Resort. Thank you for your kind remarks and we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the Wine Cellar.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The moment we first pulled into the drive we were captivated; and each time after that still amazed. The hotel is beautiful and the lawns are meticulously maintained. Whether you are here during summer, fall, spring and winter there is much to do and enjoy. It was a no brainer for us to have our "destination" wedding here early December. All I wanted was snow and I got my wish! My guests were happy to make the 3-4hr trek up North! Very kid and couple friendly. The only complaint I heard was it was noisy in the rooms but that was the night there were about 100 kids there to see Santa in the am. We recommend this hotel and do plan to come back.

Room Tip: The "basic" room is small but very nice and comfy. Otherwise the studios and historic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xomandyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear xomandyxo,

Congratulations on your marriage! The staff at the Mountain View Grand were happy to help you with your special day! Thank you for taking the time to review and share your experience with us. We are glad you and your guests enjoyed the time you spent at the Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Step back in time and stay at one of the grandest hotels in the region. I was a little late for leaf season, but the views were breath taking. Service is over the top and the food is excellent. One almost expects to see ladies in waiting. The place just oozes character.

Room Tip: Step back in time and stay at one of the grandest hotels in the region. I was a little late for leaf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbj04769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear sbj04769,

Thank you for reviewing! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We loved the resort! The entire resort is beautiful and very well kept up. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful, polite and professional! The views from all over the property are wonderful! They have many activities to do if you like to be busy, or you can just sit back and relax and enjoy the mountain views. We went mid-week with a groupon purchase so we got a great deal. Pluses for us were the in resort movie theater (you pick a movie, sit in a recliner, and they serve you popcorn!), the indoor pool + hotub, and the bar/pub. The pool area has a beautifully hand painted mural over all the walls that is amazing! The food in the pub was very good as was the breakfast room service. We would definitely return again. The only thing I missed was having a coffee maker in the room.

Room Tip: If your room is in the front of the hotel, you get a beautiful mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Terry H,

Thank you for your review! Your considerate remarks about the Resort and its staff are greatly appreciated and have been shared. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our Groupon special and we hope to welcome you back to the Mountain View Grand in the future!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The resort was magnificent. Awe-inspiring especially with newly fallen snow and a nip in the air. Browsing the main floor rooms and looking at pictures of by-gone years captivated us. Even the elevator ride was unique. But aside from the hotel features and the wonderful meals the draw to us was the staff. We felt at home and very comfortable bantering with them. From Laurie at the front desk who was our elevator operator and tour guide (of the hotel-Santa & Gingerbread house) to Ann our host who made sure we were satisfied with all our dinner choices. Mustn't over-look Ben our bartender(terrific Martini extra dirty on the rocks) best ever. Thanks Guys from three tired travellers.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear James T,

It was our pleasure to exceed your expectations! Thank you for your generous comments about the Resort. Our staff always strive to be the best and we have shared your kind remarks with them. We appreciate your review and would love to welcome you back soon!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter,nh
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

This resort was outstanding. I don't know when I have found such a pleasant, conscientious, knowledgeable staff. They continually surpass our expections. There was always a smile & hello. The room was very comfortable and we were on the second floor which was extremely quite. The amenities were also fabulous. We especially enjoyed the "Meet the Farmer" program. Extremely informative and interactive. It was wonderful just enjoying the scenery and the grounds. We were there in early Dec. so there was no golf--a reason to return!! I had read reviews about the restaurant and wondered if they were acurate. Again, they exceeded our expectations. I had the filet mignon--it was cooked to perfection,perhaps the best I have ever tasted. I truly enjoyed my waffle for breakfast but it was the continental breakfast the second day that was extradinary. The freshly baked pastries were wonderful. We hated to leave and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: I agree with the second floor being very quiet. We were not concerned about the view from the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker53nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear hiker53nh,

Thank you for your considerate review! We appreciate your kind remarks about the Resort and have shared them with our staff. We are happy your stay was enjoyable and that you are looking to return. We look forward to welcoming you back during our golf season!

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
748 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
299 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
120 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
556 reviews
12.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing