We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a relaxing Spa weekend, this is a must place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Natick, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“For a relaxing Spa weekend, this is a must place to visit”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I stayed here 3/6/14 to 3/9/14 for a relaxing weekend and we got that and more.

Accommodations – we were in a Grand View room (218) with a southern view of the mountains. The view from the room was spectacular. The room itself was very clean but small. The bed is very high up off the ground and very comfortable. The TV in the room is very old with no ability to connect any other device to it like a PS4 (if you brought kids; we did not) or a portable DVD or iPad. No connectivity to the TV at all. That was OK for us because we were not here to sit in our room and watch TV. The shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. Besides the TV my only negative for the room is the paper thin walls between each room. We could clearly here the couple staying in the room next to us.

The Spa – this is why we picked this hotel. The Spa employees, treatments, changing room and everything else about the Spa were exceptional. My wife had the Lavender Crush, Firm & Tone Detox, Craniosacral Therapy, Sweedish Massage and Pedicure. I had a Deep Tissue Massage, Gentlemen’s Kur and Pedicure. Every treatment we had was done with privacy (excellent draping techniques), top quality products and professionals who knew exactly what to do. We absolutely will come here again for more Spa treatments.

Activities – we did the dog sledding and a snowmobile tour. Both were a lot of fun. The dog sledding is a must for anyone who has never experienced this before.

Dining – we ate in the Tavern for breakfast and one dinner. The food was outstanding. Everything we had was cooked to perfection. We also went to Lancaster to the Moonbeam Café for dinner which was also excellent and we would highly recommend this restaurant. Prices for all were reasonable.

If you are looking for a relaxing Spa weekend, this is a must place to visit. We will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear BostonNole,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're glad that you and your wife had such an enjoyable stay. We appreciate your wonderful comments about the Tower Spa and our Spa staff and have shared your review. We anticipate your return visit.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    487
    151
    92
    64
See reviews for
797
789
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windham, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, lovely rooms, decent food and a nice atmosphere.
Service was a bit clunky at times but always with a smile!
Xcountry skiing trails needed grooming but they were free so it's hard to complain about them really.
The farm was lovely a real highlight and our girls had great massages in the spa.
dinner in the bar was fun and low key on Friday and the wine cellar restraint didn't disappoint on Saturday.
better value for money than the mount Washington (we were there 2 weeks ago).

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank woodees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear woodees,

Thank you for your review. Your kind words about the Mountain View Grand are appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to the resort again soon.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a great time over February break. Lots of activities to choose from, friendly staff, great friendly service at their restuarant (lots of vegetarian food). 2o minute drive to Bretton Woods.
Game room was fun and place was charming. Outdoor ice skating was a blast. Rooms were nice- floors were a bit squeaky and unfortunately, there are no roules for quiet time so we had kids running around late (after 11pm ) and waking others at 6 am...so would be great if there was a late night quiet policy. But overall, it was awesome, beautiful site..would definitely go there and recommend others to go!!!!! Thanks for a great vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 10MamaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear 10MamaD,

Thank you for reviewing. It's great that you and your family enjoyed your February vacation with at the resort. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My family just returned from our third visit to MVG in the last several years. This is one of our favorite hotels. The building is beautiful, elegant without being stuffy. There is a lot to do - skating, XC skiing, the pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness center, theater, visiting the animals in the barn...we go for a weekend and it always seems too short. The staff is exceptionally friendly, and the the hotel is very family oriented, great for all ages - my high school age kids have a great time. Looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Bmorse,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your kind remarks with us and that you are looking for a return visit. We would be more than happy to welcome you back.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent a winter weekend with friends at the Mountain View Grand Hotel and had a fabulous time. The hotel is set on a hill overlooking the White Mountains including Mt. Washington. The views are incredible and the hotel is lovely. The owners have done a great job creating a beautiful place with friendly, helpful staff. We had a corner room on the 2nd floor that was perfect. Views in 2 directions, quiet, very clean and comfortable. Sometimes older grand hotels like this look a bit worn around the edges but not the Mountain View. Everything from the bed linens to furniture to the bathroom tile was in ship shape. Our friend's room weren't quite as spacious but did have great views of Mt. Washington. We could have easily hung out in our own room but the Mountain View has a number of community rooms that are wonderful for reading a book or playing board games with friends. We spent quite a bit of time in the library, looking out at the spectacular view, reading by the fire with a warm cup of hot chocolate. The inn has a large indoor swimming pool and hot tub, exercise room, game room AND a 18 set theatre where one can choose from about 500 movies from the hotel list. In addition to all these indoor options, there is the great outdoors where you can visit the farm animals in the barn ( we especially loved watching the goats and llamas), go xc skiing, dog sledding, snowshoeing or just walking on the trails. They also have an outdoor ice rink for skating along with a fire pit where they serve s'mores each night. We were also very pleasantly surprised at the hotel restaurant which was absolutely delicious. We were a party of 6 and all of us LOVED every meal we had there. The dinner menus options include from wild mushroom ravioli, black bean/quinoa burgers, wild salmon, seared sea scallops and the most delicious salads. Our favorite was the strawberry salad - to die for! They also have a great breakfast buffet that is well worth the $15. We also took advantage of the spa service. Our friend had a hot stone massage and was completely blissed out afterwards and my pedicure was perfect. We can't say enough about our weekend there. Everything was wonderful; we are already making plans to go in the summertime!

Room Tip: The hotel is large with only one small working elevator so if you don't want to do a lot of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyful2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear joyful2travel,

We appreciate your kind review. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're happy to hear you and your friends were able to take advantage of the many amenities we have to offer and that you are planning a return visit. We look forward to seeing you during the summer.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton Bay, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Spending our 25th wedding anniversary at the Mountain View Grand Resort was the right choice for us! We had a wonderful stay! Our room was beautiful and the view was spectacular. The staff was very professional and accommodating. Just to name a few were Shelby (assistant manager), Diane, Makayla, Brandi and Jason who couldn't have done more for us. Thank you! It was a perfect romantic getaway. We loved our visit here and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lstevens57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear lstevens57,

Happy Anniversary. Thank you for your kind remarks about our staff members. We're glad you had a romantic getaway and we look forward for your return visit.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We just returned from a weekend mini vacation in NH. The Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is a wonderful place to go for a winter retreat. A terrific place for couples or families. The facilities are "grand". They have staff in abundance. They do it right. The rooms were lovely, the facilities provide something for everyone. Whether you want to swim (inside during the winter), sit by an indoor or outdoor fire place, go tubing, ice skating, hike, snow mobile, visit the animals in the barns, or just play games in the game room or work out in the work out room, you can do whatever you want. The restaurants are excellent, both food and service. All the staff are friendly and very helpful. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVGManager, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Toni D,

Thank you for taking the time to review. Your kind remarks about the resort and its staff are appreciated and have been shared. We hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Christopher Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
746 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
296 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
120 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
556 reviews
12.1 mi away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains, New Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing