We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fabulous Girls Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I try to get my girlfriends up to the MVG each November for some great times shopping in No Conway and being pampered in the Spa. Once again, this year we were not disappointed. Everything was wonderful. The service was great, the food was fabulous, the hotel was beautiful. We played bingo and won discount coupons for our spa treatments. We used the fitness facility and the pool. And we reserved time in the hotel movie theatre to watch Dirty Dancing and eat popcorn! All in all, it was a great weekend. We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: I have stayed in about 8 different rooms, front and back of the hotel, and they were all good. I p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear swalcott,

We appreciate your review and continued patronage. It's great that your girls weekend was enjoyable. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back next year.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,119 - 1,125 of 2,084 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Start to finish this was such a wonderful weekend! The staff went above and beyond to ensure that everything was perfect. Food was delicious, view was stunning and the spa was amazing. It was such a treat to be pampered by such a friendly, polite and professional staff. Top notch experience that everyone should experience.

Room Tip: I have yet to find a room that was not the BEST!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Deb N,

Thank you for reviewing. We are happy you enjoyed your weekend and we appreciate your compliments to the staff. We hope to welcome you once again to the resort.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Mountain View Grand for a quick weekend vacation to celebrate our second wedding anniversary. We really enjoyed our stay and had some wonderful meals in the hotel's restaurants and a great rejuvenating massage in the spa. The views of the mountains were really amazing! The staff was very friendly and always looking to help you out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruinsfan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Bruinsfan37,

Happy Anniversary. We appreciate your view and kind remarks about the staff. We hope to welcome you again next year.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I had bought a Groupon and got a great deal on the price - only $129/night. It was myself and my boyfriend and when we arrived, we couldn't believe how gorgeous the place is. The landscape, the decor, everything was amazing. We arrived in the afternoon and they had hot apple cider and snickerdoodles in the lobby - both of which were the best I've had. The room was a little on the smaller side, but it's an older establishment. The bed was plush and very comfortable. The bathroom was a decent size too. I almost always never use hotel supplied toiletries (shampoo, body wash, etc) but this place had by far the best ones ever! I visited the spa there - very nicely decorated and great service. I did the Lavender Dream, which was good but I wouldn't do it again. It was quite expensive for the quality of it. The morning before we left, we went to the axe throwing event and that was so much fun!

All in all, amazing place - I'd definitely go back. Gorgeous location for a wedding too!

Room Tip: Note that the lobby floor has rooms too, ie 018, etc. Try to ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simplysweetboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear simplysweetboston,

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you and your boyfriend enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of the Groupon deal. We hope to see you at the resort again in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A grand old hotel in the White Mountain tradition of grand old hotels. Plenty of luxury around and at a reasonable price. I usually go the Balsams for an annual celebration but, after two years of stalled renovations, I don’t expect it to return to life unless someone with too much cash on hand needs a hobby. This was a reasonable and affordable substitute but lacks the remote location, expansiveness, formality and extra oomph and decadence of the Balsams. I was there for a conference instead of celebration and the conference was well managed. The staff is less experienced and professional than the staff at the Balsams, which saves some money on tips. It has a grand view and the golf course takes it all in (I was there in mid fall and am not a golfer anyway). Fitness room is good sized but if you can get outside to ski or hike, it’s not needed. Downhill skiing is a ride. There is an exquisite wine cellar restaurant which requires advanced reservation. Since it is at wine cellar temperature, you need fleece or sweater. I did not eat there but the menu looks good. My wife went to the spa and cant stop raving about it so I guess we’ll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Andrew P,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This was our third trip to the Mountain View Grand and again we were not disappointed! Each time we pull up to the front of the resort we are in awe of the beauty. The mountain view from the front porch cannot be beat!
We always receive a warm welcome from the staff. Our room was beautiful as usual and the food is always cooked to perfection!
One of the days we were there turned out to be rainy, so we decided to stay in and read a book in the cozy chairs in the lobby. We were treated to warm cider and cookies!
We look forward to our return visit next fall!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgrieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear mgrieves,

Thank you for your review. We're happy your third trip to the Mountain View Grand was enjoyable and that you are planning a return visit. We look forward to welcoming you for the fourth time.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I brought my family along to a business conference at the Mountain View Grand and truly the hotel had something to offer to every one! From the moment we arrived the staff was friendly and helpful - really helped us all destress. The room was comfortable, the food was very good and the conference facilities were convenient. While I conferenced my family swam in the pool, played games of chess and did puzzles in the lounge and entered the daily axe throwing contest. I made it to the nightly BINGO game and won a free trip to the spa - lucky me! Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to adults and families with kids of all ages, even teens.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diosa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Diosa18,

We're glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review and kind remarks about the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
771 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
322 reviews
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,752 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
24.9 mi away
RiverWalk Resort at Loon Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: £120 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing